Header cover image

Argentinian (MERVAL) Energy Sector Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D-1.9%
  • 3M14.5%
  • 1Y340.0%
  • YTD25.8%

Over the last 7 days, the Energy industry has dropped 1.9%, driven by a pullback from Transportadora de Gas del Sur of 6.3%. In the past year, the industry has gained 340%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 53% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Argentinian Energy Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024AR$13.8tAR$16.0t-AR$1,132,604,114,000.0064.5x-12.2x0.9x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024AR$10.6tAR$15.4t-AR$1,018,023,219,000.0076.8x-10.4x0.7x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024AR$13.4tAR$4.4tAR$191.4b93.1x69.8x3x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024AR$11.6tAR$4.4tAR$191.4b65.2x60.8x2.6x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023AR$9.6tAR$4.5tAR$209.7b41.7x45.5x2.1x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023AR$6.0tAR$3.7tAR$355.5b22.8x16.8x1.6x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023AR$6.9tAR$3.7tAR$355.5b22.3x19.3x1.8x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023AR$7.2tAR$3.8tAR$369.2b25.1x19.6x1.9x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023AR$5.2tAR$3.3tAR$380.8b16.4x13.7x1.6x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023AR$4.8tAR$3.3tAR$361.1b46.2x13.3x1.5x
Sat, 20 May 2023AR$3.7tAR$3.3tAR$370.0b28.9x9.9x1.1x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023AR$3.1tAR$2.9tAR$324.1b16.9x9.5x1.1x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023AR$2.4tAR$2.7tAR$313.1b22.3x7.7x0.9x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023AR$2.7tAR$2.2tAR$260.5b23.9x10.3x1.2x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023AR$2.3tAR$2.2tAR$260.5b23.2x8.7x1x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022AR$1.9tAR$2.3tAR$266.6b15x7x0.8x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022AR$1.6tAR$1.9tAR$199.0b12.9x8.1x0.9x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022AR$1.2tAR$1.8tAR$190.5b11.3x6.4x0.7x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022AR$1.1tAR$1.9tAR$190.0b13.7x5.7x0.6x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022AR$767.4bAR$1.6tAR$42.6b14.7x18x0.5x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022AR$557.8bAR$1.6tAR$42.6b10.6x13.1x0.4x
Sun, 22 May 2022AR$621.6bAR$1.6tAR$43.8b12.4x14.2x0.4x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022AR$666.1bAR$1.4tAR$13.0b24.5x51.4x0.5x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022AR$579.5bAR$1.4tAR$15.3b12.7x37.8x0.4x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022AR$560.7bAR$1.2tAR$20.6b18x27.2x0.5x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022AR$527.8bAR$1.2tAR$20.6b16.7x25.6x0.4x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021AR$567.1bAR$1.2tAR$20.6b18x27.5x0.5x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021AR$592.4bAR$1.0t-AR$38,682,929,000.0033.4x-15.3x0.6x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021AR$561.3bAR$1.0t-AR$38,682,929,000.0028.5x-14.5x0.6x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021AR$553.9bAR$1.0t-AR$38,682,929,000.0028x-14.3x0.5x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021AR$465.5bAR$1.0t-AR$38,682,929,000.0022.6x-12x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-5.1x


Total Market Cap: AR$360.5bTotal Earnings: -AR$71,217,820,000.00Total Revenue: AR$830.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Argentinian Energy Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 17.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Argentinean Energy industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.0x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.86x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Energy industry have deteriorated over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 168% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has caused losses to expand.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Argentinian Energy sector?

AR Market1.07%
Energy-1.92%
Energy Services0%
Oil and Gas-1.92%
Industry PE
    Forecasted Growth
    • Analysts are most optimistic on the Oil and Gas industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 53% over the next 5 years.
    • This is better than its past earnings decline of 77% per year.
    • In contrast, the Oil and Gas industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 53% per year over the next few years.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    YPFD YPF Sociedad AnónimaAR$22.19k0.4%
    +AR$33.8b
    341.9%PS0.6x
    COME Sociedad Comercial del PlataAR$114.858.0%
    +AR$26.5b
    346.0%PS1.4x
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

    Latest News

    CAPXD

    AR$4,769.50

    Capex

    7D

    -6.7%

    1Y

    537.2%

    TGNO4

    AR$2,249.50

    Transportadora de Gas del Norte

    7D

    -8.5%

    1Y

    387.4%

    COME

    AR$114.85

    Sociedad Comercial del Plata

    7D

    8.0%

    1Y

    346.0%

    YPFD

    AR$22,193.10

    YPF Sociedad Anónima

    7D

    0.4%

    1Y

    341.9%

    TGSU2

    AR$3,495.90

    Transportadora de Gas del Sur

    7D

    -6.3%

    1Y

    281.1%