Header cover image

Brazilian (BOVESPA) Food Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies14
  • 7D0.03%
  • 3M23.5%
  • 1Y46.2%
  • YTD14.6%

In the last week, the Food industry is flat overall, with M. Dias Branco Indústria e Comércio de Alimentos standing out by going down 4.6%. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 46% in that time. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 42% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Brazilian Food Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 24 May 2024R$152.9bR$613.5bR$4.2b11.7x36.5x0.2x
Sun, 21 Apr 2024R$131.6bR$610.8b-R$561,519,000.0010.1x-234.4x0.2x
Tue, 19 Mar 2024R$135.6bR$614.1b-R$2,884,476,000.0010.3x-47x0.2x
Thu, 15 Feb 2024R$128.0bR$601.0b-R$4,079,340,000.009x-31.4x0.2x
Sat, 13 Jan 2024R$130.8bR$603.1b-R$3,852,937,000.0010.3x-33.9x0.2x
Mon, 11 Dec 2023R$131.4bR$602.7b-R$3,848,941,000.009.8x-34.2x0.2x
Wed, 08 Nov 2023R$123.2bR$610.0bR$4.0b9.4x31x0.2x
Fri, 06 Oct 2023R$112.1bR$609.8bR$4.0b9.7x27.9x0.2x
Sun, 03 Sep 2023R$112.4bR$609.6bR$3.8b10.7x29.5x0.2x
Tue, 01 Aug 2023R$112.1bR$615.1bR$14.2b9.2x7.9x0.2x
Thu, 29 Jun 2023R$99.1bR$614.9bR$14.4b7.9x6.9x0.2x
Sat, 27 May 2023R$98.0bR$614.6bR$14.4b7.7x6.8x0.2x
Mon, 24 Apr 2023R$90.5bR$607.0bR$21.6b7.7x4.2x0.1x
Wed, 22 Mar 2023R$96.4bR$610.9bR$25.7b9.5x3.8x0.2x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023R$101.6bR$595.4bR$29.0b10.1x3.5x0.2x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023R$105.1bR$595.1bR$29.3b6.7x3.6x0.2x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022R$105.0bR$594.8bR$29.2b6.7x3.6x0.2x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022R$126.6bR$572.8bR$33.8b7.8x3.7x0.2x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022R$125.3bR$571.5bR$34.1b6.6x3.7x0.2x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022R$141.5bR$571.5bR$34.1b7.2x4.2x0.2x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022R$144.1bR$547.6bR$32.2b7.6x4.5x0.3x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022R$137.7bR$547.5bR$32.2b8.1x4.3x0.3x
Sun, 29 May 2022R$157.6bR$547.1bR$32.1b9.6x4.9x0.3x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022R$163.7bR$521.8bR$30.0b10.3x5.5x0.3x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022R$164.4bR$521.5bR$30.0b11.1x5.5x0.3x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022R$162.5bR$490.9bR$28.1b9.5x5.8x0.3x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022R$168.7bR$490.1bR$27.6b12.2x6.1x0.3x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021R$164.0bR$489.8bR$27.6b12.5x5.9x0.3x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021R$182.8bR$463.4bR$23.5b13x7.8x0.4x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021R$181.9bR$455.8bR$22.5b11.9x8.1x0.4x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021R$162.7bR$455.4bR$22.5b11.4x7.2x0.4x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021R$159.5bR$455.4bR$22.5b11x7.1x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

7.3x


Total Market Cap: R$153.2bTotal Earnings: R$21.0bTotal Revenue: R$428.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Brazilian Food Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -4.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Brazilian Food industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 36.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -4.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.25x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food industry have declined 42% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 13% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Brazilian Consumer Staples industry?

BR Market-2.36%
Consumer Staples-2.47%
Food0.028%
Packaged Foods and Meats0.17%
Agricultural Products-1.02%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Packaged Foods and Meats industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 2.3x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 45.0%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 23.5% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Agricultural Products industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 9.3x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Packaged Foods and Meats industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 45% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 23% per year.
  • In contrast, the Agricultural Products industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 19% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
JBSS3 JBSR$29.481.0%
+R$643.3m
79.8%PE32.1x
MRFG3 Marfrig Global FoodsR$11.873.0%
+R$325.2m
84.9%PS0.08x
SMTO3 São MartinhoR$27.341.1%
+R$107.4m
-24.3%PE9.5x
SLCE3 SLC AgrícolaR$18.420.05%
+R$4.4m
5.0%PE14x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News