Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies31
  • 7D1.9%
  • 3M8.4%
  • 1Y-5.7%
  • YTD12.5%

Over the last 7 days, the Banks industry has risen 5.8%, driven by gains in China Merchants Bank and Ping An Bank of 2.0% and 7.3%, respectively. In contrast, the industry has lost 4.1% in the last 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 8.3% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024CN¥3.1tCN¥1.4tCN¥603.7b5.2x5.1x2.2x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024CN¥2.9tCN¥1.4tCN¥602.6b4.9x4.8x2.1x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023CN¥2.7tCN¥1.4tCN¥595.1b4.9x4.5x2x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023CN¥2.9tCN¥1.4tCN¥595.1b4.7x4.8x2.1x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023CN¥3.0tCN¥1.4tCN¥599.9b5.3x5.1x2.2x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023CN¥3.1tCN¥1.4tCN¥599.9b5.4x5.1x2.2x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023CN¥3.0tCN¥1.3tCN¥585.9b5.5x5.1x2.3x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023CN¥2.9tCN¥1.3tCN¥585.4b5.1x5x2.2x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023CN¥3.1tCN¥1.3tCN¥585.5b5.4x5.3x2.4x
Sun, 07 May 2023CN¥3.2tCN¥1.4tCN¥594.7b5.7x5.4x2.2x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023CN¥3.0tCN¥1.5tCN¥611.7b5.5x5x2x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023CN¥3.2tCN¥1.4tCN¥611.0b5.8x5.2x2.2x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023CN¥3.4tCN¥1.1tCN¥601.5b5.8x5.6x3x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022CN¥3.1tCN¥1.3tCN¥567.9b5.8x5.5x2.4x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022CN¥2.9tCN¥1.3tCN¥567.9b5.9x5.2x2.3x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022CN¥2.9tCN¥1.3tCN¥553.2b6.1x5.2x2.3x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022CN¥3.1tCN¥1.3tCN¥553.2b6.3x5.6x2.5x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022CN¥3.0tCN¥1.2tCN¥544.1b6.5x5.6x2.5x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022CN¥3.3tCN¥1.2tCN¥541.8b6.6x6.1x2.7x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022CN¥3.5tCN¥1.2tCN¥541.5b6.9x6.4x2.8x
Mon, 09 May 2022CN¥3.4tCN¥1.3tCN¥536.9b6.8x6.3x2.7x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022CN¥3.8tCN¥1.4tCN¥531.7b7.5x7.1x2.8x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022CN¥3.9tCN¥1.4tCN¥541.3b7.3x7.1x2.7x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022CN¥3.8tCN¥1.4tCN¥540.6b7x7x2.8x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021CN¥3.7tCN¥1.2tCN¥518.9b6.9x7.1x3.2x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021CN¥3.8tCN¥1.2tCN¥518.9b7x7.2x3.3x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021CN¥4.0tCN¥1.1tCN¥500.8b7.8x7.9x3.5x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021CN¥3.5tCN¥1.1tCN¥495.8b7.9x7.1x3.1x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021CN¥3.9tCN¥1.1tCN¥487.9b7.3x7.9x3.5x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021CN¥4.3tCN¥1.1tCN¥461.6b8.2x9.3x3.9x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021CN¥4.0tCN¥1.0tCN¥450.2b8.6x9x3.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9x


Total Market Cap: CN¥4.0tTotal Earnings: CN¥450.2bTotal Revenue: CN¥1.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 6.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chinese Banks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 5.2x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 6.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.7x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Banks industry have grown 10% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chinese Financials industry?

CN Market3.73%
Financials2.15%
Banks1.92%
Regional Banks2.37%
Diversified Banks1.78%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Regional Banks industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 7.0x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 12.8%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 21.8% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Diversified Banks industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 6.1x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Regional Banks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 13% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 22% per year.
  • In contrast, the Diversified Banks industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 7.0% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
600036 China Merchants BankCN¥32.182.5%
+CN¥19.7b
-13.7%PB0.8x
1 Ping An BankCN¥10.506.9%
+CN¥13.2b
-23.8%PB0.5x
601166 Industrial BankCN¥16.552.2%
+CN¥7.3b
-2.1%PB0.5x
2142 Bank of NingboCN¥22.413.0%
+CN¥4.4b
-24.1%PB0.8x
600015 Hua Xia BankCN¥6.311.8%
+CN¥1.8b
20.9%PB0.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

601166

CN¥16.55

Industrial Bank

7D

2.2%

1Y

-2.1%

600015

CN¥6.31

Hua Xia Bank

7D

1.8%

1Y

20.9%

601818

CN¥3.21

China Everbright Bank

7D

-0.9%

1Y

7.7%

617

CN¥5.94

CNPC Capital

7D

-1.0%

1Y

0.7%

601577

CN¥7.70

Bank of Changsha

7D

-0.1%

1Y

-4.3%

600036

CN¥32.18

China Merchants Bank

7D

2.5%

1Y

-13.7%

2142

CN¥22.41

Bank of Ningbo

7D

3.0%

1Y

-24.1%

600919

CN¥7.68

Bank of Jiangsu

7D

0.9%

1Y

6.8%

601838

CN¥13.22

Bank of Chengdu

7D

2.6%

1Y

-8.0%

2966

CN¥7.05

Bank of Suzhou

7D

-3.8%

1Y

-6.0%

601169

CN¥5.15

Bank of Beijing

7D

-0.2%

1Y

18.9%

601009

CN¥8.62

Bank of Nanjing

7D

1.5%

1Y

-13.0%

601128

CN¥7.06

Jiangsu Changshu Rural Commercial Bank

7D

-1.4%

1Y

-8.4%

1

CN¥10.50

Ping An Bank

7D

6.9%

1Y

-23.8%

600016

CN¥4.04

China Minsheng Banking

7D

-1.0%

1Y

18.5%