Header cover image

Indonesian (IDX) Market Analysis & Valuation

UpdatedJun 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies841
  • 7D-1.1%
  • 3M-2.2%
  • 1Y-1.1%
  • YTD-2.9%

Over the last 7 days, the market has dropped 1.1%, driven by a pullback of 4.2% in the Financials sector. On the other hand, the Utilities has risen by 16%. Although the market performance has been flat over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 31% per annum.

Market Valuation and Performance

Has the Indonesian Market valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 18 Jun 2024Rp11357.6tRp5010.0tRp502.0t14.1x22.6x2.3x
Thu, 16 May 2024Rp11784.8tRp4986.7tRp508.1t14.5x23.2x2.4x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024Rp11692.1tRp4932.7tRp520.1t15.3x22.5x2.4x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024Rp11674.3tRp4890.8tRp591.2t14.4x19.7x2.4x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024Rp11393.7tRp4928.4tRp598.2t14.9x19x2.3x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024Rp11672.3tRp4931.8tRp582.2t15.3x20x2.4x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023Rp10939.5tRp4921.7tRp586.2t15.1x18.7x2.2x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023Rp10411.6tRp5003.4tRp614.6t15.2x16.9x2.1x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023Rp10159.8tRp4985.9tRp619.0t15.9x16.4x2x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023Rp10032.0tRp4979.2tRp620.2t15.9x16.2x2x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023Rp9811.0tRp4967.0tRp625.7t16.5x15.7x2x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023Rp9330.5tRp4908.0tRp604.5t15.6x15.4x1.9x
Fri, 19 May 2023Rp9334.0tRp4887.5tRp604.5t16.1x15.4x1.9x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023Rp9459.0tRp4777.2tRp608.2t15.1x15.6x2x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023Rp9246.6tRp4757.2tRp638.7t14.3x14.5x1.9x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023Rp9374.3tRp4667.3tRp630.4t14.4x14.9x2x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023Rp9060.6tRp4660.6tRp626.8t14.1x14.5x1.9x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022Rp9339.8tRp4627.4tRp627.4t14.7x14.9x2x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022Rp9180.7tRp4460.2tRp601.8t15.7x15.3x2.1x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022Rp9075.4tRp4362.9tRp570.5t16.4x15.9x2.1x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022Rp9105.5tRp4227.2tRp541.2t15.8x16.8x2.2x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022Rp8842.4tRp4094.3tRp527.6t16.1x16.8x2.2x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022Rp8916.7tRp4053.7tRp519.2t16.3x17.2x2.2x
Sat, 21 May 2022Rp8897.4tRp3959.8tRp500.1t18.5x17.8x2.2x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022Rp9237.1tRp3820.1tRp437.6t19.7x21.1x2.4x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022Rp8494.2tRp3681.8tRp412.3t20.7x20.6x2.3x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022Rp8380.1tRp3609.2tRp379.3t21x22.1x2.3x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022Rp8258.1tRp3544.2tRp359.2t21.3x23x2.3x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021Rp7914.4tRp3487.2tRp352.7t20.5x22.4x2.3x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021Rp7809.3tRp3400.3tRp317.4t20.3x24.6x2.3x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021Rp7480.2tRp3313.3tRp290.1t21.3x25.8x2.3x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021Rp7332.1tRp3320.0tRp290.2t21.5x25.3x2.2x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021Rp7031.5tRp3316.6tRp291.2t19.7x24.1x2.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

24.1x


Total Market Cap: Rp7031.5tTotal Earnings: Rp291.2tTotal Revenue: Rp3316.6tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Indonesian Market Price to Earnings3Y Average 19x202220232024
Current Market PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Indonesian market, and appear confident in strong long term growth rates.
  • The market is trading at a PE ratio of 22.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 19.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for Indonesian listed companies have grown 20% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 15% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Sector Trends

Which sectors have driven the changes within the Indonesian Market?

ID Market-1.12%
Utilities15.75%
Healthcare-0.80%
Tech-0.86%
Materials-1.20%
Consumer Staples-1.54%
Energy-1.77%
Real Estate-1.91%
Consumer Discretionary-2.12%
Industrials-3.69%
Financials-4.20%
Telecom-4.52%
Sector PE
  • Investors favour the Utilities sector the most for future growth, which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 44.4x.
    • The market's confidence is likely because analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 5.6% which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 18.5% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Consumer Discretionary sector, expecting annual earnings growth of 82% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 5.2% per year.
  • In contrast, the Energy sector is expected to see its earnings decline by 9.8% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuationSector
BREN Barito Renewables EnergyRp7.85k7.5%
+Rp73.6t
n/aPE598.4xUtilities
AMMN Amman Mineral InternasionalRp12.10k1.9%
+Rp16.3t
n/aPE261.7xMaterials
DSSA Dian Swastatika SentosaRp210.05k4.8%
+Rp5.9t
463.1%PE18.5xEnergy
UNVR Unilever IndonesiaRp3.20k4.6%
+Rp5.3t
-25.6%PE25.2xConsumer Staples
BRIS Bank Syariah IndonesiaRp2.28k5.1%
+Rp5.1t
38.6%PB2.6xFinancials
See more
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Market Insights

Last week, we looked at some of the reasons the healthcare sector has underperformed over the last few years...

Latest News

CUAN

Rp8,175.00

Petrindo Jaya Kreasi

7D

-4.7%

1Y

788.6%

BBRI

Rp4,180.00

Bank Rakyat Indonesia (Persero)

7D

-3.7%

1Y

-24.7%

FREN

Rp39.00

Smartfren Telecom

7D

18.2%

1Y

-36.1%

BREN

Rp7,850.00

Barito Renewables Energy

7D

7.5%

1Y

n/a

AMMN

Rp12,100.00

Amman Mineral Internasional

7D

1.9%

1Y

n/a

BBSI

Rp4,300.00

Krom Bank Indonesia

7D

24.3%

1Y

20.1%

BBCA

Rp9,200.00

Bank Central Asia

7D

-1.1%

1Y

1.7%

UNVR

Rp3,200.00

Unilever Indonesia

7D

4.6%

1Y

-25.6%

DSSA

Rp210,050.00

Dian Swastatika Sentosa

7D

4.8%

1Y

463.1%

BYAN

Rp17,275.00

Bayan Resources

7D

-2.4%

1Y

14.2%

BMRI

Rp5,750.00

Bank Mandiri (Persero)

7D

-6.1%

1Y

12.7%

BRIS

Rp2,280.00

Bank Syariah Indonesia

7D

5.1%

1Y

38.6%

ASII

Rp4,420.00

Astra International

7D

1.6%

1Y

-35.0%

PGEO

Rp1,060.00

Pertamina Geothermal Energy

7D

-9.4%

1Y

25.4%

BBNI

Rp4,310.00

Bank Negara Indonesia (Persero)

7D

-3.8%

1Y

-5.0%

TLKM

Rp2,720.00

Perusahaan Perseroan (Persero) PT Telekomunikasi Indonesia

7D

-5.6%

1Y

-31.8%