Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Packaged Foods and Meats Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies14
  • 7D1.0%
  • 3M19.2%
  • 1Y36.0%
  • YTDn/a

Last week, the Packaged Foods and Meats industry hasn't moved much but Tate & Lyle is up 5.8% in that time. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 36% in that time. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 7.7% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Packaged Foods and Meats Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 27 May 2024UK£30.3bUK£36.7bUK£1.8b16.8x16.5x0.8x
Wed, 24 Apr 2024UK£29.5bUK£36.5bUK£1.7b17.5x17.4x0.8x
Fri, 22 Mar 2024UK£26.5bUK£36.4bUK£1.7b15.9x15.9x0.7x
Sun, 18 Feb 2024UK£25.5bUK£36.5bUK£1.6b16.6x15.6x0.7x
Tue, 16 Jan 2024UK£26.6bUK£37.3bUK£1.7b16.5x15.9x0.7x
Thu, 14 Dec 2023UK£27.8bUK£37.3bUK£1.7b17.2x16.7x0.7x
Sat, 11 Nov 2023UK£26.4bUK£37.1bUK£1.4b17.4x18.8x0.7x
Mon, 09 Oct 2023UK£23.8bUK£36.0bUK£1.1b20x22.5x0.7x
Wed, 06 Sep 2023UK£24.0bUK£35.6bUK£1.1b18.1x22.4x0.7x
Fri, 04 Aug 2023UK£24.4bUK£35.6bUK£1.1b18.2x22.9x0.7x
Sun, 02 Jul 2023UK£24.2bUK£35.6bUK£1.1b17.8x22.7x0.7x
Tue, 30 May 2023UK£23.7bUK£35.5bUK£1.1b17.2x22.1x0.7x
Thu, 27 Apr 2023UK£24.4bUK£34.8bUK£848.5m18.3x28.8x0.7x
Sat, 25 Mar 2023UK£24.0bUK£32.9bUK£800.7m15.7x30x0.7x
Mon, 20 Feb 2023UK£24.2bUK£32.7bUK£853.0m15.9x28.4x0.7x
Wed, 18 Jan 2023UK£23.5bUK£32.7bUK£853.0m16.6x27.6x0.7x
Fri, 16 Dec 2022UK£20.8bUK£32.7bUK£831.6m15.2x25x0.6x
Sun, 13 Nov 2022UK£20.5bUK£32.2bUK£1.1b14.5x17.9x0.6x
Tue, 11 Oct 2022UK£1.5tUK£30.5bUK£1.2b13.1x1272.8x49.8x
Thu, 08 Sep 2022UK£38.5bUK£37.8bUK£2.2b15.3x17.8x1x
Sat, 06 Aug 2022UK£40.8bUK£37.8bUK£2.2b16.7x18.7x1.1x
Mon, 04 Jul 2022UK£38.5bUK£37.3bUK£2.2b17.9x17.7x1x
Wed, 01 Jun 2022UK£40.4bUK£38.7bUK£2.5b15.7x16.2x1x
Fri, 29 Apr 2022UK£23.4bUK£30.9bUK£1.7b16.2x13.8x0.8x
Sun, 27 Mar 2022UK£24.1bUK£29.3bUK£1.4b17.1x17.5x0.8x
Tue, 22 Feb 2022UK£26.3bUK£29.2bUK£1.4b17.7x19.2x0.9x
Thu, 20 Jan 2022UK£28.0bUK£29.2bUK£1.4b17.7x20.5x1x
Sat, 18 Dec 2021UK£26.1bUK£29.2bUK£1.4b16.7x19.1x0.9x
Mon, 15 Nov 2021UK£26.9bUK£28.8bUK£1.1b14.4x23.4x0.9x
Wed, 13 Oct 2021UK£24.8bUK£27.4bUK£1.1b14x22.5x0.9x
Fri, 10 Sep 2021UK£26.6bUK£27.6bUK£943.6m14.1x28.2x1x
Sun, 08 Aug 2021UK£27.0bUK£26.9bUK£1.1b13.7x25.2x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

31.2x


Total Market Cap: UK£29.4bTotal Earnings: UK£943.5mTotal Revenue: UK£26.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Packaged Foods and Meats Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 22.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Packaged Foods and Meats industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 16.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 22.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.85x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Packaged Foods and Meats industry have grown 25% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 11% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.K. Packaged Foods and Meats compare with similar industries?

GB Market-1.24%
Consumer Staples-1.26%
Food0.95%
Packaged Foods and Meats0.98%
Agricultural Products0.57%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
TATE Tate & LyleUK£7.165.8%
+UK£155.1m
-10.4%PE16.5x
GNC Greencore GroupUK£1.6820.2%
+UK£129.1m
121.1%PE14.8x
BAKK Bakkavor GroupUK£1.376.2%
+UK£46.0m
50.5%PE14.6x
CWK CranswickUK£44.600.8%
+UK£18.9m
40.7%PE21.3x
PFD Premier FoodsUK£1.741.0%
+UK£15.6m
29.3%PE13.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

BAKK

UK£1.37

Bakkavor Group

7D

6.2%

1Y

50.5%

BMK

UK£0.45

Benchmark Holdings

7D

-2.1%

1Y

10.0%

GNC

UK£1.68

Greencore Group

7D

20.2%

1Y

121.1%

HFG

UK£9.38

Hilton Food Group

7D

-0.4%

1Y

28.1%

MHPC

US$3.30

MHP

7D

-1.5%

1Y

-12.9%

DKL

UK£0.011

Dekel Agri-Vision

7D

-2.1%

1Y

-65.2%

SALT

UK£0.97

MicroSalt

7D

-20.4%

1Y

n/a

HOTC

UK£3.74

Hotel Chocolat Group

7D

0.3%

1Y

76.0%

FIF

UK£1.10

Finsbury Food Group

7D

0.5%

1Y

20.9%