Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Beverage Industry Analysis

UpdatedDec 06, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies17
  • 7D1.2%
  • 3M-10.1%
  • 1Y-22.5%
  • YTD-18.2%

The Beverage industry is up 1.2% in the last week, with Diageo up 1.4%. In the past year, the industry is down 23%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 6.1% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Beverage Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 06 Dec 2023UKĀ£76.2bUKĀ£30.0bUKĀ£4.5b22.9x17x2.5x
Fri, 03 Nov 2023UKĀ£84.3bUKĀ£30.1bUKĀ£4.5b23.4x18.7x2.8x
Sun, 01 Oct 2023UKĀ£82.0bUKĀ£30.1bUKĀ£4.5b18.3x18.1x2.7x
Tue, 29 Aug 2023UKĀ£87.2bUKĀ£30.0bUKĀ£4.5b17.6x19.2x2.9x
Thu, 27 Jul 2023UKĀ£90.7bUKĀ£29.0bUKĀ£4.2b21.3x21.7x3.1x
Sat, 24 Jun 2023UKĀ£88.3bUKĀ£29.1bUKĀ£4.2b20.7x21.1x3x
Mon, 22 May 2023UKĀ£95.0bUKĀ£29.2bUKĀ£4.2b24.1x22.6x3.3x
Wed, 19 Apr 2023UKĀ£96.5bUKĀ£29.2bUKĀ£4.2b23.2x23x3.3x
Fri, 17 Mar 2023UKĀ£92.9bUKĀ£29.1bUKĀ£4.2b21.9x22.1x3.2x
Sun, 12 Feb 2023UKĀ£91.2bUKĀ£28.3bUKĀ£4.2b17.6x21.5x3.2x
Tue, 10 Jan 2023UKĀ£94.9bUKĀ£26.8bUKĀ£3.9b17.6x24.3x3.5x
Thu, 08 Dec 2022UKĀ£99.5bUKĀ£26.6bUKĀ£3.9b18.1x25.5x3.7x
Sat, 05 Nov 2022UKĀ£95.8bUKĀ£26.6bUKĀ£3.9b17x24.7x3.6x
Mon, 03 Oct 2022UKĀ£98.1bUKĀ£26.4bUKĀ£3.9b21.8x25.4x3.7x
Wed, 31 Aug 2022UKĀ£98.7bUKĀ£26.1bUKĀ£3.8b22.6x25.8x3.8x
Fri, 29 Jul 2022UKĀ£98.7bUKĀ£23.5bUKĀ£3.7b25.5x26.8x4.2x
Sun, 26 Jun 2022UKĀ£96.0bUKĀ£23.7bUKĀ£3.7b25.7x26x4.1x
Tue, 24 May 2022UKĀ£96.3bUKĀ£23.6bUKĀ£3.7b26.2x26.1x4.1x
Thu, 21 Apr 2022UKĀ£101.6bUKĀ£23.0bUKĀ£3.6b29.3x28.3x4.4x
Sat, 19 Mar 2022UKĀ£99.9bUKĀ£23.2bUKĀ£3.6b27.5x27.7x4.3x
Mon, 14 Feb 2022UKĀ£103.4bUKĀ£22.7bUKĀ£3.6b28.3x28.5x4.6x
Wed, 12 Jan 2022UKĀ£107.0bUKĀ£21.6bUKĀ£3.2b33.2x33.1x5x
Fri, 10 Dec 2021UKĀ£117.1bUKĀ£21.7bUKĀ£3.2b37.3x36.1x5.4x
Sun, 07 Nov 2021UKĀ£105.4bUKĀ£21.7bUKĀ£3.2b32.9x32.6x4.9x
Tue, 05 Oct 2021UKĀ£98.8bUKĀ£21.4bUKĀ£3.2b30.7x30.9x4.6x
Thu, 02 Sep 2021UKĀ£100.9bUKĀ£21.4bUKĀ£3.2b32.6x31.8x4.7x
Sat, 31 Jul 2021UKĀ£101.8bUKĀ£21.4bUKĀ£3.2b31.3x32.1x4.8x
Tue, 04 May 2021UKĀ£93.3bUKĀ£20.5bUKĀ£2.4b39.5x39.6x4.6x
Fri, 05 Feb 2021UKĀ£84.2bUKĀ£20.2bUKĀ£1.6b28.5x53.7x4.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

53.4x


Total Market Cap: UKĀ£83.7bTotal Earnings: UKĀ£1.6bTotal Revenue: UKĀ£20.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Beverage Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 31.5x20222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Beverage industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 17.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 31.5x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 4.3x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Beverage industry have grown 42% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 14% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Consumer Staples industry?

GB Market0.36%
Consumer Staples-0.07%
Beverage1.20%
Distillers and Wine Makers1.34%
Soft Drinks0.48%
Brewers0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Brewers industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 8.8x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 15.1%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 44.2% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Soft Drinks industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 23.6x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Brewers industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 15% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 44% per year.
  • In contrast, the Distillers and Wine Makers industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 4.6% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
DGE DiageoUKĀ£28.131.4%
+UKĀ£827.5m
-26.5%PE16.8x
CCH Coca-Cola HBCUKĀ£22.261.0%
+UKĀ£68.7m
10.8%PE14.7x
NICL NicholsUKĀ£10.605.0%
+UKĀ£18.2m
-1.9%PE32.2x
CDGP Chapel Down GroupUKĀ£0.543.9%
+UKĀ£3.2m
46.6%PE72.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

BVIC

UKĀ£8.36

Britvic

7D

-0.7%

1Y

2.5%

FEVR

UKĀ£10.42

Fevertree Drinks

7D

-1.2%

1Y

-6.2%

NICL

UKĀ£10.60

Nichols

7D

5.0%

1Y

-1.9%

CCH

UKĀ£22.26

Coca-Cola HBC

7D

1.0%

1Y

10.8%

CDGP

UKĀ£0.54

Chapel Down Group

7D

3.9%

1Y

46.6%

EISB

UKĀ£0.021

East Imperial

7D

-2.3%

1Y

-33.8%

BAG

UKĀ£4.88

A.G. BARR

7D

-1.1%

1Y

-7.1%

DGE

UKĀ£28.13

Diageo

7D

1.4%

1Y

-26.5%

ART

UKĀ£0.61

Artisanal Spirits

7D

-3.2%

1Y

-17.6%