Header cover image

Brazilian (BOVESPA) Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedDec 04, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies8
  • 7D0.07%
  • 3M-0.06%
  • 1Y9.0%
  • YTD8.1%

Last week, the Insurance industry hasn't moved much but IRB-Brasil Resseguros is up 12% in that time. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 9.0% over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 9.6% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Brazilian Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 05 Dec 2023R$129.3bR$80.0bR$13.5b17x9.6x1.6x
Thu, 02 Nov 2023R$123.8bR$79.0bR$12.3b9.7x10.1x1.6x
Sat, 30 Sep 2023R$128.1bR$79.0bR$12.3b9.9x10.4x1.6x
Mon, 28 Aug 2023R$123.9bR$77.2bR$12.3b9.4x10.1x1.6x
Wed, 26 Jul 2023R$126.2bR$77.5bR$10.8b14.5x11.7x1.6x
Fri, 23 Jun 2023R$123.3bR$77.5bR$10.8b13.6x11.4x1.6x
Sun, 21 May 2023R$119.7bR$77.7bR$10.8b11.3x11.1x1.5x
Tue, 18 Apr 2023R$126.8bR$75.0bR$9.8b13.6x12.9x1.7x
Thu, 16 Mar 2023R$118.9bR$70.5bR$9.8b14x12.1x1.7x
Sat, 11 Feb 2023R$126.3bR$72.9bR$9.1b13.6x13.9x1.7x
Mon, 09 Jan 2023R$118.6bR$72.2bR$8.5b12.7x13.9x1.6x
Wed, 07 Dec 2022R$115.0bR$72.2bR$8.5b12.5x13.5x1.6x
Fri, 04 Nov 2022R$114.2bR$68.5bR$7.7b16.6x14.8x1.7x
Sun, 02 Oct 2022R$104.4bR$68.5bR$7.7b15x13.6x1.5x
Tue, 30 Aug 2022R$112.4bR$68.5bR$7.7b15.9x14.6x1.6x
Thu, 28 Jul 2022R$104.4bR$65.0bR$7.4b13.9x14.1x1.6x
Sat, 25 Jun 2022R$96.3bR$65.0bR$7.4b11.9x13x1.5x
Mon, 23 May 2022R$102.3bR$65.2bR$7.4b12.3x13.8x1.6x
Wed, 20 Apr 2022R$108.4bR$63.3bR$7.2b13.2x15x1.7x
Fri, 18 Mar 2022R$102.2bR$63.2bR$7.2b12.2x14.2x1.6x
Sun, 13 Feb 2022R$103.2bR$59.5bR$6.9b11.6x14.9x1.7x
Tue, 11 Jan 2022R$90.0bR$58.3bR$6.5b10.3x13.9x1.5x
Thu, 09 Dec 2021R$101.4bR$58.3bR$6.5b10.9x15.7x1.7x
Sat, 06 Nov 2021R$108.0bR$57.2bR$7.0b12.2x15.5x1.9x
Mon, 04 Oct 2021R$101.6bR$57.2bR$7.0b10.9x14.6x1.8x
Wed, 01 Sep 2021R$107.5bR$57.2bR$7.0b10.3x15.4x1.9x
Thu, 08 Jul 2021R$134.4bR$57.2bR$7.0b12.3x19.3x2.3x
Wed, 31 Mar 2021R$87.1bR$55.7bR$5.2b10.4x16.6x1.6x
Sat, 02 Jan 2021R$104.3bR$54.7bR$5.1b9.3x20.6x1.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

20.6x


Total Market Cap: R$104.3bTotal Earnings: R$5.1bTotal Revenue: R$54.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Brazilian Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.5x20222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Brazilian Insurance industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 9.6x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Insurance industry have grown 25% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 15% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Brazilian Financials industry?

BR Market2.41%
Financials3.03%
Insurance0.068%
Reinsurance14.62%
Insurance Brokers4.45%
Life and Health Insurance0%
Property and Casualty Insurance0%
General Insurance-0.45%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Reinsurance industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 56.9% and investors are willing to pay a premium for that growth.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the General Insurance industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 12.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Reinsurance industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 57% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the General Insurance industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 7.8% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
IRBR3 IRB-Brasil RessegurosR$53.6312.4%
+R$482.8m
170.9%PE116.6x
PSSA3 Porto SeguroR$28.492.6%
+R$461.6m
22.7%PE8.4x
WIZC3 Wiz Co ParticipaƧƵes e Corretagem de SegurosR$6.257.9%
+R$73.6m
-23.5%PE10.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

IRBR3

R$53.63

IRB-Brasil Resseguros

7D

12.4%

1Y

170.9%

WIZC3

R$6.25

Wiz Co ParticipaƧƵes e Corretagem de Seguros

7D

7.9%

1Y

-23.5%

CXSE3

R$11.43

Caixa Seguridade ParticipaƧƵes

7D

-0.6%

1Y

40.8%

BBSE3

R$30.90

BB Seguridade ParticipaƧƵes

7D

-2.6%

1Y

-2.9%

PSSA3

R$28.49

Porto Seguro

7D

2.6%

1Y

22.7%