Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Casinos and Gaming Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D-6.5%
  • 3M-16.6%
  • 1Y-20.9%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Casinos and Gaming industry has dropped 6.8%, driven by Flutter Entertainment declining 6.6%. Meanwhile, Sportech actually outperformed within the industry, gaining 23% in the last week. Overall the industry is down 21% in 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 67% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Casinos and Gaming Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 17 Jun 2024UK£30.6bUK£16.7b-UK£1,803,140,370.7415.6x-17x1.8x
Wed, 15 May 2024UK£35.2bUK£16.4b-UK£1,734,437,225.2516.3x-20.3x2.1x
Fri, 12 Apr 2024UK£34.3bUK£16.4b-UK£1,737,330,840.2515.6x-19.7x2.1x
Sun, 10 Mar 2024UK£36.5bUK£16.1b-UK£932,884,468.8815.4x-39.1x2.3x
Tue, 06 Feb 2024UK£37.5bUK£16.0b-UK£552,512,299.4215x-67.9x2.4x
Thu, 04 Jan 2024UK£32.3bUK£16.0b-UK£660,547,551.008.3x-48.8x2x
Sat, 02 Dec 2023UK£29.1bUK£16.0b-UK£656,487,967.008x-44.3x1.8x
Mon, 30 Oct 2023UK£29.9bUK£16.0b-UK£656,483,247.008.2x-45.6x1.9x
Wed, 27 Sep 2023UK£32.0bUK£16.0b-UK£655,974,259.008.6x-48.8x2x
Fri, 25 Aug 2023UK£34.2bUK£15.9b-UK£599,612,609.009.6x-57x2.1x
Sun, 23 Jul 2023UK£37.7bUK£14.2b-UK£345,956,611.0031.3x-108.9x2.6x
Tue, 20 Jun 2023UK£37.9bUK£14.2b-UK£345,947,104.0032.3x-109.5x2.7x
Thu, 18 May 2023UK£39.9bUK£14.2b-UK£345,196,127.0033.7x-115.5x2.8x
Sat, 15 Apr 2023UK£36.4bUK£15.0b-UK£309,240,661.0013.1x-117.7x2.4x
Mon, 13 Mar 2023UK£35.1bUK£15.0b-UK£33,515,999.0011.6x-1047.9x2.3x
Wed, 08 Feb 2023UK£34.2bUK£13.5bUK£5.4m11.5x6350.4x2.5x
Fri, 06 Jan 2023UK£31.4bUK£13.5bUK£185.6m9.5x169.4x2.3x
Sun, 04 Dec 2022UK£32.1bUK£13.4bUK£174.5m10.5x184.2x2.4x
Tue, 01 Nov 2022UK£30.2bUK£13.5bUK£179.0m10.8x168.8x2.2x
Thu, 29 Sep 2022UK£27.0bUK£13.6bUK£194.8m11.3x138.5x2x
Sat, 27 Aug 2022UK£28.6bUK£13.2bUK£453.7m15.3x63x2.2x
Mon, 25 Jul 2022UK£24.3bUK£12.4bUK£527.4m12.9x46x2x
Wed, 22 Jun 2022UK£25.7bUK£12.4bUK£532.6m14.2x48.3x2.1x
Fri, 20 May 2022UK£26.6bUK£12.3bUK£527.5m15.1x50.5x2.2x
Sun, 17 Apr 2022UK£27.9bUK£12.3bUK£511.8m18.4x54.5x2.3x
Tue, 15 Mar 2022UK£27.7bUK£12.2bUK£236.4m19.9x117.4x2.3x
Thu, 10 Feb 2022UK£33.0bUK£12.0bUK£438.1m22.7x75.3x2.8x
Sat, 08 Jan 2022UK£33.6bUK£11.8bUK£307.3m42.4x109.4x2.8x
Mon, 06 Dec 2021UK£13.9bUK£5.9bUK£383.1m42.4x36.2x2.3x
Wed, 03 Nov 2021UK£18.6bUK£6.7bUK£439.6m36.3x42.3x2.8x
Fri, 01 Oct 2021UK£18.7bUK£6.7bUK£442.3m35.7x42.2x2.8x
Sun, 29 Aug 2021UK£17.1bUK£6.7bUK£74.8m34.9x228.9x2.5x
Mon, 05 Jul 2021UK£16.1bUK£6.7bUK£74.8m36.3x215.2x2.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

215.2x


Total Market Cap: UK£16.1bTotal Earnings: UK£74.8mTotal Revenue: UK£6.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Casinos and Gaming Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 247.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Casinos and Gaming industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Casinos and Gaming industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 35% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.K. Casinos and Gaming compare with similar industries?

GB Market-1.35%
Consumer Discretionary-3.02%
Hospitality-3.21%
Casinos and Gaming-6.45%
Restaurants-1.00%
Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines-3.29%
Leisure Facilities-4.30%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SPO SportechUK£0.8422.6%
+UK£1.5m
-49.1%PS0.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ENT

UK£6.56

Entain

7D

-6.8%

1Y

-47.0%

FLTR

UK£138.35

Flutter Entertainment

7D

-6.5%

1Y

-13.3%

SPO

UK£0.84

Sportech

7D

22.6%

1Y

-49.1%

PTEC

UK£4.53

Playtech

7D

-4.7%

1Y

-24.3%

EVOK

UK£0.81

Evoke

7D

-5.3%

1Y

-32.1%

VLRM

UK£0.041

Valereum

7D

-13.7%

1Y

-18.0%