Header cover image

Brazilian (BOVESPA) Renewable Energy Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D0.7%
  • 3M2.1%
  • 1Y-1.3%
  • YTD-4.5%

Over the last 7 days, the Renewable Energy industry has remained flat, although notably Auren Energia gained 3.4%. In line with that, the industry has also been flat over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 35% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Brazilian Renewable Energy Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 26 May 2024R$82.9bR$33.7bR$4.3b16x19.3x2.5x
Tue, 23 Apr 2024R$77.5bR$34.3bR$3.7b41.3x21.1x2.3x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024R$79.9bR$34.3bR$4.3b32.7x18.6x2.3x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024R$80.3bR$33.8bR$4.3b31.8x18.7x2.4x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024R$84.7bR$33.6bR$6.6b23.1x12.8x2.5x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023R$83.8bR$33.6bR$6.6b23.2x12.6x2.5x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023R$80.0bR$32.9bR$7.0b28.5x11.5x2.4x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023R$78.8bR$32.7bR$7.8b19x10.1x2.4x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023R$82.9bR$32.7bR$7.8b20.1x10.6x2.5x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023R$88.3bR$31.6bR$7.2b39.8x12.2x2.8x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023R$88.2bR$31.6bR$7.2b38.7x12.2x2.8x
Mon, 29 May 2023R$83.6bR$31.6bR$7.2b37.8x11.6x2.6x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023R$80.9bR$29.6bR$6.7b21.9x12.1x2.7x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023R$75.2bR$28.9bR$6.8b13.6x11x2.6x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023R$79.3bR$27.2bR$7.4b9.8x10.7x2.9x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023R$79.8bR$26.1bR$4.2b17.7x19.2x3.1x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022R$75.8bR$26.1bR$4.2b16.8x18.2x2.9x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022R$81.4bR$25.0bR$4.0b17.5x20.2x3.3x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022R$79.4bR$25.2bR$4.2b16.2x19x3.2x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022R$85.1bR$25.2bR$4.2b15.8x20.4x3.4x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022R$88.0bR$24.0bR$4.0b17x22.1x3.7x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022R$80.0bR$24.0bR$4.0b14.8x20.1x3.3x
Tue, 31 May 2022R$81.6bR$24.0bR$4.0b14.9x20.4x3.4x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022R$103.9bR$25.2bR$6.0b14.7x17.3x4.1x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022R$83.8bR$25.7bR$5.9b16.1x14.2x3.3x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022R$76.9bR$24.7bR$5.0b12.6x15.5x3.1x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022R$75.4bR$25.7bR$5.9b11.6x12.7x2.9x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021R$71.0bR$24.1bR$6.1b12.6x11.7x3x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021R$75.8bR$23.7bR$6.1b12.9x12.5x3.2x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021R$74.3bR$22.3bR$5.2b13.1x14.2x3.3x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021R$76.9bR$22.3bR$5.2b13.5x14.7x3.5x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021R$77.5bR$22.3bR$5.2b13x14.8x3.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

14x


Total Market Cap: R$82.3bTotal Earnings: R$5.9bTotal Revenue: R$21.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Brazilian Renewable Energy Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 15.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Brazilian Renewable Energy industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 19.3x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 15.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.0x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Renewable Energy industry have declined 10% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 17% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Brazilian Utilities industry?

BR Market-2.76%
Utilities-0.98%
Renewable Energy0.68%
Renewable Energy0.80%
Independent Power Producers and Energy Traders0.31%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Renewable Energy industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 14.2x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 17.9%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 99.0% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Independent Power Producers and Energy Traders industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 85% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Renewable Energy industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 18% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
AURE3 Auren EnergiaR$12.153.4%
+R$400.0m
-14.0%PS2x
EGIE3 Engie Brasil EnergiaR$43.780.5%
+R$163.2m
2.7%PE8.4x
AESB3 AES Brasil EnergiaR$11.181.2%
+R$78.3m
-9.7%PE487.6x
ENEV3 EnevaR$12.790.3%
+R$63.3m
9.4%PS2.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SRNA3

R$9.12

Serena Energia

7D

-3.1%

1Y

-6.2%

AURE3

R$12.15

Auren Energia

7D

3.4%

1Y

-14.0%

RNEW11

R$2.96

Renova Energia

7D

-6.3%

1Y

-34.7%

ENEV3

R$12.79

Eneva

7D

0.3%

1Y

9.4%

AESB3

R$11.18

AES Brasil Energia

7D

1.2%

1Y

-9.7%