Header cover image

Zimbabwean (ZSE) Market Analysis & Valuation

UpdatedJul 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies4
  • 7D9.2%
  • 3Mn/a
  • 1Yn/a
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the market has risen 9.2%, driven by gains of 8.7% in the Consumer Staples sector.

Market Valuation and Performance

Has the Zimbabwean Market valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024Z$20.3bZ$1.0tZ$80.2b0.5x0.3x0.02x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024Z$12.6bZ$1.0tZ$80.2b0.4x0.2x0.01x
Thu, 16 May 2024Z$10.1bZ$2.3tZ$382.6b0.03x0.03x0.004x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024Z$24.7tZ$1.9tZ$382.6b64.9x64.6x13.1x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024Z$12.8tZ$1.9tZ$383.0b31.5x33.3x6.8x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024Z$13.7tZ$1.4tZ$336.2b78.7x40.8x9.9x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024Z$6.9tZ$1.5tZ$348.2b30.9x19.9x4.5x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023Z$5.5tZ$1.5tZ$348.2b30.9x15.7x3.6x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023Z$1.0tZ$305.6bZ$13.4b42x76.8x3.4x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023Z$911.6bZ$305.6bZ$13.4b31.2x68x3x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023Z$863.6bZ$305.0bZ$13.0b27x66.5x2.8x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023Z$812.1bZ$305.0bZ$13.0b24.8x62.6x2.7x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023Z$892.4bZ$288.8bZ$10.8b23.4x82.6x3.1x
Fri, 19 May 2023Z$742.5bZ$235.2bZ$17.9b76.2x41.4x3.2x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023Z$399.0bZ$226.8bZ$17.6b30.9x22.6x1.8x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023Z$446.9bZ$226.8bZ$17.6b30.9x25.4x2x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023Z$425.8bZ$226.8bZ$17.6b30.5x24.2x1.9x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023Z$384.5bZ$185.8bZ$15.3b25.6x25.1x2.1x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022Z$303.3bZ$186.2bZ$13.2b19.5x22.9x1.6x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022Z$327.5bZ$186.2bZ$13.2b21.2x24.7x1.8x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022Z$294.1bZ$85.8bZ$5.3b30.2x55.7x3.4x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022Z$258.1bZ$85.2bZ$5.7b33.8x45.2x3x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022Z$329.5bZ$85.2bZ$5.7b44.5x57.7x3.9x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022Z$493.4bZ$74.7bZ$6.2b71x79.2x6.6x
Sat, 21 May 2022Z$483.5bZ$71.7bZ$6.6b82.1x73.6x6.7x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022Z$592.5bZ$71.4bZ$6.5b56.9x91.6x8.3x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022Z$324.1bZ$63.5bZ$5.0b46.9x64.7x5.1x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022Z$321.4bZ$57.9bZ$427.1m97.5x752.5x5.6x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022Z$215.0bZ$57.9bZ$427.1m53.1x503.3x3.7x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021Z$191.7bZ$56.2b-Z$1,312,207,602.0041.4x-146.1x3.4x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021Z$225.0bZ$79.8b-Z$963,996,087.0051.4x-233.4x2.8x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021Z$97.5bZ$53.1b-Z$1,857,272,244.0043.3x-52.5x1.8x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021Z$88.8bZ$81.4bZ$1.7b28.7x51.1x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

55.2x


Total Market Cap: Z$95.9bTotal Earnings: Z$1.7bTotal Revenue: Z$81.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Zimbabwean Market Price to Earnings3Y Average 55.6x202220232024
Current Market PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Zimbabwean market, indicating that they anticipate earnings will not grow as fast as they have historically.
  • The market is trading at a PE ratio of 0.25x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 55.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for Zimbabwean listed companies have grown 259% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 132% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Sector Trends

Which sectors have driven the changes within the Zimbabwean Market?

ZW Market9.16%
Industrials28.64%
Financials19.03%
Consumer Staples8.75%
Energy0%
Real Estate0%
Materials0%
Consumer Discretionary0%
Healthcare0%
Tech0%
Telecom0%
Utilities0%
Sector PE
  • Investors favour the Industrials sector the most for future growth even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 143x.
    • It looks like investors are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data in this market to determine future earnings growth rates.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuationSector
DLTA DeltaZ$13.998.7%
+Z$1.4b
-99.2%PE0.5xConsumer Staples
EHZL EcoCash Holdings ZimbabweZ$0.5219.0%
+Z$217.3m
-99.6%PS0.007xFinancials
PROL ProplasticsZ$0.9028.6%
+Z$52.0m
-99.8%PE1.4xIndustrials
See more
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Market Insights

This week we are continuing our series on semiconductor chips, AKA integrated circuits (ICs). We previously covered logic and memory ICs, and today we turn to their analog cousins...

Latest News

DLTA

Z$13.99

Delta

7D

8.7%

1Y

-99.2%

EHZL

Z$0.52

EcoCash Holdings Zimbabwe

7D

19.0%

1Y

-99.6%

PROL

Z$0.90

Proplastics

7D

28.6%

1Y

-99.8%