Header cover image

U.S. Water Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies19
  • 7D-4.0%
  • 3M-9.1%
  • 1Y-18.3%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Water industry has dropped 4.0%, driven by a pullback from American Water Works Company of 3.1%. Overall the industry is down 18% in 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 8.7% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Water Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 27 Feb 2024US$42.3bUS$8.9bUS$1.8b22.7x24x4.7x
Thu, 25 Jan 2024US$46.1bUS$9.0bUS$1.7b25.1x26.6x5.1x
Sat, 23 Dec 2023US$48.0bUS$9.0bUS$1.7b28x27.7x5.3x
Mon, 20 Nov 2023US$47.4bUS$9.0bUS$1.7b27.9x27.4x5.2x
Wed, 18 Oct 2023US$43.8bUS$8.9bUS$1.7b25.8x25.8x4.9x
Fri, 15 Sep 2023US$49.2bUS$8.9bUS$1.7b29.9x29x5.5x
Sun, 13 Aug 2023US$50.5bUS$8.9bUS$1.7b29.6x29.8x5.7x
Tue, 11 Jul 2023US$49.8bUS$8.7bUS$1.6b33.7x31.1x5.7x
Thu, 08 Jun 2023US$52.2bUS$8.7bUS$1.6b34.6x32.6x6x
Sat, 06 May 2023US$52.9bUS$8.6bUS$1.6b34.3x33.2x6.1x
Mon, 03 Apr 2023US$52.7bUS$8.5bUS$1.6b32.6x32.9x6.2x
Wed, 01 Mar 2023US$49.3bUS$8.5bUS$1.6b31.9x31x5.8x
Fri, 27 Jan 2023US$53.9bUS$8.3bUS$2.1b35.8x26x6.5x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022US$53.4bUS$8.3bUS$2.1b35x25.7x6.4x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022US$52.5bUS$8.3bUS$2.1b34.7x25.3x6.3x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022US$46.9bUS$8.2bUS$2.0b34.3x23.1x5.7x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022US$51.1bUS$8.2bUS$2.0b36.6x25.1x6.2x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022US$55.2bUS$8.2bUS$2.0b38.9x27.2x6.7x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022US$50.3bUS$8.2bUS$2.0b33.7x24.6x6.1x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022US$50.5bUS$8.2bUS$2.0b32.6x24.7x6.2x
Sun, 08 May 2022US$49.2bUS$8.1bUS$2.0b32x24.3x6.1x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022US$55.7bUS$8.1bUS$2.0b33.9x27.8x6.9x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022US$51.6bUS$8.1bUS$2.0b32.6x25.8x6.4x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022US$53.1bUS$8.0bUS$1.5b35.6x35.5x6.6x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021US$60.0bUS$8.0bUS$1.5b38.1x40.1x7.5x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021US$57.1bUS$8.0bUS$1.5b37.7x37.9x7.1x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021US$55.3bUS$8.1bUS$1.6b35.8x35.2x6.9x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021US$55.8bUS$8.1bUS$1.6b34.7x35.5x6.9x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021US$57.7bUS$8.7bUS$1.4b36.1x40.5x6.6x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021US$51.2bUS$8.6bUS$1.4b31.1x37.9x6x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021US$46.4bUS$8.2bUS$1.2b29.1x38.9x5.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

38.9x


Total Market Cap: US$46.4bTotal Earnings: US$1.2bTotal Revenue: US$8.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Water Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 31.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Water Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 24.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 31.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 6.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 4.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Water Utilities industry have grown 14% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 2.8% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Water compare with similar industries?

US Market1.81%
Utilities-1.14%
Water Utilities-4.01%
Water-4.01%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
GWRS Global Water ResourcesUS$12.601.3%
+US$3.9m
-4.5%PE39.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MSEX

US$50.62

Middlesex Water

7D

-8.5%

1Y

-33.8%

AWR

US$72.04

American States Water

7D

-5.5%

1Y

-19.3%

WTRG

US$34.18

Essential Utilities

7D

-5.5%

1Y

-20.1%

SJW

US$57.16

SJW Group

7D

-4.8%

1Y

-25.2%

YORW

US$35.55

York Water

7D

-2.9%

1Y

-18.2%

GWRS

US$12.60

Global Water Resources

7D

1.3%

1Y

-4.5%

ARTN.A

US$34.30

Artesian Resources

7D

-3.8%

1Y

-39.1%