Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Consumer Discretionary Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies139
  • 7D0.3%
  • 3M6.0%
  • 1Y0.2%
  • YTD0.7%

Last week, the Consumer Discretionary industry hasn't moved much but JD Sports Fashion is up 7.1% in that time. In line with that, the industry has also been flat over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 24% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Consumer Discretionary Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 20 Feb 2024UK£193.6bUK£204.1bUK£6.3b15.2x30.7x0.9x
Thu, 18 Jan 2024UK£191.2bUK£224.0bUK£6.6b13.6x28.8x0.9x
Sat, 16 Dec 2023UK£197.1bUK£224.0bUK£6.6b14x29.8x0.9x
Mon, 13 Nov 2023UK£184.7bUK£223.9bUK£6.1b12.3x30.2x0.8x
Wed, 11 Oct 2023UK£188.8bUK£223.6bUK£5.8b12.1x32.6x0.8x
Fri, 08 Sep 2023UK£191.8bUK£221.5bUK£6.1b12.4x31.7x0.9x
Sun, 06 Aug 2023UK£201.7bUK£216.2bUK£6.5b12.1x31x0.9x
Tue, 04 Jul 2023UK£199.4bUK£214.6bUK£6.2b12.8x32.4x0.9x
Thu, 01 Jun 2023UK£200.1bUK£214.1bUK£6.3b13.4x31.7x0.9x
Sat, 29 Apr 2023UK£207.3bUK£207.9bUK£6.6b12.7x31.3x1x
Mon, 27 Mar 2023UK£190.0bUK£207.7bUK£7.0b11.7x27x0.9x
Wed, 22 Feb 2023UK£200.6bUK£207.0bUK£8.2b12.7x24.6x1x
Fri, 20 Jan 2023UK£191.3bUK£206.5bUK£8.5b11.8x22.5x0.9x
Sun, 18 Dec 2022UK£170.2bUK£203.0bUK£8.2b10.6x20.7x0.8x
Tue, 15 Nov 2022UK£174.7bUK£196.7bUK£8.1b9.9x21.6x0.9x
Thu, 13 Oct 2022UK£782.2bUK£194.8bUK£8.1b7.9x96.7x4x
Sat, 10 Sep 2022UK£169.1bUK£191.9bUK£8.7b10.5x19.5x0.9x
Mon, 08 Aug 2022UK£176.9bUK£189.7bUK£8.9b12.3x19.8x0.9x
Wed, 06 Jul 2022UK£160.7bUK£184.1bUK£8.1b11.5x19.7x0.9x
Fri, 03 Jun 2022UK£181.6bUK£185.6bUK£8.4b13.4x21.7x1x
Sun, 01 May 2022UK£178.8bUK£179.2bUK£7.6b14.7x23.4x1x
Tue, 29 Mar 2022UK£188.5bUK£186.8bUK£6.8b14.6x27.7x1x
Thu, 24 Feb 2022UK£209.6bUK£185.4bUK£6.5b15.9x32.1x1.1x
Sat, 22 Jan 2022UK£222.0bUK£186.0bUK£6.4b16.6x34.6x1.2x
Mon, 20 Dec 2021UK£228.9bUK£186.3bUK£6.4b17.4x35.8x1.2x
Wed, 17 Nov 2021UK£216.0bUK£174.5bUK£5.4b18.5x40x1.2x
Fri, 15 Oct 2021UK£206.9bUK£169.4bUK£3.7b18.8x56.5x1.2x
Sun, 12 Sep 2021UK£219.5bUK£166.5bUK£2.3b23x93.7x1.3x
Tue, 10 Aug 2021UK£221.5bUK£162.3bUK£1.9b24.1x115.6x1.4x
Mon, 03 May 2021UK£220.8bUK£158.1bUK£928.8m24.4x237.7x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

718x


Total Market Cap: UK£194.0bTotal Earnings: UK£270.1mTotal Revenue: UK£153.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Consumer Discretionary Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 74.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Consumer Discretionary industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 30.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 74.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.95x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Discretionary industry have grown 186% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 9.9% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Consumer Discretionary sector?

GB Market1.80%
Consumer Discretionary0.25%
Specialty Stores3.73%
General Merchandise and Department Stores2.09%
Consumer Services1.83%
Auto Components0.56%
Leisure0.24%
Retail Distributors0.20%
Online Retail and Ecommerce0%
Luxury-0.41%
Hospitality-0.55%
Consumer Durables-0.96%
Auto-4.80%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Hospitality industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 15.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 35.6%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 0.3% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Auto industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 68% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Leisure industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 3.7% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FLTR Flutter EntertainmentUK£168.653.0%
+UK£863.6m
21.9%PS3.3x
IHG InterContinental Hotels GroupUK£79.104.7%
+UK£585.5m
42.8%PE26.5x
JD. JD Sports FashionUK£1.137.3%
+UK£396.5m
-37.4%PE29.6x
NXT NEXTUK£85.004.0%
+UK£386.1m
24.8%PE14.5x
BME B&M European Value RetailUK£5.164.7%
+UK£231.6m
5.5%PE14.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CURY

UK£0.64

Currys

7D

37.1%

1Y

-14.3%

CPG

UK£21.91

Compass Group

7D

-0.4%

1Y

14.8%

FRAS

UK£8.40

Frasers Group

7D

2.1%

1Y

5.7%

IHG

UK£79.10

InterContinental Hotels Group

7D

2.3%

1Y

41.4%

ENT

UK£9.22

Entain

7D

-9.3%

1Y

-33.8%

FLTR

UK£168.65

Flutter Entertainment

7D

0.6%

1Y

22.6%