Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Aerospace and Defense Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies11
  • 7D-1.2%
  • 3M10.7%
  • 1Y29.3%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Aerospace and Defense industry has dropped 1.2%, driven by Rolls-Royce Holdings declining 3.9%. On the other hand Avon Protection is actually up 6.2%. In the past year, the industry has gained 29%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 19% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Aerospace and Defense Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024UK£55.2bUK£34.7bUK£2.1b22x26.7x1.6x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024UK£52.9bUK£34.6bUK£2.1b21.4x25.5x1.5x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024UK£50.7bUK£38.5bUK£2.1b19.6x23.9x1.3x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024UK£57.4bUK£41.0bUK£2.2b25.2x26.2x1.4x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023UK£53.9bUK£40.9bUK£2.2b32.1x24.6x1.3x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023UK£54.4bUK£40.7bUK£2.2b28.8x24.9x1.3x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023UK£51.9bUK£40.7bUK£2.2b26.2x23.8x1.3x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023UK£51.6bUK£40.4bUK£2.0b24.2x26.1x1.3x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023UK£49.9bUK£39.1bUK£1.6b23.2x30.8x1.3x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023UK£50.6bUK£38.7bUK£1.8b19.8x28x1.3x
Sat, 20 May 2023UK£51.2bUK£38.6bUK£1.8b18.4x27.9x1.3x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023UK£45.3bUK£31.0bUK£2.1b17.4x21.9x1.5x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023UK£42.9bUK£31.0bUK£2.1b18x20.8x1.4x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023UK£40.1bUK£29.6bUK£1.8b18.3x21.8x1.4x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023UK£40.7bUK£29.6bUK£1.8b19.2x22.1x1.4x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022UK£39.3bUK£29.5bUK£1.8b18.3x21.4x1.3x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022UK£39.5bUK£29.4bUK£1.7b19x22.8x1.3x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022UK£38.4bUK£29.4bUK£1.7b21x22.1x1.3x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022UK£39.8bUK£29.4bUK£1.7b22.5x22.9x1.4x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022UK£39.5bUK£29.1bUK£1.2b24.1x33.7x1.4x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022UK£37.8bUK£29.1bUK£1.2b21.1x32.2x1.3x
Sun, 22 May 2022UK£37.8bUK£29.0bUK£1.2b23.3x32.1x1.3x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022UK£38.1bUK£29.0bUK£1.2b24.5x32.8x1.3x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022UK£35.8bUK£29.0bUK£1.2b22.5x30x1.2x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022UK£31.9bUK£28.8bUK£1.2b20.8x27.1x1.1x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022UK£31.0bUK£28.8bUK£1.2b20.5x26.4x1.1x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021UK£30.7bUK£28.7bUK£311.2m26.7x98.6x1.1x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021UK£31.7bUK£28.7bUK£361.3m27.4x87.7x1.1x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021UK£32.3bUK£28.7bUK£361.3m26.7x89.5x1.1x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021UK£33.4bUK£28.7bUK£360.6m27.4x92.6x1.2x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021UK£28.0bUK£28.7bUK£354.0m24.6x79.2x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-208.1x


Total Market Cap: UK£27.2bTotal Earnings: -UK£130,935,285.06Total Revenue: UK£28.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Aerospace and Defense Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 22.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the British Aerospace and Defense industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 26.7x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 22.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.3x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Aerospace and Defense industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 6.4% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.K. Aerospace and Defense compare with similar industries?

GB Market1.15%
Industrials-0.33%
Aerospace & Defense-1.23%
Aerospace and Defense-1.23%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
AVON Avon ProtectionUK£11.606.2%
+UK£20.4m
22.2%PS1.8x
CHRT CohortUK£7.403.1%
+UK£8.9m
66.3%PE22.6x
CHG Chemring GroupUK£3.590.6%
+UK£5.1m
23.4%PE25.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

BA.

UK£13.19

BAE Systems

7D

-0.6%

1Y

29.8%

RR.

UK£4.05

Rolls-Royce Holdings

7D

-3.9%

1Y

170.3%

CHRT

UK£7.40

Cohort

7D

3.1%

1Y

66.3%

CHG

UK£3.59

Chemring Group

7D

0.6%

1Y

23.4%

MRO

UK£6.44

Melrose Industries

7D

-4.5%

1Y

28.6%

QQ.

UK£3.52

QinetiQ Group

7D

-1.6%

1Y

0.1%

AVON

UK£11.60

Avon Protection

7D

6.2%

1Y

22.2%

VEL

UK£0.29

Velocity Composites

7D

-6.5%

1Y

-13.4%

MSI

UK£8.30

MS INTERNATIONAL

7D

-0.6%

1Y

43.1%