Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Market Analysis & Valuation

UpdatedJul 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies4986
  • 7D0.1%
  • 3M-4.6%
  • 1Y-16.6%
  • YTD-9.3%

The Consumer Staples sector gained 3.1% while the market remained flat over the last week. Unfortunately though, the market is down 17% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 22% annually.

Market Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Market valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024CN¥59.9tCN¥50.7tCN¥2.8t28.1x21.3x1.2x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024CN¥62.5tCN¥50.8tCN¥2.8t29.9x22.3x1.2x
Thu, 16 May 2024CN¥65.3tCN¥50.8tCN¥2.8t31.8x23.5x1.3x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024CN¥63.0tCN¥50.9tCN¥2.9t30.3x22x1.2x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024CN¥63.7tCN¥51.3tCN¥2.8t30.2x22.4x1.2x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024CN¥56.8tCN¥51.9tCN¥3.1t25.1x18.4x1.1x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024CN¥64.2tCN¥49.9tCN¥2.7t34.9x23.6x1.3x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023CN¥66.7tCN¥49.8tCN¥2.7t35.7x24.6x1.3x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023CN¥66.4tCN¥49.7tCN¥2.7t34.3x24.3x1.3x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023CN¥67.4tCN¥49.6tCN¥2.7t34.9x24.7x1.4x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023CN¥66.4tCN¥49.3tCN¥2.8t33.3x23.5x1.3x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023CN¥69.8tCN¥49.1tCN¥2.8t35.8x24.7x1.4x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023CN¥71.9tCN¥49.1tCN¥2.8t36.7x25.5x1.5x
Fri, 19 May 2023CN¥71.0tCN¥49.0tCN¥2.8t35.5x25.2x1.5x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023CN¥74.0tCN¥59.2tCN¥4.3t36.2x17.3x1.2x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023CN¥72.1tCN¥47.9tCN¥2.9t36.2x25.1x1.5x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023CN¥73.2tCN¥47.9tCN¥3.1t36x24x1.5x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023CN¥69.8tCN¥47.6tCN¥2.8t33.5x24.7x1.5x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022CN¥69.5tCN¥47.5tCN¥2.8t34.5x24.6x1.5x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022CN¥65.6tCN¥47.5tCN¥2.8t33x23.2x1.4x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022CN¥66.0tCN¥46.6tCN¥2.9t30.3x23.1x1.4x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022CN¥71.5tCN¥46.9tCN¥2.9t34.2x24.9x1.5x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022CN¥71.2tCN¥46.1tCN¥2.8t33.9x25.1x1.5x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022CN¥69.8tCN¥46.1tCN¥2.8t32.7x24.7x1.5x
Sat, 21 May 2022CN¥66.1tCN¥46.1tCN¥2.8t31x23.4x1.4x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022CN¥66.8tCN¥45.4tCN¥3.0t30.3x22.5x1.5x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022CN¥65.7tCN¥44.7tCN¥3.0t30.4x22x1.5x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022CN¥74.5tCN¥44.1tCN¥3.0t35.1x25.2x1.7x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022CN¥78.0tCN¥43.8tCN¥2.9t37.6x26.6x1.8x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021CN¥78.6tCN¥43.7tCN¥2.9t36.4x26.9x1.8x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021CN¥75.1tCN¥43.8tCN¥2.9t33.6x25.6x1.7x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021CN¥75.3tCN¥42.4tCN¥2.9t33.1x25.7x1.8x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021CN¥75.8tCN¥42.4tCN¥2.9t34.9x25.9x1.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

25.6x


Total Market Cap: CN¥74.6tTotal Earnings: CN¥2.9tTotal Revenue: CN¥42.3tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Market Price to Earnings3Y Average 24.3x202220232024
Current Market PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chinese market, indicating that they anticipate earnings will not grow as fast as they have historically.
  • The market is trading at a PE ratio of 21.3x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 24.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for Chinese listed companies have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 6.2% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Sector Trends

Which sectors have driven the changes within the Chinese Market?

CN Market0.14%
Consumer Staples3.13%
Financials1.61%
Healthcare1.46%
Industrials0.40%
Utilities0.29%
Telecom-0.15%
Tech-0.34%
Real Estate-0.56%
Energy-1.66%
Materials-1.83%
Consumer Discretionary-2.64%
Sector PE
  • Investors favour the Tech sector the most for future growth, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 48.7x.
    • The market's confidence is likely because analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 33.8% which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 5.4% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Tech sector, expecting annual earnings growth of 34% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 5.4% per year.
  • In contrast, the Financials sector is expected to see its earnings grow by 11% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuationSector
600519 Kweichow MoutaiCN¥1.53k3.2%
+CN¥58.8b
-13.9%PE24.6xConsumer Staples
300750 Contemporary Amperex TechnologyCN¥189.445.4%
+CN¥42.3b
-14.5%PE18.5xIndustrials
688256 Cambricon TechnologiesCN¥268.4034.6%
+CN¥28.7b
57.1%PS169.4xTech
000858 Wuliangye YibinLtdCN¥133.424.7%
+CN¥23.4b
-22.1%PE16.3xConsumer Staples
300274 Sungrow Power SupplyCN¥72.3016.4%
+CN¥20.9b
-6.7%PE14.8xIndustrials
See more
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Market Insights

This week we are continuing our series on semiconductor chips, AKA integrated circuits (ICs). We previously covered logic and memory ICs, and today we turn to their analog cousins...

Latest News

601138

CN¥24.66

Foxconn Industrial Internet

7D

-9.5%

1Y

7.0%

300274

CN¥72.30

Sungrow Power Supply

7D

16.4%

1Y

-6.7%

688256

CN¥268.40

Cambricon Technologies

7D

34.6%

1Y

57.1%

600900

CN¥30.58

China Yangtze Power

7D

2.3%

1Y

41.6%

000858

CN¥133.42

Wuliangye YibinLtd

7D

4.7%

1Y

-22.1%

000333

CN¥63.60

Midea Group

7D

-2.2%

1Y

11.3%

688041

CN¥78.22

Hygon Information Technology

7D

10.8%

1Y

27.4%

601127

CN¥75.30

Seres GroupLtd

7D

-8.2%

1Y

83.7%