Header cover image

U.S. Property and Casualty Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies62
  • 7D2.5%
  • 3M-0.4%
  • 1Y36.0%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, the Property and Casualty Insurance industry is up 2.5%, with Progressive up 2.6%. This means that the industry has gained 36% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 6.2% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Property and Casualty Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024US$611.1bUS$420.3bUS$43.8b13x13.9x1.5x
Tue, 21 May 2024US$625.1bUS$420.0bUS$43.8b12.5x14.3x1.5x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024US$585.7bUS$410.8bUS$40.1b14x14.6x1.4x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024US$600.7bUS$406.3bUS$38.1b14.1x15.8x1.5x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024US$565.7bUS$402.8bUS$34.5b13.4x16.4x1.4x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024US$526.6bUS$396.7bUS$28.9b12.9x18.2x1.3x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023US$513.4bUS$396.5bUS$28.8b12.2x17.9x1.3x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023US$493.9bUS$395.4bUS$28.6b12.6x17.3x1.2x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023US$450.5bUS$360.9bUS$21.5b14.2x21x1.2x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023US$443.0bUS$361.2bUS$21.3b14x20.8x1.2x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023US$445.6bUS$353.3bUS$19.0b19.4x23.4x1.3x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023US$421.5bUS$340.2bUS$14.1b18x29.9x1.2x
Wed, 24 May 2023US$427.7bUS$339.7bUS$14.5b18.5x29.4x1.3x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023US$443.6bUS$330.3bUS$14.5b18.6x30.5x1.3x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023US$413.1bUS$329.5bUS$14.6b16.9x28.3x1.3x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023US$468.6bUS$331.4bUS$14.5b16.8x32.3x1.4x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023US$462.1bUS$327.5bUS$18.7b14.3x24.7x1.4x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022US$447.3bUS$327.5bUS$18.7b13.9x23.9x1.4x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022US$442.0bUS$327.8bUS$18.6b14.1x23.8x1.3x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022US$413.1bUS$324.3bUS$22.7b14.2x18.2x1.3x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022US$408.8bUS$324.3bUS$22.7b13.6x18x1.3x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022US$406.7bUS$329.3bUS$29.3b11.9x13.9x1.2x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022US$423.4bUS$331.3bUS$34.9b12.1x12.1x1.3x
Thu, 26 May 2022US$434.8bUS$331.3bUS$34.9b12.1x12.5x1.3x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022US$437.0bUS$332.3bUS$39.3b11x11.1x1.3x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022US$447.7bUS$333.1bUS$40.3b11.8x11.1x1.3x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022US$432.3bUS$331.1bUS$40.3b11x10.7x1.3x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022US$437.3bUS$330.3bUS$43.3b11.5x10.1x1.3x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021US$399.5bUS$321.8bUS$41.9b11.1x9.5x1.2x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021US$414.1bUS$322.2bUS$42.3b10.6x9.8x1.3x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021US$397.2bUS$315.8bUS$44.5b9.4x8.9x1.3x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021US$410.2bUS$316.1bUS$44.4b9.8x9.2x1.3x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021US$397.7bUS$316.1bUS$44.4b9.3x9x1.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9x


Total Market Cap: US$399.5bTotal Earnings: US$44.4bTotal Revenue: US$316.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Property and Casualty Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 17.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Property and Casualty Insurance industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 13.9x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 17.5x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.3x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Property and Casualty Insurance industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 10.0% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Property and Casualty Insurance compare with similar industries?

US Market0.51%
Financials1.54%
Insurance2.83%
Property and Casualty Insurance2.54%
Life and Health Insurance3.74%
Insurance Brokers3.05%
Reinsurance2.55%
General Insurance1.96%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PGR ProgressiveUS$209.192.6%
+US$3.1b
57.6%PE21.4x
CB ChubbUS$264.602.0%
+US$2.2b
36.9%PE12x
ACGL Arch Capital GroupUS$101.894.8%
+US$1.7b
40.7%PE7.9x
HIG Hartford Financial Services GroupUS$102.943.5%
+US$1.0b
46.1%PE11.3x
ALL AllstateUS$160.512.2%
+US$907.9m
49.3%PE34.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

PLMR

US$78.16

Palomar Holdings

7D

-2.5%

1Y

30.0%

CB

US$264.60

Chubb

7D

2.0%

1Y

36.9%

ALL

US$160.51

Allstate

7D

2.2%

1Y

49.3%

WRB

US$80.49

W. R. Berkley

7D

3.0%

1Y

38.3%

TRV

US$209.80

Travelers Companies

7D

1.9%

1Y

20.8%

GBLI

US$30.50

Global Indemnity Group

7D

-1.0%

1Y

-9.5%

HIG

US$102.94

Hartford Financial Services Group

7D

3.5%

1Y

46.1%

FGF

US$0.99

Fundamental Global

7D

-9.0%

1Y

-49.7%

HG

US$15.90

Hamilton Insurance Group

7D

-3.2%

1Y

n/a

BOW

US$24.50

Bowhead Specialty Holdings

7D

-4.6%

1Y

n/a

L

US$76.56

Loews

7D

3.8%

1Y

32.2%

DGIC.A

US$12.42

Donegal Group

7D

-2.7%

1Y

-15.1%