Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Movies and Entertainment Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies24
  • 7D-2.1%
  • 3M4.7%
  • 1Y-22.4%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, the Movies and Entertainment industry is down 4.0% with Mango Excellent Media down the most at 5.9%. Meanwhile, China Television Media actually outperformed within the industry, gaining 6.6% in the last week. Overall the industry is down 20% in 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 41% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Movies and Entertainment Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 18 Apr 2024CN¥243.0bCN¥53.8bCN¥1.8b39.9x135.3x4.5x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024CN¥250.4bCN¥53.7bCN¥1.8b58.9x141.3x4.7x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024CN¥214.7bCN¥52.0b-CN¥184,536,570.0071.3x-1163.6x4.1x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024CN¥245.1bCN¥52.1b-CN¥329,105,323.0077.4x-744.8x4.7x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023CN¥277.1bCN¥51.7b-CN¥647,939,709.0084.7x-427.7x5.4x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023CN¥246.3bCN¥51.9b-CN¥610,320,309.0063.7x-403.5x4.7x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023CN¥259.9bCN¥48.3b-CN¥2,175,052,118.0065.2x-119.5x5.4x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023CN¥280.2bCN¥47.8b-CN¥2,418,461,660.0068x-115.9x5.9x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023CN¥282.0bCN¥45.1b-CN¥4,011,747,049.00147.1x-70.3x6.3x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023CN¥295.4bCN¥45.1b-CN¥4,011,747,049.00152.2x-73.6x6.5x
Wed, 24 May 2023CN¥273.6bCN¥47.7b-CN¥2,999,937,147.00101.8x-91.2x5.7x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023CN¥318.7bCN¥50.8b-CN¥3,662,255,963.0046.9x-87x6.3x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023CN¥267.8bCN¥51.1b-CN¥3,562,303,983.0037.7x-75.2x5.2x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023CN¥264.4bCN¥51.7b-CN¥3,424,685,507.0036.4x-77.2x5.1x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023CN¥257.5bCN¥51.6b-CN¥3,406,429,931.0033x-75.6x5x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022CN¥250.5bCN¥51.6b-CN¥3,406,429,934.0029.1x-73.5x4.9x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022CN¥220.4bCN¥51.5b-CN¥3,447,190,209.0025.2x-63.9x4.3x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022CN¥206.2bCN¥52.9b-CN¥2,792,353,154.0039.3x-73.8x3.9x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022CN¥239.0bCN¥53.9b-CN¥2,309,358,959.0044.9x-103.5x4.4x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022CN¥227.9bCN¥54.4b-CN¥1,357,795,544.0098.5x-167.9x4.2x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022CN¥235.5bCN¥54.3b-CN¥1,382,313,564.0099.5x-170.3x4.3x
Thu, 26 May 2022CN¥224.3bCN¥55.2b-CN¥1,376,590,029.0089x-162.9x4.1x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022CN¥197.4bCN¥55.6b-CN¥7,780,160,726.0033x-25.4x3.5x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022CN¥217.7bCN¥55.3b-CN¥7,082,211,681.0034.8x-30.7x3.9x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022CN¥251.2bCN¥56.0b-CN¥6,801,454,227.0037.6x-36.9x4.5x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022CN¥286.9bCN¥56.0b-CN¥6,801,454,227.0045.1x-42.2x5.1x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021CN¥273.4bCN¥56.0b-CN¥6,801,454,227.0048.8x-40.2x4.9x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021CN¥255.7bCN¥55.9b-CN¥6,764,570,215.0036.9x-37.8x4.6x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021CN¥254.9bCN¥54.1b-CN¥8,817,209,329.0049.1x-28.9x4.7x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021CN¥257.6bCN¥53.9b-CN¥8,890,669,199.0050.2x-29x4.8x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021CN¥264.0bCN¥53.9b-CN¥8,890,669,199.0049.6x-29.7x4.9x
Thu, 06 May 2021CN¥324.2bCN¥46.5b-CN¥12,499,399,813.0047.1x-25.9x7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-25.9x


Total Market Cap: CN¥324.2bTotal Earnings: -CN¥12,499,399,813.00Total Revenue: CN¥46.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Movies and Entertainment Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -143.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Chinese Movies and Entertainment industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 135x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -144x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 5.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Movies and Entertainment industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 5.0% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Chinese Movies and Entertainment compare with similar industries?

CN Market-0.20%
Telecom-0.78%
Entertainment-2.90%
Movies and Entertainment-2.14%
Interactive Home Entertainment-3.49%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
600088 China Television MediaCN¥21.459.3%
+CN¥723.8m
86.0%PE27.3x
300413 Mango Excellent MediaCN¥23.340.3%
+CN¥131.0m
-32.0%PE12.3x
600977 China FilmCN¥11.900.5%
+CN¥112.0m
-29.3%PE87x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.