Header cover image

Indonesian (IDX) Media Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies18
  • 7D-2.5%
  • 3M-21.2%
  • 1Y-45.5%
  • YTD-15.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Media industry has dropped 2.5%, driven by a pullback from NFC Indonesia of 16%. On the other hand Net Visi Media is actually up 9.4%. Overall the industry is down 46% in 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 59% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Indonesian Media Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024Rp60.7tRp77.0tRp1.2t8.6x50.7x0.8x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024Rp63.7tRp74.9tRp1.3t10.7x49.7x0.9x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023Rp66.4tRp74.9tRp1.3t10.2x51.8x0.9x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023Rp70.7tRp75.3tRp1.6t10.1x43.2x0.9x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023Rp75.1tRp78.1tRp5.6t12.1x13.4x1x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023Rp72.7tRp78.2tRp5.7t12.2x12.7x0.9x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023Rp75.6tRp78.2tRp5.8t11.4x13x1x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023Rp87.0tRp80.7tRp5.5t11.7x15.8x1.1x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023Rp78.2tRp80.7tRp6.0t10.7x13.1x1x
Tue, 09 May 2023Rp84.3tRp81.2tRp5.5t13.6x15.3x1x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023Rp91.2tRp77.2tRp15.7t10.9x5.8x1.2x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023Rp103.7tRp79.0tRp16.2t13.6x6.4x1.3x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023Rp109.5tRp69.2tRp16.2t10.5x6.8x1.6x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022Rp105.7tRp69.2tRp16.2t10.3x6.5x1.5x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022Rp144.2tRp70.4tRp16.5t13.2x8.8x2x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022Rp138.4tRp69.1tRp13.7t11.5x10.1x2x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022Rp157.8tRp69.1tRp13.7t13.4x11.5x2.3x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022Rp171.9tRp69.2tRp15.8t12.5x10.9x2.5x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022Rp145.9tRp68.7tRp16.0t10.6x9.1x2.1x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022Rp158.5tRp68.7tRp16.1t10.8x9.8x2.3x
Wed, 11 May 2022Rp206.8tRp67.7tRp11.8t15.6x17.6x3.1x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022Rp224.5tRp66.8tRp7.9t10.4x28.4x3.4x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022Rp186.3tRp66.8tRp7.8t9.6x23.8x2.8x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022Rp163.2tRp66.8tRp7.7t14.3x21.2x2.4x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021Rp196.3tRp65.8tRp7.8t14.5x25.3x3x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021Rp176.1tRp65.7tRp7.5t14.5x23.4x2.7x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021Rp169.0tRp65.2tRp8.6t14.5x19.6x2.6x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021Rp190.6tRp64.2tRp8.8t15.1x21.7x3x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021Rp191.1tRp64.1tRp9.0t7.5x21.2x3x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021Rp205.3tRp61.0tRp8.3t6.7x24.6x3.4x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021Rp191.4tRp59.5tRp7.5t26.7x25.6x3.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

25.6x


Total Market Cap: Rp191.4tTotal Earnings: Rp7.5tTotal Revenue: Rp59.5tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Indonesian Media Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 19.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Indonesian Media industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 50.7x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 19.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.0x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.79x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Media industry have declined 46% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 9.0% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Indonesian Telecom industry?

ID Market0.46%
Telecom-1.07%
Media-2.54%
Publishing8.75%
Broadcasting-1.76%
Cable and Satellite-3.53%
Advertising-9.13%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Broadcasting industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 16.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 56.7%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 47.2% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Advertising industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 106% over the next 5 years.
  • This is roughly in line with its past earnings growth rate.
  • In contrast, the Broadcasting industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 57% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
EMTK Elang Mahkota TeknologiRp470.001.7%
+Rp488.6b
-50.5%PS1.9x
FORU Fortune IndonesiaRp810.0044.6%
+Rp116.3b
264.9%PS7.6x
NETV Net Visi MediaRp57.007.5%
+Rp93.8b
-70.6%PS4x
MARI Mahaka Radio IntegraRp53.003.9%
+Rp10.5b
-56.6%PS3.4x
TMPO Tempo Inti MediaRp83.009.2%
+Rp7.4b
-19.4%PS0.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

UVCR

Rp103.00

Trimegah Karya Pratama

7D

2.0%

1Y

-11.2%

SCMA

Rp149.00

Surya Citra Media

7D

-2.0%

1Y

-30.4%

FORU

Rp810.00

Fortune Indonesia

7D

44.6%

1Y

264.9%

NFCX

Rp2,430.00

NFC Indonesia

7D

-19.5%

1Y

-62.9%

ABBA

Rp52.00

Mahaka Media

7D

2.0%

1Y

-58.7%

FUTR

Rp50.00

Lini Imaji Kreasi Ekosistem

7D

0%

1Y

-67.1%

MNCN

Rp326.00

PT. Media Nusantara Citra

7D

-4.1%

1Y

-50.6%

BMTR

Rp238.00

Global Mediacom

7D

-3.3%

1Y

-16.8%

DMMX

Rp198.00

Digital Mediatama Maxima

7D

-17.5%

1Y

-78.5%

NETV

Rp57.00

Net Visi Media

7D

7.5%

1Y

-70.6%

MARI

Rp53.00

Mahaka Radio Integra

7D

3.9%

1Y

-56.6%

DOOH

Rp81.00

Era Media Sejahtera

7D

-22.9%

1Y

n/a

MSKY

Rp84.00

MNC Sky Vision

7D

-14.3%

1Y

-57.8%

WIFI

Rp137.00

Solusi Sinergi Digital

7D

-7.4%

1Y

-4.2%

EMTK

Rp470.00

Elang Mahkota Teknologi

7D

1.7%

1Y

-50.5%

TMPO

Rp83.00

Tempo Inti Media

7D

9.2%

1Y

-19.4%