Header cover image

Brazilian (BOVESPA) Financials Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies42
  • 7D-1.0%
  • 3M3.6%
  • 1Y33.6%
  • YTD-1.1%

The Financials is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Porto Seguro has stood out, gaining 11%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 34% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 14% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Brazilian Financials Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024R$1.3tR$500.3bR$138.6b10.3x9.5x2.6x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024R$1.3tR$508.3bR$139.8b10.4x9.3x2.6x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023R$1.3tR$508.3bR$139.8b10x9.5x2.6x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023R$1.2tR$509.3bR$139.5b9.2x8.8x2.4x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023R$1.1tR$504.7bR$139.0b8.4x8x2.2x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023R$1.2tR$504.8bR$139.1b8.5x8.4x2.3x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023R$1.2tR$504.2bR$138.1b9.3x8.4x2.3x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023R$1.2tR$506.8bR$139.7b8.9x8.7x2.4x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023R$1.2tR$506.5bR$139.6b9.1x8.6x2.4x
Tue, 09 May 2023R$1.1tR$499.5bR$137.1b8.7x8x2.2x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023R$992.7bR$518.4bR$136.9b8.1x7.3x1.9x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023R$979.8bR$515.1bR$134.1b8.7x7.3x1.9x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023R$1.0tR$495.7bR$140.1b9.3x7.4x2.1x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022R$1.0tR$495.9bR$140.2b9.2x7.4x2.1x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022R$1.0tR$498.7bR$141.3b9.8x7.4x2.1x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022R$1.2tR$487.7bR$133.7b11.4x9.3x2.5x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022R$1.2tR$487.4bR$133.7b11.7x8.6x2.4x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022R$1.2tR$487.5bR$135.4b12x8.6x2.4x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022R$977.3bR$480.7bR$128.6b8x7.6x2x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022R$1.1tR$480.6bR$128.5b8.5x8.2x2.2x
Wed, 11 May 2022R$1.1tR$470.4bR$123.6b8.6x8.5x2.2x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022R$1.2tR$465.2bR$123.4b9.1x9.5x2.5x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022R$1.1tR$463.0bR$121.2b8.9x9x2.4x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022R$1.1tR$468.1bR$121.0b9x9.3x2.4x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021R$1.0tR$468.2bR$121.1b8.5x8.4x2.2x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021R$1.1tR$467.5bR$120.9b8.5x8.9x2.3x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021R$1.1tR$453.3bR$114.0b9.1x9.8x2.5x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021R$1.2tR$453.3bR$114.0b9.4x10.4x2.6x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021R$1.3tR$455.0bR$114.2b10.6x11.5x2.9x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021R$1.4tR$408.7bR$95.7b12.4x14.6x3.4x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021R$1.2tR$342.3bR$85.5b12.2x13.5x3.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.5x


Total Market Cap: R$1.2tTotal Earnings: R$85.5bTotal Revenue: R$342.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Brazilian Financials Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 9.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Brazilian Financials industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 9.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Financials industry have grown 17% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 13% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Brazilian Financials sector?

BR Market-0.15%
Financials-0.99%
Insurance2.78%
Diversified Financial2.10%
Mortgage Finance0%
Mortgage REITs0%
Banks-0.84%
Capital Markets-3.60%
Consumer Finance-4.73%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Consumer Finance industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 18.9x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Diversified Financial industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 5.6x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Banks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 15% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 4.6% per year.
  • In contrast, the Diversified Financial industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PSSA3 Porto SeguroR$28.567.2%
+R$1.2b
8.8%PE8.4x
B3SA3 B3 - Brasil Bolsa BalcãoR$12.831.4%
+R$1.0b
21.2%PE17.4x
CIEL3 CieloR$5.350.8%
+R$107.9m
11.9%PE6.9x
MOAR3 Monteiro AranhaR$397.001.8%
+R$85.8m
-11.8%PE5.5x
CRIV3 Financeira Alfa - Crédito Financiamento e InvestimentosR$6.709.3%
+R$58.5m
34.0%PE37x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

BBAS3

R$57.86

Banco do Brasil

7D

-0.4%

1Y

54.6%

PSSA3

R$28.56

Porto Seguro

7D

7.2%

1Y

8.8%

BEES3

R$9.49

Banestes - Banco do Estado do Espírito Santo

7D

-0.8%

1Y

51.8%

TRAD3

R$0.93

TC Traders Club

7D

10.7%

1Y

-29.0%

B3SA3

R$12.83

B3 - Brasil Bolsa Balcão

7D

1.4%

1Y

21.2%

CXSE3

R$14.37

Caixa Seguridade Participações

7D

-2.4%

1Y

71.3%

BNBR3

R$117.50

Banco do Nordeste do Brasil

7D

0.4%

1Y

48.7%

GPIV33

R$3.05

GP Investments

7D

13.4%

1Y

45.2%

MOAR3

R$397.00

Monteiro Aranha

7D

1.8%

1Y

-11.8%

IRBR3

R$38.82

IRB-Brasil Resseguros

7D

-6.0%

1Y

110.4%

BPAC11

R$36.39

Banco BTG Pactual

7D

-3.8%

1Y

89.8%

WIZC3

R$6.21

Wiz Co Participações e Corretagem de Seguros

7D

-2.4%

1Y

-5.3%

RPAD3

R$7.61

Alfa Holdings

7D

-8.8%

1Y

12.1%