Header cover image

Botswanan (BSE) Market Analysis & Valuation

UpdatedMay 30, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies25
  • 7D0.08%
  • 3M1.5%
  • 1Y14.6%
  • YTD2.3%

The market has been flat over the last week. Meanwhile, the market is actually up 15% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 18% per annum.

Market Valuation and Performance

Has the Botswanan Market valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 30 May 2024P52.6bP46.2bP5.4b7.5x9.8x1.1x
Sat, 27 Apr 2024P52.5bP46.0bP5.3b8.9x9.9x1.1x
Mon, 25 Mar 2024P52.1bP46.2bP5.7b8.5x9.1x1.1x
Wed, 21 Feb 2024P50.8bP38.7bP5.4b9x9.4x1.3x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024P50.4bP38.7bP5.4b9x9.4x1.3x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023P50.4bP38.7bP5.3b9.2x9.4x1.3x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023P49.6bP38.5bP5.3b9.2x9.4x1.3x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023P49.2bP38.5bP5.3b9.2x9.3x1.3x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023P48.2bP37.7bP5.2b9.5x9.2x1.3x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023P46.2bP36.7bP4.9b9.3x9.4x1.3x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023P44.7bP36.7bP4.9b9.1x9.1x1.2x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023P43.6bP35.1bP4.9b9.1x8.9x1.2x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023P43.4bP35.1bP4.9b9.3x8.9x1.2x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023P42.6bP32.6bP5.1b9.4x8.4x1.3x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023P42.3bP31.8bP5.1b9.9x8.4x1.3x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023P41.5bP31.8bP5.0b9.5x8.3x1.3x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022P41.3bP31.6bP5.0b9.4x8.2x1.3x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022P40.6bP31.8bP5.0b9.2x8.1x1.3x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022P40.0bP31.4bP4.9b9.5x8.2x1.3x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022P39.6bP30.2bP4.5b10.2x8.8x1.3x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022P38.7bP29.8bP4.5b10.3x8.6x1.3x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022P38.3bP29.7bP4.5b10.4x8.5x1.3x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022P38.5bP29.9bP4.5b9.6x8.5x1.3x
Mon, 02 May 2022P38.5bP29.8bP4.5b10.7x8.6x1.3x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022P38.5bP29.5bP3.7b11.2x10.3x1.3x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022P38.2bP28.9bP3.6b10.5x10.5x1.3x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022P37.5bP28.4bP3.6b10.9x10.3x1.3x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021P36.6bP28.2bP3.6b10.9x10.1x1.3x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021P36.4bP28.2bP3.6b10.5x10.2x1.3x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021P36.1bP28.4bP3.5b10.5x10.3x1.3x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021P35.7bP28.4bP3.5b10.6x10.1x1.3x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021P34.8bP28.3bP3.4b11x10.3x1.2x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021P34.2bP28.0bP3.3b10.6x10.4x1.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.4x


Total Market Cap: P34.2bTotal Earnings: P3.3bTotal Revenue: P28.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Botswanan Market Price to Earnings3Y Average 9.3x202220232024
Current Market PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Batswana market at the moment, indicating that they expect earnings will grow in line with historical growth rates.
  • The market is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 9.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for Batswana listed companies have grown 18% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 18% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Sector Trends

Which sectors have driven the changes within the Botswanan Market?

BW Market0.077%
Financials0.14%
Consumer Discretionary0.019%
Energy0%
Real Estate0%
Materials0%
Industrials0%
Consumer Staples0%
Healthcare0%
Tech0%
Telecom0%
Utilities0%
Sector PE
  • Investors favour the Energy sector the most for future growth even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 44.5x.
    • It looks like investors are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Consumer Staples sector, expecting annual earnings growth of 18% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 51% per year.
  • In contrast, the Consumer Staples sector is expected to see its earnings grow by 18% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuationSector
FNBB First National Bank of BotswanaP4.700.2%
+P25.4m
30.2%PB3.1xFinancials
ABSA Absa Bank BotswanaP6.580.2%
+P8.5m
12.5%PB1.8xFinancials
BIHL Botswana Insurance HoldingsP20.300.1%
+P5.7m
6.2%PE7.5xFinancials
CHOBE Chobe HoldingsP15.290.07%
+P894.4k
60.9%PE9.8xConsumer Discretionary
See more
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Market Insights

The vision for a hydrogen economy sees H2, the most abundant element in the universe, as the primary means of storing and transporting energy...

Latest News

CHOBE

P15.29

Chobe Holdings

7D

0.07%

1Y

60.9%

ABSA

P6.58

Absa Bank Botswana

7D

0.2%

1Y

12.5%

FNBB

P4.70

First National Bank of Botswana

7D

0.2%

1Y

30.2%

BIHL

P20.30

Botswana Insurance Holdings

7D

0.1%

1Y

6.2%