Header cover image

Brazilian (BOVESPA) Specialty Stores Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies12
  • 7D3.5%
  • 3M4.4%
  • 1Y22.1%
  • YTD4.3%

In the last week, the Specialty Stores industry is up 3.5%, with Lojas Renner up 9.6%. This means that the industry has gained 17% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 19% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Brazilian Specialty Stores Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 29 Feb 2024R$56.6bR$230.9bR$842.7m16.1x67.2x0.2x
Sat, 27 Jan 2024R$52.9bR$230.9bR$842.7m17.8x62.8x0.2x
Mon, 25 Dec 2023R$70.7bR$230.9bR$842.7m18.2x83.9x0.3x
Wed, 22 Nov 2023R$50.1bR$230.7bR$829.3m15x60.4x0.2x
Fri, 20 Oct 2023R$42.2bR$239.4bR$317.6m17.8x132.7x0.2x
Sun, 17 Sep 2023R$47.5bR$239.4bR$317.6m18.2x149.5x0.2x
Tue, 15 Aug 2023R$49.0bR$249.4bR$867.5m18x56.4x0.2x
Thu, 13 Jul 2023R$52.9bR$249.6bR$1.6b16.9x33.3x0.2x
Sat, 10 Jun 2023R$56.4bR$249.6bR$1.6b18.2x35.5x0.2x
Mon, 08 May 2023R$43.8bR$248.8bR$1.9b14.1x23.2x0.2x
Wed, 05 Apr 2023R$42.0bR$248.6bR$2.5b11.7x16.5x0.2x
Fri, 03 Mar 2023R$44.6bR$237.5bR$3.6b13.7x12.2x0.2x
Sun, 29 Jan 2023R$51.7bR$237.4bR$3.6b17x14.4x0.2x
Tue, 27 Dec 2022R$50.6bR$237.4bR$3.6b16.4x14.1x0.2x
Thu, 24 Nov 2022R$55.8bR$237.4bR$3.6b17.5x15.6x0.2x
Sat, 22 Oct 2022R$66.2bR$221.8bR$4.3b14.8x15.5x0.3x
Mon, 19 Sep 2022R$64.6bR$221.8bR$4.3b14.7x15.2x0.3x
Wed, 17 Aug 2022R$69.6bR$203.7bR$4.0b14.8x17.6x0.3x
Fri, 15 Jul 2022R$35.6bR$190.2bR$3.0b8.4x11.8x0.2x
Sun, 12 Jun 2022R$38.7bR$190.2bR$3.0b10x12.8x0.2x
Tue, 10 May 2022R$41.2bR$177.5bR$3.3b10.7x12.6x0.2x
Thu, 07 Apr 2022R$51.7bR$176.8bR$3.3b12.5x15.6x0.3x
Sat, 05 Mar 2022R$49.1bR$162.1bR$5.4b20.5x9.1x0.3x
Mon, 31 Jan 2022R$52.6bR$162.1bR$5.4b25.7x9.7x0.3x
Wed, 29 Dec 2021R$50.8bR$162.1bR$5.4b25.6x9.4x0.3x
Fri, 26 Nov 2021R$55.3bR$162.1bR$5.4b28x10.2x0.3x
Sun, 24 Oct 2021R$56.1bR$146.4bR$5.8b26.2x9.6x0.4x
Tue, 21 Sep 2021R$67.1bR$146.4bR$5.8b35.3x11.5x0.5x
Thu, 19 Aug 2021R$76.3bR$146.4bR$5.8b41.7x13.1x0.5x
Thu, 03 Jun 2021R$78.9bR$127.3bR$5.1b34.2x15.4x0.6x
Sun, 07 Mar 2021R$64.1bR$120.7bR$4.8b32.6x13.4x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.4x


Total Market Cap: R$64.1bTotal Earnings: R$4.8bTotal Revenue: R$120.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Brazilian Specialty Stores Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 30.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Brazilian Specialty Retail industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 65.9x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 30.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.30x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Specialty Retail industry have declined 44% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 24% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Brazilian Consumer Discretionary industry?

BR Market-0.15%
Consumer Discretionary2.78%
Specialty Stores3.54%
Apparel Retail6.14%
Home Furnishing Retail5.97%
Home Improvement Retail2.72%
Automotive Retail2.26%
Specialty Stores0.81%
Computer and Electronics Retail0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Apparel Retail industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 24.9x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 23.6%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 3.2% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Home Improvement Retail industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 71% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Automotive Retail industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 11% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LREN3 Lojas RennerR$15.706.5%
+R$917.4m
-12.3%PE16.1x
VBBR3 Vibra EnergiaR$26.092.3%
+R$646.6m
81.8%PE14.3x
CEAB3 C&A ModasR$8.9911.3%
+R$278.1m
363.4%PE59.1x
PETZ3 Pet Center Comércio e ParticipaçõesR$4.088.2%
+R$139.8m
-35.9%PE57.4x
BHIA3 Grupo Casas BahiaR$8.914.2%
+R$34.0m
-80.6%PS0.03x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.