Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Energy Services Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D0.6%
  • 3M11.0%
  • 1Y-12.5%
  • YTD-6.1%

The Energy Services is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Gulf Marine Services has stood out, gaining 10%. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 13% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 78% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Energy Services Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024UK£1.7bUK£5.5b-UK£592,672,881.0525.3x-2.9x0.3x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024UK£1.9bUK£5.8b-UK£663,236,379.0026.4x-2.9x0.3x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023UK£1.9bUK£5.8b-UK£663,619,407.0024.1x-2.8x0.3x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023UK£1.6bUK£5.9b-UK£677,857,967.0020.9x-2.4x0.3x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023UK£1.7bUK£6.1b-UK£694,117,452.0022.9x-2.4x0.3x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023UK£1.8bUK£6.0b-UK£676,042,552.0021.9x-2.7x0.3x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023UK£1.7bUK£5.4b-UK£626,068,945.004.3x-2.7x0.3x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023UK£1.9bUK£7.2b-UK£844,248,555.003.6x-2.3x0.3x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023UK£1.8bUK£7.5b-UK£879,816,828.002.6x-2.1x0.2x
Tue, 09 May 2023UK£2.4bUK£7.5b-UK£725,367,704.002.4x-3.3x0.3x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023UK£2.4bUK£7.6b-UK£720,387,218.001.4x-3.3x0.3x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023UK£2.4bUK£8.7b-UK£233,678,407.001.4x-10.2x0.3x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023UK£2.1bUK£8.3b-UK£272,960,604.001.3x-7.8x0.3x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022UK£2.0bUK£8.5b-UK£278,125,556.001.3x-7.3x0.2x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022UK£2.2bUK£8.5b-UK£273,682,962.001.6x-8.2x0.3x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022UK£2.1bUK£9.4b-UK£237,201,853.002.3x-9x0.2x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022UK£2.4bUK£9.2b-UK£239,673,915.003x-10.2x0.3x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022UK£2.4bUK£8.7b-UK£277,776,094.003x-8.7x0.3x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022UK£2.2bUK£9.1b-UK£340,463,184.002.5x-6.4x0.2x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022UK£3.2bUK£8.8b-UK£326,502,134.002.9x-9.9x0.4x
Wed, 11 May 2022UK£3.2bUK£8.8b-UK£429,915,544.003.1x-7.4x0.4x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022UK£2.6bUK£8.4b-UK£472,718,331.003.8x-5.6x0.3x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022UK£2.5bUK£8.7b-UK£492,997,942.007.8x-5x0.3x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022UK£3.0bUK£8.5b-UK£464,262,558.008.2x-6.5x0.4x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021UK£2.7bUK£8.5b-UK£476,537,291.007.2x-5.6x0.3x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021UK£2.7bUK£8.6b-UK£481,891,572.006.9x-5.6x0.3x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021UK£2.9bUK£8.7b-UK£459,142,219.007.5x-6.2x0.3x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021UK£2.5bUK£8.7b-UK£484,060,620.006.8x-5.2x0.3x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021UK£2.6bUK£8.9b-UK£509,043,245.347.2x-5.2x0.3x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021UK£3.1bUK£9.3b-UK£576,261,941.017.8x-5.3x0.3x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021UK£3.4bUK£9.7b-UK£647,415,194.116.1x-5.3x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-5.3x


Total Market Cap: UK£3.4bTotal Earnings: -UK£647,415,194.11Total Revenue: UK£9.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Energy Services Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the British Energy Services industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.31x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Energy Services industry have improved over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 17% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since the cost of doing business is lower, losses have been shrinking.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Energy industry?

GB Market-0.72%
Energy-1.81%
Energy Services0.59%
Oil and Gas Services0.59%
Oil and Gas Drilling0%
Industry PE
    Forecasted Growth
    • Analysts are most optimistic on the Oil and Gas Services industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 78% over the next 5 years.
    • This is better than its past earnings decline of 51% per year.
    • In contrast, the Oil and Gas Services industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 78% per year over the next few years.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    HTG HuntingUK£3.358.3%
    +UK£40.7m
    9.5%PE44x
    GMS Gulf Marine ServicesUK£0.175.7%
    +UK£9.1m
    258.2%PE10.5x
    VLS VelocysUK£0.002710.8%
    +UK£437.7k
    -93.5%PS17.7x
    PRES Pressure TechnologiesUK£0.341.5%
    +UK£193.3k
    -11.5%PS0.4x
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

    Latest News

    WG.

    UK£1.47

    John Wood Group

    7D

    -1.9%

    1Y

    -23.8%

    NTQ

    UK£0.095

    Enteq Technologies

    7D

    -5.0%

    1Y

    -24.0%

    GTC

    UK£0.083

    Getech Group

    7D

    -8.3%

    1Y

    -43.1%

    PRES

    UK£0.34

    Pressure Technologies

    7D

    1.5%

    1Y

    -11.5%

    VLS

    UK£0.0027

    Velocys

    7D

    10.8%

    1Y

    -93.5%

    TGP

    UK£0.11

    Tekmar Group

    7D

    -2.3%

    1Y

    -12.2%

    PFC

    UK£0.26

    Petrofac

    7D

    -7.8%

    1Y

    -66.8%