Header cover image

U.S. Research and Consulting Services Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies75
  • 7D-0.3%
  • 3M-0.3%
  • 1Y14.4%
  • YTDn/a

The Research and Consulting Services industry has been flat over the last week, but TransUnion has lost 5.8%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 14% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 24% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Research and Consulting Services Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 21 Jun 2024US$215.5bUS$105.6bUS$3.0b30.2x72x2x
Sun, 19 May 2024US$217.7bUS$105.4bUS$2.8b29.8x77.3x2.1x
Tue, 16 Apr 2024US$207.3bUS$103.8bUS$2.6b30.3x81.3x2x
Thu, 14 Mar 2024US$209.5bUS$101.4bUS$2.3b30.5x90.4x2.1x
Sat, 10 Feb 2024US$203.0bUS$100.2bUS$3.5b32.2x57.8x2x
Mon, 08 Jan 2024US$204.0bUS$105.8bUS$4.0b30x51.3x1.9x
Wed, 06 Dec 2023US$205.8bUS$105.8bUS$4.0b29.5x51.7x1.9x
Fri, 03 Nov 2023US$186.2bUS$105.2b-US$559,879,480.0030.9x-332.5x1.8x
Sun, 01 Oct 2023US$185.0bUS$98.7bUS$453.7m29.6x407.9x1.9x
Tue, 29 Aug 2023US$192.7bUS$98.8bUS$268.8m32.2x716.8x2x
Thu, 27 Jul 2023US$162.3bUS$94.7bUS$45.4m26.1x3574.8x1.7x
Sat, 24 Jun 2023US$192.0bUS$97.0bUS$518.1m26.7x370.6x2x
Mon, 22 May 2023US$179.5bUS$96.8bUS$645.2m23.2x278.3x1.9x
Wed, 19 Apr 2023US$208.5bUS$98.4bUS$1.7b28.3x119.7x2.1x
Fri, 17 Mar 2023US$203.2bUS$98.2bUS$1.8b26.9x114.9x2.1x
Sun, 12 Feb 2023US$213.6bUS$98.8bUS$1.3b26.7x161.8x2.2x
Tue, 10 Jan 2023US$211.4bUS$97.9bUS$1.5b24.3x145.5x2.2x
Thu, 08 Dec 2022US$213.1bUS$97.1bUS$1.4b24.6x153x2.2x
Sat, 05 Nov 2022US$203.0bUS$96.4bUS$5.8b23.7x35.2x2.1x
Mon, 03 Oct 2022US$191.8bUS$95.6bUS$5.8b24x33.1x2x
Wed, 31 Aug 2022US$207.5bUS$95.6bUS$5.8b25.6x35.8x2.2x
Fri, 29 Jul 2022US$212.1bUS$94.0bUS$5.2b28.7x41.1x2.3x
Sun, 26 Jun 2022US$204.9bUS$93.7bUS$5.2b26.6x39.5x2.2x
Tue, 24 May 2022US$203.4bUS$93.6bUS$5.4b25.2x37.8x2.2x
Thu, 21 Apr 2022US$229.9bUS$91.4bUS$5.0b24.5x46.1x2.5x
Sat, 19 Mar 2022US$271.2bUS$95.8bUS$6.0b27.2x45.5x2.8x
Mon, 14 Feb 2022US$257.0bUS$97.0bUS$5.7b29.8x45.1x2.6x
Wed, 12 Jan 2022US$286.4bUS$96.7bUS$5.3b36.2x53.7x3x
Fri, 10 Dec 2021US$299.5bUS$96.5bUS$5.4b35.6x55.1x3.1x
Sun, 07 Nov 2021US$293.3bUS$95.7bUS$5.8b41.4x50.5x3.1x
Tue, 05 Oct 2021US$276.9bUS$93.9bUS$5.5b30.8x50.8x2.9x
Thu, 02 Sep 2021US$291.2bUS$93.8bUS$5.4b28.1x53.6x3.1x
Sat, 31 Jul 2021US$286.7bUS$93.8bUS$5.4b30.3x52.8x3.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

49.8x


Total Market Cap: US$278.3bTotal Earnings: US$5.6bTotal Revenue: US$92.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Research and Consulting Services Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 158.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Research and Consulting Services industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 72.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 159x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.3x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Research and Consulting Services industry have declined 19% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 4.4% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Research and Consulting Services compare with similar industries?

US Market0.72%
Industrials-0.20%
Professional Services-0.44%
Research and Consulting Services-0.27%
HR Services-0.64%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
VRSK Verisk AnalyticsUS$268.092.2%
+US$834.7m
17.6%PE48.2x
BAH Booz Allen Hamilton HoldingUS$154.452.7%
+US$523.0m
40.8%PE33.3x
LDOS Leidos HoldingsUS$146.011.3%
+US$251.5m
69.8%PE61.5x
J Jacobs SolutionsUS$141.191.4%
+US$250.4m
21.3%PE26.8x
PSN ParsonsUS$78.632.9%
+US$238.0m
62.9%PE295.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

EFX

US$239.77

Equifax

7D

-2.2%

1Y

5.9%

BAH

US$154.45

Booz Allen Hamilton Holding

7D

2.7%

1Y

40.8%

NVEE

US$90.95

NV5 Global

7D

-1.0%

1Y

-18.2%

LDOS

US$146.01

Leidos Holdings

7D

1.3%

1Y

69.8%

FCN

US$206.97

FTI Consulting

7D

-0.6%

1Y

6.9%

CACI

US$430.68

CACI International

7D

1.2%

1Y

29.4%

WLDN

US$28.09

Willdan Group

7D

-7.8%

1Y

59.8%

INOD

US$13.44

Innodata

7D

-14.1%

1Y

3.1%