Header cover image

U.S. Thrifts and Mortgage Finance Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies30
  • 7D-0.8%
  • 3M-1.0%
  • 1Y24.2%
  • YTDn/a

Last week, the Thrifts and Mortgage Finance industry hasn't moved much but MGIC Investment is up 4.6% in that time. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 24% in that time. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 36% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Thrifts and Mortgage Finance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024US$81.5bUS$20.2bUS$3.8b8.4x21.4x4x
Tue, 21 May 2024US$82.8bUS$20.3bUS$3.8b8.7x21.8x4.1x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024US$72.1bUS$19.1bUS$3.4b8x21x3.8x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024US$66.0bUS$19.2bUS$3.2b8.2x20.4x3.4x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024US$73.7bUS$18.8bUS$3.2b8.8x22.8x3.9x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024US$78.8bUS$19.7bUS$3.2b9.1x24.3x4x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023US$68.4bUS$19.7bUS$3.2b9.3x21.1x3.5x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023US$63.6bUS$19.6bUS$4.0b8.5x16x3.3x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023US$63.5bUS$20.0bUS$4.0b9.8x15.7x3.2x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023US$72.2bUS$20.0bUS$4.0b9.9x17.8x3.6x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023US$73.9bUS$20.2bUS$4.2b10.7x17.6x3.7x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023US$64.5bUS$20.3bUS$4.3b10.3x15.1x3.2x
Wed, 24 May 2023US$61.6bUS$20.3bUS$4.3b9.2x14.4x3x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023US$63.1bUS$24.0bUS$5.7b7.4x11x2.6x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023US$75.6bUS$28.4bUS$7.1b10.9x10.6x2.7x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023US$92.8bUS$34.9bUS$8.3b12x11.2x2.7x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023US$87.0bUS$35.7bUS$8.7b11.6x10x2.4x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022US$87.5bUS$35.8bUS$8.7b11.4x10.1x2.4x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022US$80.1bUS$36.9bUS$9.0b11.2x8.9x2.2x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022US$80.5bUS$40.3bUS$9.2b11.5x8.8x2x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022US$85.4bUS$40.3bUS$9.2b11.9x9.3x2.1x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022US$92.3bUS$44.8bUS$8.6b11.9x10.8x2.1x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022US$83.4bUS$44.9bUS$9.0b11.3x9.3x1.9x
Thu, 26 May 2022US$88.3bUS$44.9bUS$9.0b12x9.8x2x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022US$94.4bUS$50.1bUS$9.5b12.3x9.9x1.9x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022US$106.0bUS$50.4bUS$9.7b12.5x10.9x2.1x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022US$111.3bUS$53.3bUS$11.6b12.8x9.6x2.1x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022US$125.3bUS$55.0bUS$14.1b12.8x8.9x2.3x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021US$125.0bUS$55.1bUS$14.1b12.1x8.8x2.3x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021US$132.2bUS$56.6bUS$15.9b12.1x8.3x2.3x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021US$127.2bUS$59.2bUS$16.1b12.4x7.9x2.1x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021US$82.7bUS$59.0bUS$14.5b11.9x5.7x1.4x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021US$80.7bUS$59.0bUS$14.5b12.3x5.5x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

5.6x


Total Market Cap: US$80.8bTotal Earnings: US$14.5bTotal Revenue: US$59.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Thrifts and Mortgage Finance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 13x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Thrifts and Mortgage Finance industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 21.3x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 13.0x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.7x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 4.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Thrifts and Mortgage Finance industry have declined 36% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 30% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Thrifts and Mortgage Finance compare with similar industries?

US Market0.54%
Financials1.54%
Mortgage Finance0%
Thrifts and Mortgage Finance-0.84%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
MTG MGIC InvestmentUS$21.394.6%
+US$250.6m
40.5%PE7.8x
ESNT Essent GroupUS$56.613.2%
+US$186.7m
27.4%PE8.5x
RDN Radian GroupUS$30.963.3%
+US$150.6m
23.7%PE7.8x
ACT Enact HoldingsUS$30.422.5%
+US$118.0m
22.5%PE7.4x
NMIH NMI HoldingsUS$33.134.3%
+US$109.2m
33.3%PE7.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ONIT

US$23.05

Onity Group

7D

-3.1%

1Y

-19.7%

LDI

US$1.78

loanDepot

7D

-1.1%

1Y

-8.2%

PFSI

US$92.34

PennyMac Financial Services

7D

1.0%

1Y

36.4%

AGM

US$174.56

Federal Agricultural Mortgage

7D

3.0%

1Y

23.8%

VEL

US$18.31

Velocity Financial

7D

-1.3%

1Y

46.5%

IOR

US$16.25

Income Opportunity Realty Investors

7D

-2.0%

1Y

50.5%

RDN

US$30.96

Radian Group

7D

3.3%

1Y

23.7%

ESNT

US$56.61

Essent Group

7D

3.2%

1Y

27.4%

ACT

US$30.42

Enact Holdings

7D

2.5%

1Y

22.5%

SNFC.A

US$7.42

Security National Financial

7D

-2.5%

1Y

-10.0%

COOP

US$81.64

Mr. Cooper Group

7D

-0.2%

1Y

69.0%

BETR

US$0.41

Better Home & Finance Holding

7D

21.6%

1Y

-96.0%