Header cover image

Argentinian (MERVAL) Utilities Sector Analysis

UpdatedMay 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D2.9%
  • 3M27.9%
  • 1Y278.3%
  • YTD27.8%

The Utilities industry is up 1.9% in the last week, with Pampa Energía up 3.9%. Meanwhile, Empresa Distribuidora y Comercializadora Norte Sociedad Anónima actually underperformed within the industry, shrinking 5.6% in the last week. This means that the industry has gained 271% over the past year. In the next few years earnings are forecast to be pretty stable.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Argentinian Utilities Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 28 May 2024AR$8.6tAR$3.5tAR$744.9b10.8x11.5x2.4x
Thu, 25 Apr 2024AR$7.4tAR$2.4tAR$283.8b21.5x26x3.1x
Sat, 23 Mar 2024AR$7.7tAR$2.4tAR$330.9b23.8x23.2x3.2x
Mon, 19 Feb 2024AR$7.5tAR$1.5tAR$342.0b13.8x22x4.9x
Wed, 17 Jan 2024AR$8.8tAR$1.5tAR$342.0b18.3x25.6x5.7x
Fri, 15 Dec 2023AR$7.4tAR$1.5tAR$351.7b11.7x21x4.9x
Sun, 12 Nov 2023AR$4.0tAR$1.4tAR$314.9b40.3x12.7x2.8x
Tue, 10 Oct 2023AR$4.1tAR$1.2tAR$206.9b48x19.6x3.5x
Thu, 07 Sep 2023AR$3.9tAR$1.2tAR$179.7b33.8x21.7x3.2x
Sat, 05 Aug 2023AR$2.9tAR$1.0tAR$121.9b28x24x2.8x
Mon, 03 Jul 2023AR$2.8tAR$1.0tAR$121.9b30x23.2x2.7x
Wed, 31 May 2023AR$2.3tAR$1.0tAR$121.7b26.9x19.1x2.2x
Fri, 28 Apr 2023AR$2.0tAR$1.0tAR$123.4b21.5x15.9x1.9x
Sun, 26 Mar 2023AR$1.4tAR$959.5bAR$115.5b14.6x12.4x1.5x
Tue, 21 Feb 2023AR$1.6tAR$594.6bAR$79.4b22x20.8x2.8x
Thu, 19 Jan 2023AR$1.5tAR$594.6bAR$79.4b20.4x19.2x2.6x
Sat, 17 Dec 2022AR$1.2tAR$611.0bAR$80.2b14.5x14.6x1.9x
Mon, 14 Nov 2022AR$991.4bAR$607.1bAR$77.1b8.7x12.9x1.6x
Wed, 12 Oct 2022AR$1.0tAR$610.9bAR$69.2b8.6x14.8x1.7x
Fri, 09 Sep 2022AR$1.0tAR$619.3bAR$62.1b11.5x16.7x1.7x
Sun, 07 Aug 2022AR$925.7bAR$558.4bAR$23.2b18.5x40x1.7x
Tue, 05 Jul 2022AR$655.4bAR$534.1bAR$18.4b11.1x35.7x1.2x
Thu, 02 Jun 2022AR$641.9bAR$537.3bAR$16.8b12.9x38.1x1.2x
Sat, 30 Apr 2022AR$606.0bAR$529.3bAR$8.7b12.3x70x1.1x
Mon, 28 Mar 2022AR$595.1bAR$516.6b-AR$11,730,361,706.0011.4x-50.7x1.2x
Wed, 23 Feb 2022AR$591.7bAR$407.2b-AR$15,079,317,460.009.7x-39.2x1.5x
Fri, 21 Jan 2022AR$507.9bAR$407.2b-AR$15,079,317,460.007.1x-33.7x1.2x
Sun, 19 Dec 2021AR$489.3bAR$401.9b-AR$17,031,275,460.0018.6x-28.7x1.2x
Tue, 16 Nov 2021AR$545.5bAR$436.1b-AR$8,120,874,146.0027.7x-67.2x1.3x
Thu, 14 Oct 2021AR$489.7bAR$419.2b-AR$12,227,008,146.0026.9x-40.1x1.2x
Sat, 11 Sep 2021AR$395.2bAR$423.0b-AR$13,557,372,086.0020.6x-29.2x0.9x
Mon, 09 Aug 2021AR$337.2bAR$423.0b-AR$13,557,372,086.0016x-24.9x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-45.3x


Total Market Cap: AR$287.9bTotal Earnings: -AR$6,357,803,741.00Total Revenue: AR$410.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Argentinian Utilities Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 5.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Argentinean Utilities industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 11.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 5.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.2x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Utilities industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 105% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Argentinian Utilities sector?

AR Market2.46%
Utilities2.88%
Renewable Energy3.91%
Gas Utilities3.13%
Electric Utilities2.35%
Other Utilities0%
Water Utilities0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Renewable Energy industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Electric Utilities industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 19.9x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Electric Utilities industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 0.2% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 58% per year.
  • In contrast, the Electric Utilities industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CGPA2 Camuzzi Gas PampeanaAR$2.07k17.1%
+AR$100.8b
451.5%PS4.5x
PAMP Pampa EnergíaAR$2.32k2.1%
+AR$64.9b
217.4%PE8.3x
TRAN Compañía de Transporte de Energía Eléctrica en Alta Tensión TransenerAR$1.67k4.7%
+AR$33.6b
465.8%PE3271.5x
DGCU2 Distribuidora de Gas CuyanaAR$1.20k2.1%
+AR$5.0b
321.0%PE54.7x
CECO2 Central CostaneraAR$400.001.1%
+AR$3.2b
156.4%PS6.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

PAMP

AR$2,319.35

Pampa Energía

7D

2.1%

1Y

217.4%

GBAN

AR$1,176.50

Naturgy BAN

7D

0.09%

1Y

285.7%

CECO2

AR$400.00

Central Costanera

7D

1.1%

1Y

156.4%

CGPA2

AR$2,073.50

Camuzzi Gas Pampeana

7D

17.1%

1Y

451.5%

CEPU

AR$1,223.60

Central Puerto

7D

0.04%

1Y

268.3%

DGCU2

AR$1,195.50

Distribuidora de Gas Cuyana

7D

2.1%

1Y

321.0%

METR

AR$1,078.00

MetroGAS

7D

-0.09%

1Y

505.6%