Header cover image

Argentinian (MERVAL) Market Analysis & Valuation

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies65
  • 7D-0.3%
  • 3M27.7%
  • 1Y264.2%
  • YTD59.8%

Over the last 7 days, the market has remained flat, although notably the Healthcare sector declined by 3.2%. As for the longer term, the market has risen 264% in the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 16% annually.

Trending IndustriesOil and Gas

Market Valuation and Performance

Has the Argentinian Market valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024AR$66.1tAR$36.3tAR$2.4t17.6x28.1x1.8x
Tue, 21 May 2024AR$61.6tAR$39.3tAR$1.8t16.7x34.8x1.6x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024AR$49.1tAR$37.8tAR$655.9b16.1x74.8x1.3x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024AR$44.2tAR$35.3tAR$784.5b27.3x56.4x1.3x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024AR$51.2tAR$14.0tAR$1.8t43.4x28.9x3.7x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024AR$47.2tAR$13.9tAR$1.7t34.5x27.7x3.4x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023AR$40.3tAR$14.9tAR$1.8t29.1x22.7x2.7x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023AR$27.8tAR$12.5tAR$855.0b23.5x32.5x2.2x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023AR$24.7tAR$12.5tAR$844.9b21.6x29.2x2x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023AR$28.5tAR$11.8tAR$724.6b26.9x39.4x2.4x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023AR$19.4tAR$10.5tAR$550.6b20.7x35.3x1.9x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023AR$18.1tAR$10.4tAR$530.0b21.7x34.1x1.7x
Wed, 24 May 2023AR$14.8tAR$10.3tAR$525.0b18.1x28.1x1.4x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023AR$12.3tAR$9.8tAR$430.6b14.9x28.6x1.3x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023AR$9.5tAR$9.4tAR$387.7b14.1x24.5x1x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023AR$11.4tAR$6.8tAR$394.7b17.3x28.8x1.7x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023AR$10.0tAR$6.8tAR$430.1b15.5x23.4x1.5x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022AR$7.8tAR$6.9tAR$436.0b14x17.9x1.1x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022AR$6.8tAR$6.2tAR$658.8b10.9x10.4x1.1x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022AR$6.6tAR$6.2tAR$616.7b11.5x10.6x1.1x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022AR$6.3tAR$6.1tAR$556.6b11.6x11.3x1x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022AR$5.7tAR$5.6tAR$320.6b12.9x17.7x1x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022AR$4.1tAR$5.5tAR$314.0b10.5x13x0.7x
Thu, 26 May 2022AR$4.5tAR$5.5tAR$316.0b12x14.2x0.8x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022AR$5.6tAR$5.3tAR$256.9b13.7x21.7x1x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022AR$4.4tAR$5.2tAR$224.6b15.3x19.8x0.9x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022AR$5.5tAR$4.1tAR$86.2b16.9x63.4x1.3x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022AR$5.1tAR$4.1tAR$88.4b17.2x58x1.3x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021AR$4.2tAR$4.1tAR$89.4b15.2x46.7x1x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021AR$4.4tAR$3.7tAR$43.4b14.9x102.2x1.2x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021AR$4.6tAR$3.9tAR$79.8b14.8x57.4x1.2x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021AR$3.6tAR$3.8tAR$116.5b11x31x0.9x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021AR$3.2tAR$3.8tAR$116.5b9.1x27.3x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

26.5x


Total Market Cap: AR$3.1tTotal Earnings: AR$116.5bTotal Revenue: AR$3.8tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Argentinian Market Price to Earnings3Y Average 31.8x202220232024
Current Market PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Argentinean market, indicating that they anticipate earnings will not grow as fast as they have historically.
  • The market is trading at a PE ratio of 28.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 31.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for Argentinean listed companies have grown 172% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 112% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Sector Trends

Which sectors have driven the changes within the Argentinian Market?

AR Market-0.29%
Energy1.82%
Real Estate1.50%
Industrials0.47%
Telecom-0.053%
Financials-0.91%
Utilities-1.05%
Consumer Discretionary-1.22%
Consumer Staples-1.60%
Materials-2.36%
Tech-2.63%
Healthcare-3.18%
Sector PE
  • Investors favour the Materials sector the most for future growth, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 19.6x.
    • It looks like investors are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Energy sector, expecting annual earnings growth of 40% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 6.4% per year.
  • In contrast, the Telecom sector is expected to see its earnings decline by 78% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuationSector
YPFD YPF Sociedad AnónimaAR$27.42k3.1%
+AR$328.1b
258.7%PS1.3xEnergy
CTIO ConsultatioAR$2.02k2.8%
+AR$22.7b
293.0%PE23.3xReal Estate
TRAN Compañía de Transporte de Energía Eléctrica en Alta Tensión TransenerAR$1.73k3.0%
+AR$22.2b
405.7%PE3384.4xUtilities
CELU Celulosa ArgentinaAR$12.4018.4%
+AR$19.5b
364.2%PE23.7xMaterials
GGAL Grupo Financiero GaliciaAR$4.35k0.3%
+AR$18.4b
402.0%PB1.9xFinancials
See more
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Market Insights

Over the past few weeks we had a look at the healthcare sector which has underperformed over the last two years. Another underperforming group of stocks...

Latest News

GGAL

AR$4,346.55

Grupo Financiero Galicia

7D

0.3%

1Y

402.0%

CELU

AR$12.40

Celulosa Argentina

7D

18.4%

1Y

364.2%

BBAR

AR$4,304.65

Banco BBVA Argentina

7D

-2.6%

1Y

325.9%

MOLA

AR$19,796.00

Molinos Agro

7D

-4.2%

1Y

228.3%

FERR

AR$13.40

Ferrum de Cerámica y Metalurgia

7D

8.5%

1Y

227.2%

BPAT

AR$2,624.50

Banco Patagonia

7D

-8.3%

1Y

830.7%

PAMP

AR$2,371.05

Pampa Energía

7D

-1.7%

1Y

171.9%

CTIO

AR$2,020.00

Consultatio

7D

2.8%

1Y

293.0%

YPFD

AR$27,416.15

YPF Sociedad Anónima

7D

3.1%

1Y

258.7%

LEDE

AR$1,256.00

Ledesma Sociedad Anónima Agrícola Industrial

7D

3.0%

1Y

309.1%

BYMA

AR$325.50

Bolsas y Mercados Argentinos

7D

-3.8%

1Y

337.5%

MOLI

AR$3,571.50

Molinos Rio de la Plata

7D

-4.0%

1Y

448.6%

TXAR

AR$874.50

Ternium Argentina

7D

-3.5%

1Y

122.2%

MORI

AR$369.50

Morixe HermanosC.I

7D

11.5%

1Y

833.1%

ALUA

AR$867.50

Aluar Aluminio ArgentinoI.C

7D

-2.5%

1Y

134.8%