Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Market Analysis & Valuation

UpdatedMay 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies1273
  • 7D-1.2%
  • 3M8.0%
  • 1Y7.0%
  • YTD6.4%

Over the last 7 days, the market has dropped 1.2%, driven by a decline of 13% in the Utilities sector. In the last year, the market is actually up 7.0%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Market Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Market valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 26 May 2024UK£2.5tUK£2.0tUK£128.9b17.2x19.3x1.2x
Tue, 23 Apr 2024UK£2.4tUK£2.1tUK£149.1b15.6x16x1.1x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024UK£2.4tUK£2.1tUK£146.1b16x16.1x1.1x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024UK£2.3tUK£2.0tUK£144.5b15.2x15.9x1.1x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024UK£2.3tUK£2.1tUK£193.4b14.9x12x1.1x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023UK£2.3tUK£2.1tUK£194.2b14.6x11.7x1.1x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023UK£2.2tUK£2.2tUK£195.0b13.9x11.5x1x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023UK£2.3tUK£2.2tUK£186.3b13.9x12.3x1.1x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023UK£2.3tUK£2.1tUK£184.5b14.5x12.5x1.1x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023UK£2.4tUK£2.1tUK£189.2b14.6x12.4x1.1x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023UK£2.3tUK£2.2tUK£208.2b14.2x11.3x1.1x
Mon, 29 May 2023UK£2.4tUK£2.2tUK£213.9b14x11.2x1.1x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023UK£2.5tUK£2.2tUK£178.9b14.2x13.8x1.1x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023UK£2.3tUK£2.2tUK£184.7b13.8x12.6x1.1x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023UK£2.6tUK£2.2tUK£197.2b13.8x13.1x1.2x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023UK£2.5tUK£2.1tUK£184.9b13.7x13.7x1.2x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022UK£2.4tUK£2.1tUK£184.7b13.5x13.1x1.2x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022UK£2.4tUK£2.3tUK£211.8b13.1x11.3x1x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022UK£2.3tUK£2.4tUK£209.0b11.9x11.2x1x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022UK£2.4tUK£2.3tUK£207.1b13.2x11.8x1.1x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022UK£2.5tUK£2.2tUK£196.4b14.2x12.9x1.1x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022UK£2.4tUK£2.3tUK£196.1b13.9x12.5x1.1x
Tue, 31 May 2022UK£2.6tUK£2.2tUK£188.6b15.4x13.9x1.2x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022UK£2.5tUK£2.1tUK£194.2b16.3x13.1x1.2x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022UK£2.6tUK£2.0tUK£193.0b16.3x13.5x1.3x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022UK£2.7tUK£1.9tUK£171.6b17.8x15.7x1.4x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022UK£2.8tUK£1.9tUK£163.1b19.1x16.9x1.5x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021UK£2.7tUK£1.9tUK£164.6b18.9x16.6x1.4x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021UK£2.8tUK£1.9tUK£159.4b21.1x17.6x1.5x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021UK£2.7tUK£1.8tUK£143.7b21.6x19x1.5x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021UK£2.7tUK£1.8tUK£139.1b23.7x19.7x1.5x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021UK£2.7tUK£1.8tUK£138.8b24.6x19.8x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

29.1x


Total Market Cap: UK£2.7tTotal Earnings: UK£91.1bTotal Revenue: UK£1.7tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Market Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.6x202220232024
Current Market PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the British market, and appear confident in strong long term growth rates.
  • The market is trading at a PE ratio of 19.3x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 14.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for British listed companies have grown 12% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 6.0% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Sector Trends

Which sectors have driven the changes within the U.K. Market?

GB Market-1.16%
Tech1.87%
Healthcare0.77%
Industrials0.56%
Financials-0.37%
Consumer Discretionary-1.03%
Energy-1.28%
Consumer Staples-1.47%
Telecom-1.78%
Real Estate-1.80%
Materials-2.34%
Utilities-13.27%
Sector PE
  • Investors favour the Consumer Staples sector the most for future growth, which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 23.9x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 13.2%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 23.7% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Real Estate sector, expecting annual earnings growth of 43% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 37% per year.
  • In contrast, the Energy sector is expected to see its earnings grow by 6.0% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuationSector
ENPL En+ Group InternationalUS$9.30n/a
US$4.7b
-8.8%PE2.2xMaterials
AZN AstraZenecaUK£122.961.5%
+UK£2.9b
4.3%PE38.4xHealthcare
RR. Rolls-Royce HoldingsUK£4.456.4%
+UK£2.2b
198.4%PE15.4xIndustrials
REL RELXUK£35.201.8%
+UK£1.1b
41.5%PE36.9xIndustrials
EVR EVRAZUK£0.81n/a
UK£1.2b
-86.2%PE0.4xMaterials
See more
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Market Insights

The vision for a hydrogen economy sees H2, the most abundant element in the universe, as the primary means of storing and transporting energy...

Latest News

RIO

UK£56.55

Rio Tinto Group

7D

-2.2%

1Y

14.8%

ENPL

US$9.30

En+ Group International

7D

n/a

1Y

-8.8%

HL.

UK£10.90

Hargreaves Lansdown

7D

21.3%

1Y

36.2%

BP.

UK£4.83

BP

7D

-1.7%

1Y

1.3%

KSPI

US$120.60

Kaspi.kz

7D

5.4%

1Y

59.9%

SHEL

UK£27.72

Shell

7D

-1.2%

1Y

17.8%

AZN

UK£122.96

AstraZeneca

7D

1.5%

1Y

4.3%

DGE

UK£26.93

Diageo

7D

-3.8%

1Y

-23.0%

BA.

UK£13.86

BAE Systems

7D

1.8%

1Y

45.8%

PRU

UK£7.66

Prudential

7D

-6.5%

1Y

-31.9%

EVR

UK£0.81

EVRAZ

7D

n/a

1Y

-86.2%