Header cover image

Chinese (SSE) Basic Materials Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies40
  • 7D2.9%
  • 3M-12.7%
  • 1Y-32.9%
  • YTD-6.0%

The Basic Materials industry is up 3.0% in the last week, with Beijing Oriental Yuhong Waterproof Technology up 3.0%. In the past year, the industry is down 34%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 34% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chinese Basic Materials Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024CN¥358.8bCN¥386.8bCN¥10.9b24.1x32.8x0.9x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024CN¥365.7bCN¥386.8bCN¥10.9b26x33.5x0.9x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023CN¥379.7bCN¥384.0bCN¥11.2b25.1x33.9x1x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023CN¥397.5bCN¥383.3bCN¥11.2b25.8x35.6x1x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023CN¥405.7bCN¥393.4bCN¥12.8b24.4x31.6x1x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023CN¥426.1bCN¥393.5bCN¥12.8b26.7x33.2x1.1x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023CN¥443.1bCN¥408.4bCN¥17.7b25.3x25x1.1x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023CN¥427.2bCN¥406.6bCN¥17.3b24.3x24.7x1.1x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023CN¥442.9bCN¥406.8bCN¥17.3b23.8x25.6x1.1x
Sun, 07 May 2023CN¥467.8bCN¥406.9bCN¥17.3b25.1x27x1.1x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023CN¥492.6bCN¥420.2bCN¥25.7b23x19.2x1.2x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023CN¥535.9bCN¥444.3bCN¥31.5b21.7x17x1.2x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023CN¥516.4bCN¥445.8bCN¥32.3b17.7x16x1.2x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022CN¥481.7bCN¥445.2bCN¥32.3b17.5x14.9x1.1x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022CN¥482.1bCN¥444.0bCN¥32.1b17.4x15x1.1x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022CN¥449.4bCN¥459.0bCN¥38.1b15.8x11.8x1x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022CN¥502.3bCN¥459.5bCN¥38.1b16.9x13.2x1.1x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022CN¥551.9bCN¥471.5bCN¥43.2b16.4x12.8x1.2x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022CN¥587.7bCN¥472.6bCN¥43.6b16.7x13.5x1.2x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022CN¥585.4bCN¥473.2bCN¥43.7b17.3x13.4x1.2x
Mon, 09 May 2022CN¥556.4bCN¥471.3bCN¥43.9b15.1x12.7x1.2x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022CN¥586.9bCN¥471.2bCN¥46.2b18.6x12.7x1.2x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022CN¥626.1bCN¥311.7bCN¥36.3b18.5x17.3x2x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022CN¥605.7bCN¥311.1bCN¥36.0b18.2x16.8x1.9x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021CN¥647.6bCN¥308.7bCN¥35.8b19x18.1x2.1x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021CN¥574.1bCN¥308.7bCN¥35.7b17x16.1x1.9x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021CN¥487.1bCN¥290.8bCN¥35.6b17.1x13.7x1.7x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021CN¥510.5bCN¥290.1bCN¥35.3b17.9x14.5x1.8x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021CN¥513.7bCN¥289.1bCN¥35.2b18.7x14.6x1.8x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021CN¥524.7bCN¥283.2bCN¥34.5b19.4x15.2x1.9x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021CN¥477.7bCN¥260.3bCN¥30.5b20x15.7x1.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

15.7x


Total Market Cap: CN¥477.7bTotal Earnings: CN¥30.5bTotal Revenue: CN¥260.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chinese Basic Materials Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 19.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Chinese Basic Materials industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 32.9x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 19.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.4x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.93x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Basic Materials industry have declined 29% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 14% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chinese Materials industry?

CN Market3.73%
Materials3.58%
Basic Materials2.89%
Construction Materials2.89%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
2271 Beijing Oriental Yuhong Waterproof TechnologyCN¥17.417.0%
+CN¥2.8b
-49.4%PE15.4x
600449 Ningxia Building Materials GroupLtdCN¥16.1512.3%
+CN¥846.4m
5.9%PE34.7x
600720 CCCC Design & Consulting GroupCN¥9.893.6%
+CN¥701.0m
-18.2%PE44.4x
546 Jinyuan EPCN¥6.0515.5%
+CN¥628.3m
-49.2%PS1.7x
300737 Keshun Waterproof TechnolgiesLtdCN¥5.319.7%
+CN¥547.2m
-60.3%PS0.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

1212

CN¥29.32

Sinostone(Guangdong)Ltd

7D

18.3%

1Y

-3.6%

600720

CN¥9.89

CCCC Design & Consulting Group

7D

3.6%

1Y

-18.2%

600449

CN¥16.15

Ningxia Building Materials GroupLtd

7D

12.3%

1Y

5.9%

2271

CN¥17.41

Beijing Oriental Yuhong Waterproof Technology

7D

7.0%

1Y

-49.4%

546

CN¥6.05

Jinyuan EP

7D

15.5%

1Y

-49.2%

600881

CN¥1.61

Jilin Yatai (Group)

7D

10.3%

1Y

-34.3%