Header cover image

Brazilian (BOVESPA) Market Analysis & Valuation

UpdatedJul 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies349
  • 7D-0.7%
  • 3M0.4%
  • 1Y0.3%
  • YTD-5.8%

The market has been flat in the last week, however the Information Technology sector is down 4.5%. Similarly, the market is flat for the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 14% per annum.

Trending IndustriesOil and GasRenewable Energy

Market Valuation and Performance

Has the Brazilian Market valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024R$4.4tR$4.3tR$446.2b9.9x10x1x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024R$4.2tR$4.3tR$446.3b9.5x9.4x1x
Thu, 16 May 2024R$4.5tR$4.4tR$443.9b10.4x10.1x1x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024R$4.5tR$4.3tR$460.4b10.4x9.8x1x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024R$4.6tR$4.3tR$448.6b10.3x10.1x1.1x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024R$4.6tR$4.3tR$467.6b10.2x9.9x1.1x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024R$4.7tR$4.3tR$467.4b11.5x10.1x1.1x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023R$4.5tR$4.4tR$468.0b11.2x9.7x1x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023R$4.1tR$4.5tR$488.2b10.2x8.3x0.9x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023R$4.2tR$4.5tR$504.4b10.6x8.3x0.9x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023R$4.3tR$4.5tR$504.4b11x8.6x1x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023R$4.5tR$4.6tR$553.3b11.9x8.1x1x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023R$4.5tR$4.6tR$554.3b11.8x8.1x1x
Fri, 19 May 2023R$4.1tR$4.6tR$563.5b10.3x7.3x0.9x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023R$4.0tR$4.6tR$595.3b10.1x6.8x0.9x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023R$4.0tR$4.6tR$615.8b9.6x6.4x0.9x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023R$4.2tR$4.5tR$625.7b9.8x6.7x0.9x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023R$4.1tR$4.5tR$628.9b9.4x6.6x0.9x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022R$4.4tR$4.6tR$628.7b9.4x6.9x1x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022R$4.7tR$4.4tR$640.0b9.8x7.3x1.1x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022R$4.3tR$4.4tR$635.3b9.2x6.8x1x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022R$4.5tR$4.4tR$638.7b9.6x7.1x1x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022R$4.2tR$4.2tR$681.9b8.1x6.1x1x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022R$4.1tR$4.2tR$683.7b8.3x6x1x
Sat, 21 May 2022R$4.5tR$4.2tR$678.1b8.9x6.6x1.1x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022R$4.9tR$4.0tR$626.9b10.1x7.8x1.2x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022R$4.7tR$3.9tR$617.1b9.5x7.6x1.2x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022R$4.8tR$3.8tR$611.7b9.7x7.9x1.3x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022R$4.5tR$3.8tR$615.2b9.7x7.2x1.2x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021R$4.7tR$3.8tR$617.2b10.4x7.5x1.2x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021R$4.8tR$3.6tR$586.6b11.8x8.2x1.3x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021R$5.1tR$3.5tR$535.7b12.5x9.4x1.4x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021R$5.4tR$3.5tR$529.5b13.4x10.2x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.4x


Total Market Cap: R$5.5tTotal Earnings: R$528.1bTotal Revenue: R$3.5tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Brazilian Market Price to Earnings3Y Average 8.1x202220232024
Current Market PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Brazilian market, and appear confident in strong long term growth rates.
  • The market is trading at a PE ratio of 10.0x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 8.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for Brazilian listed companies have declined 5.5% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 7.4% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Sector Trends

Which sectors have driven the changes within the Brazilian Market?

BR Market-0.65%
Energy1.11%
Financials0.45%
Industrials-0.25%
Telecom-0.95%
Real Estate-1.02%
Materials-1.45%
Consumer Staples-1.63%
Consumer Discretionary-2.11%
Utilities-2.15%
Healthcare-3.37%
Tech-4.48%
Sector PE
  • Investors favour the Consumer Discretionary sector the most for future growth, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 33.1x.
    • The market's confidence is likely because analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 27.9%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 6.8% per year.
  • The Energy sector is the least preferred by investors for future growth. Although, investor sentiment seems to have improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 3.8x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Consumer Discretionary sector, expecting annual earnings growth of 28% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 6.8% per year.
  • In contrast, the Materials sector is expected to see its earnings grow by 2.7% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuationSector
WEGE3 WEGR$47.293.1%
+R$5.9b
21.6%PE34.5xIndustrials
SUZB3 SuzanoR$53.602.5%
+R$1.7b
21.7%PE7.6xMaterials
BBAS3 Banco do BrasilR$27.111.0%
+R$1.6b
11.7%PB0.9xFinancials
ABEV3 AmbevR$11.730.8%
+R$1.4b
-23.3%PE12.7xConsumer Staples
SBSP3 Companhia de Saneamento Básico do Estado de São Paulo - SABESPR$84.902.1%
+R$1.2b
53.7%PE16.1xUtilities
See more
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Market Insights

This week we are continuing our series on semiconductor chips, AKA integrated circuits (ICs). We previously covered logic and memory ICs, and today we turn to their analog cousins...

Latest News

EMBR3

R$41.52

Embraer

7D

3.2%

1Y

135.8%

SUZB3

R$53.60

Suzano

7D

2.5%

1Y

21.7%

BPAC11

R$31.75

Banco BTG Pactual

7D

-2.4%

1Y

-6.8%

RDOR3

R$28.10

Rede D'Or São Luiz

7D

-2.9%

1Y

-18.6%

UGPA3

R$23.22

Ultrapar Participações

7D

2.3%

1Y

21.6%

SBSP3

R$84.90

Companhia de Saneamento Básico do Estado de São Paulo - SABESP

7D

2.1%

1Y

53.7%