Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Trade Distributors Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 19, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies24
  • 7D-2.5%
  • 3M5.7%
  • 1Y10.3%
  • YTD0.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Trade Distributors industry has dropped 2.5%, driven by Ashtead Group declining 3.2%. In the past year, the industry has gained 10%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 6.9% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Trade Distributors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 19 Apr 2024UK£54.4bUK£40.2bUK£3.2b12.7x17x1.4x
Sun, 17 Mar 2024UK£52.7bUK£39.9bUK£3.2b13.5x16.6x1.3x
Tue, 13 Feb 2024UK£54.0bUK£40.5bUK£3.5b11.3x15.6x1.3x
Thu, 11 Jan 2024UK£52.3bUK£40.4bUK£3.5b11x15.1x1.3x
Sat, 09 Dec 2023UK£51.9bUK£40.4bUK£3.4b10.7x15.2x1.3x
Mon, 06 Nov 2023UK£47.6bUK£39.8bUK£3.1b10.2x15.4x1.2x
Wed, 04 Oct 2023UK£48.3bUK£40.0bUK£3.1b11.4x15.5x1.2x
Fri, 01 Sep 2023UK£51.3bUK£39.2bUK£3.1b11.7x16.7x1.3x
Sun, 30 Jul 2023UK£52.7bUK£38.9bUK£3.1b11.2x17x1.4x
Tue, 27 Jun 2023UK£50.6bUK£39.0bUK£3.2b10.7x15.8x1.3x
Thu, 25 May 2023UK£49.4bUK£38.9bUK£3.2b9.9x15.4x1.3x
Sat, 22 Apr 2023UK£49.8bUK£38.5bUK£3.1b11.9x15.8x1.3x
Mon, 20 Mar 2023UK£49.4bUK£38.6bUK£3.2b12.9x15.5x1.3x
Wed, 15 Feb 2023UK£54.1bUK£36.8bUK£3.1b12.5x17.7x1.5x
Fri, 13 Jan 2023UK£50.8bUK£36.8bUK£3.1b12.6x16.6x1.4x
Sun, 11 Dec 2022UK£49.6bUK£36.7bUK£3.0b12.4x16.3x1.4x
Tue, 08 Nov 2022UK£47.7bUK£36.8bUK£3.3b12x14.5x1.3x
Thu, 06 Oct 2022UK£65.8bUK£62.1bUK£5.1b11.6x12.8x1.1x
Sat, 03 Sep 2022UK£66.9bUK£59.6bUK£5.0b13.3x13.5x1.1x
Mon, 01 Aug 2022UK£71.5bUK£56.7bUK£4.7b13.3x15.1x1.3x
Wed, 29 Jun 2022UK£61.7bUK£56.2bUK£4.5b13.5x13.7x1.1x
Fri, 27 May 2022UK£65.8bUK£54.1bUK£4.2b14.4x15.5x1.2x
Sun, 24 Apr 2022UK£75.0bUK£53.1bUK£4.0b21.1x18.6x1.4x
Tue, 22 Mar 2022UK£79.5bUK£52.4bUK£4.0b21.5x20.1x1.5x
Thu, 17 Feb 2022UK£76.3bUK£52.8bUK£3.5b19.9x21.8x1.4x
Sat, 15 Jan 2022UK£85.0bUK£52.6bUK£3.5b21x24.4x1.6x
Mon, 13 Dec 2021UK£89.1bUK£52.3bUK£3.4b21.9x26.2x1.7x
Wed, 10 Nov 2021UK£87.2bUK£51.2bUK£3.1b25.3x27.8x1.7x
Fri, 08 Oct 2021UK£79.2bUK£50.8bUK£3.1b21.6x25.8x1.6x
Sun, 05 Sep 2021UK£82.8bUK£49.3bUK£2.3b26.2x36.7x1.7x
Tue, 03 Aug 2021UK£78.9bUK£49.3bUK£2.3b25.4x35x1.6x
Fri, 07 May 2021UK£71.3bUK£48.5bUK£2.1b21.9x34x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

34x


Total Market Cap: UK£71.3bTotal Earnings: UK£2.1bTotal Revenue: UK£48.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Trade Distributors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 20x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Trade Distributors industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 17.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 20.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Trade Distributors industry have grown 15% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 6.1% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Industrials industry?

GB Market-0.72%
Industrials-1.53%
Trade Distributors-2.49%
Trade Companies and Distributors-2.49%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BNZL BunzlUK£29.940.7%
+UK£67.2m
-6.8%PE19.1x
VP. VpUK£5.654.6%
+UK£9.9m
-13.7%PE9.4x
LTHM James LathamUK£11.552.2%
+UK£5.0m
-9.1%PE7.9x
LORD Lords Group TradingUK£0.492.1%
+UK£1.7m
-29.0%PE9.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.