Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Media Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies32
  • 7D-2.0%
  • 3M6.3%
  • 1Y-10.8%
  • YTD2.2%

Over the last 7 days, the Media industry has dropped 2.0%, driven by WPP declining 6.8%. The industry has fallen 11% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 25% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Media Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 27 Feb 2024UK£29.7bUK£28.8bUK£804.8m31.9x37x1x
Thu, 25 Jan 2024UK£31.7bUK£29.6bUK£1.2b19.8x26.7x1.1x
Sat, 23 Dec 2023UK£31.8bUK£29.6bUK£1.2b18x26.8x1.1x
Mon, 20 Nov 2023UK£30.4bUK£29.0bUK£1.2b17.5x25.7x1x
Wed, 18 Oct 2023UK£29.8bUK£29.0bUK£1.2b18.5x25.1x1x
Fri, 15 Sep 2023UK£31.3bUK£28.8bUK£1.1b25.1x28.6x1.1x
Sun, 13 Aug 2023UK£31.5bUK£28.8bUK£1.1b24.5x28.6x1.1x
Tue, 11 Jul 2023UK£31.3bUK£27.8bUK£1.2b32.8x26.9x1.1x
Thu, 08 Jun 2023UK£33.0bUK£27.8bUK£1.2b43.9x28.3x1.2x
Sat, 06 May 2023UK£33.2bUK£27.8bUK£1.2b35.1x27.7x1.2x
Mon, 03 Apr 2023UK£34.3bUK£27.7bUK£1.2b25.2x29.8x1.2x
Wed, 01 Mar 2023UK£36.0bUK£27.2bUK£1.4b16.3x26.1x1.3x
Fri, 27 Jan 2023UK£34.9bUK£26.1bUK£1.3b15.5x26.1x1.3x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022UK£38.2bUK£29.8bUK£1.6b15.3x24x1.3x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022UK£39.2bUK£29.7bUK£1.5b20.6x25.8x1.3x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022UK£35.8bUK£29.7bUK£1.5b18x23.3x1.2x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022UK£36.6bUK£29.4bUK£1.6b20x23x1.2x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022UK£38.8bUK£29.1bUK£1.6b20.9x24.4x1.3x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022UK£36.5bUK£27.5bUK£1.2b19.9x31.2x1.3x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022UK£38.2bUK£27.4bUK£1.2b24.6x32.7x1.4x
Sun, 08 May 2022UK£40.9bUK£27.2bUK£1.2b26.7x34.5x1.5x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022UK£44.0bUK£26.8bUK£1.1b30.5x40.8x1.6x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022UK£44.9bUK£26.8bUK£598.2m31.5x75.1x1.7x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022UK£46.9bUK£26.6bUK£502.5m26.9x93.4x1.8x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021UK£48.4bUK£26.6bUK£509.5m26.4x95x1.8x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021UK£50.5bUK£26.4bUK£404.6m40.3x124.8x1.9x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021UK£50.2bUK£26.7bUK£357.6m31.4x140.3x1.9x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021UK£51.9bUK£26.6bUK£343.0m23.6x151.5x2x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021UK£52.3bUK£26.5bUK£347.0m24.4x150.8x2x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021UK£49.5bUK£25.9b-UK£1,787,379,445.8334.7x-27.7x1.9x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021UK£44.0bUK£25.4b-UK£4,011,693,127.4942.4x-11x1.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-11x


Total Market Cap: UK£44.0bTotal Earnings: -UK£4,011,693,127.49Total Revenue: UK£25.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Media Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 47.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Media industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 37.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 47.1x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.6x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Media industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 4.2% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Telecom industry?

GB Market-0.24%
Telecom-0.44%
Media-1.98%
Cable and Satellite0%
Publishing-0.24%
Broadcasting-0.58%
Advertising-2.21%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Advertising industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 31.2x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 27.3%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 80.8% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Broadcasting industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 9.6x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Advertising industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 27% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 81% per year.
  • In contrast, the Publishing industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 2.8% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
INF InformaUK£8.260.8%
+UK£74.5m
22.7%PE31.9x
BMY Bloomsbury PublishingUK£5.635.0%
+UK£22.2m
33.3%PE21.8x
SFOR S4 CapitalUK£0.412.4%
+UK£5.1m
-80.2%PS0.2x
PEBB Pebble GroupUK£0.575.6%
+UK£5.0m
-47.5%PE12.2x
QRT Quarto GroupUK£1.407.7%
+UK£4.1m
16.7%PE5.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

WPP

UK£7.27

WPP

7D

-7.2%

1Y

-30.1%

CAU

UK£0.39

Centaur Media

7D

2.7%

1Y

-27.4%

TIG

UK£1.35

Team Internet Group

7D

-3.3%

1Y

-1.5%

RCH

UK£0.63

Reach

7D

-3.7%

1Y

-30.4%

NFG

UK£9.39

Next 15 Group

7D

-1.9%

1Y

-10.1%

ITV

UK£0.57

ITV

7D

-2.7%

1Y

-36.8%

STVG

UK£2.05

STV Group

7D

2.5%

1Y

-33.5%

PEBB

UK£0.57

Pebble Group

7D

5.6%

1Y

-47.5%

TMO

UK£0.53

Time Out Group

7D

1.0%

1Y

56.7%

QRT

UK£1.40

Quarto Group

7D

7.7%

1Y

16.7%