Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Food Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedSep 24, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D-1.0%
  • 3M14.4%
  • 1Y38.1%
  • YTD23.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Food Retail industry has dropped 1.0%, driven by a pullback from Ocado Group of 9.5%. In contrast, Marks and Spencer Group has gained 7.8%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 38%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 17% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Food Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 24 Sep 2023UKĀ£39.3bUKĀ£141.8bUKĀ£1.4b14.2x28.5x0.3x
Tue, 22 Aug 2023UKĀ£38.1bUKĀ£141.1bUKĀ£1.4b14.2x26.9x0.3x
Thu, 20 Jul 2023UKĀ£34.8bUKĀ£141.7bUKĀ£1.4b14.2x24.4x0.2x
Sat, 17 Jun 2023UKĀ£35.2bUKĀ£144.3bUKĀ£1.5b10.8x23.5x0.2x
Mon, 15 May 2023UKĀ£37.1bUKĀ£146.3bUKĀ£1.5b10.5x24.7x0.3x
Wed, 12 Apr 2023UKĀ£36.7bUKĀ£140.1bUKĀ£2.0b11.1x18.8x0.3x
Fri, 10 Mar 2023UKĀ£32.6bUKĀ£141.2bUKĀ£2.1b10.4x15.7x0.2x
Sun, 05 Feb 2023UKĀ£36.2bUKĀ£143.7bUKĀ£2.2b10.6x16.2x0.3x
Tue, 03 Jan 2023UKĀ£31.1bUKĀ£142.5bUKĀ£2.2b9x14.1x0.2x
Thu, 01 Dec 2022UKĀ£30.9bUKĀ£150.6bUKĀ£2.3b8.9x13.2x0.2x
Sat, 29 Oct 2022UKĀ£27.6bUKĀ£147.3bUKĀ£2.4b6.7x11.5x0.2x
Mon, 26 Sep 2022UKĀ£29.0bUKĀ£148.0bUKĀ£3.0b7.7x9.6x0.2x
Wed, 24 Aug 2022UKĀ£35.6bUKĀ£146.2bUKĀ£3.0b10.1x12x0.2x
Fri, 22 Jul 2022UKĀ£35.3bUKĀ£146.2bUKĀ£2.9b10.7x12x0.2x
Sun, 19 Jun 2022UKĀ£32.9bUKĀ£146.4bUKĀ£2.9b8.8x11.2x0.2x
Tue, 17 May 2022UKĀ£36.7bUKĀ£141.2bUKĀ£2.6b14.2x14.2x0.3x
Thu, 14 Apr 2022UKĀ£37.6bUKĀ£130.5bUKĀ£1.8b17.4x21.4x0.3x
Sat, 12 Mar 2022UKĀ£36.0bUKĀ£109.5bUKĀ£1.5b16.9x24.2x0.3x
Mon, 07 Feb 2022UKĀ£46.0bUKĀ£121.6bUKĀ£1.8b18.6x26x0.4x
Wed, 05 Jan 2022UKĀ£48.3bUKĀ£121.9bUKĀ£1.8b21x27.2x0.4x
Fri, 03 Dec 2021UKĀ£49.2bUKĀ£122.5bUKĀ£1.8b20.5x27.6x0.4x
Sun, 31 Oct 2021UKĀ£58.0bUKĀ£140.7bUKĀ£1.2b20.1x48.4x0.4x
Tue, 28 Sep 2021UKĀ£56.2bUKĀ£137.6bUKĀ£689.1m25.5x81.5x0.4x
Thu, 26 Aug 2021UKĀ£59.0bUKĀ£136.0bUKĀ£755.2m27.1x78.1x0.4x
Fri, 02 Jul 2021UKĀ£54.3bUKĀ£136.0bUKĀ£755.2m26.8x71.9x0.4x
Mon, 05 Apr 2021UKĀ£51.9bUKĀ£134.1bUKĀ£811.2m25.9x64x0.4x
Thu, 07 Jan 2021UKĀ£59.0bUKĀ£134.0bUKĀ£1.1b26x55.8x0.4x
Wed, 30 Sep 2020UKĀ£59.7bUKĀ£138.4bUKĀ£1.5b21x40.1x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

40.1x


Total Market Cap: UKĀ£59.7bTotal Earnings: UKĀ£1.5bTotal Revenue: UKĀ£138.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Food Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 34.7x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Food Retail industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 28.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 34.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.32x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food Retail industry have declined 2.5% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.K. Food Retail compare with similar industries?

GB Market-0.35%
Consumer Staples0.14%
Food and Staples Retail-0.99%
Food Retail-1.03%
Food Distributors0.69%
Drug Retail0%
Big Box Super Stores-0.12%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
MKS Marks and Spencer GroupUKĀ£2.377.8%
+UKĀ£339.2m
122.3%PE12.9x
TSCO TescoUKĀ£2.710.07%
+UKĀ£8.9m
23.0%PE25.4x
CBOX Cake Box HoldingsUKĀ£1.551.6%
+UKĀ£1.0m
15.2%PE14.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

WINE

UKĀ£0.58

Naked Wines

7D

-15.7%

1Y

-31.5%

TSCO

UKĀ£2.71

Tesco

7D

0.07%

1Y

23.0%

OCDO

UKĀ£6.91

Ocado Group

7D

-9.5%

1Y

24.9%

MKS

UKĀ£2.37

Marks and Spencer Group

7D

7.8%

1Y

122.3%

VINO

UKĀ£0.47

Virgin Wines UK

7D

-11.4%

1Y

-6.1%

CBOX

UKĀ£1.55

Cake Box Holdings

7D

1.6%

1Y

15.2%