Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Trade Companies and Distributors Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 30, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies23
  • 7D-1.7%
  • 3M-6.1%
  • 1Y5.8%
  • YTD4.4%

Over the last 7 days, the Trade Companies and Distributors industry has dropped 1.7%, driven by Howden Joinery Group declining 4.3%. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 5.8%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 7.8% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Trade Companies and Distributors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 30 May 2023UKĀ£50.4bUKĀ£38.9bUKĀ£3.2b9.9x15.7x1.3x
Thu, 27 Apr 2023UKĀ£49.5bUKĀ£38.4bUKĀ£3.1b10.3x15.7x1.3x
Sat, 25 Mar 2023UKĀ£49.2bUKĀ£38.6bUKĀ£3.2b12.9x15.5x1.3x
Mon, 20 Feb 2023UKĀ£54.7bUKĀ£36.8bUKĀ£3.1b12.7x17.8x1.5x
Wed, 18 Jan 2023UKĀ£51.0bUKĀ£36.7bUKĀ£3.0b12.9x16.7x1.4x
Fri, 16 Dec 2022UKĀ£48.9bUKĀ£36.7bUKĀ£3.1b12.6x16x1.3x
Sun, 13 Nov 2022UKĀ£50.5bUKĀ£36.6bUKĀ£3.2b12.4x15.6x1.4x
Tue, 11 Oct 2022UKĀ£673.2bUKĀ£62.8bUKĀ£5.2b10.9x129.4x10.7x
Thu, 08 Sep 2022UKĀ£66.3bUKĀ£59.7bUKĀ£5.0b13.3x13.3x1.1x
Sat, 06 Aug 2022UKĀ£70.6bUKĀ£57.2bUKĀ£4.8b13.6x14.7x1.2x
Mon, 04 Jul 2022UKĀ£60.8bUKĀ£56.6bUKĀ£4.6b13.6x13.3x1.1x
Wed, 01 Jun 2022UKĀ£67.5bUKĀ£54.0bUKĀ£4.2b14.2x15.9x1.3x
Fri, 29 Apr 2022UKĀ£71.5bUKĀ£54.0bUKĀ£4.1b19.2x17.4x1.3x
Sun, 27 Mar 2022UKĀ£76.2bUKĀ£52.5bUKĀ£4.0b21.3x19.2x1.5x
Tue, 22 Feb 2022UKĀ£74.7bUKĀ£52.7bUKĀ£3.5b20x21.4x1.4x
Thu, 20 Jan 2022UKĀ£81.6bUKĀ£52.7bUKĀ£3.5b20.9x23.4x1.5x
Sat, 18 Dec 2021UKĀ£88.7bUKĀ£53.3bUKĀ£3.5b21x25x1.7x
Mon, 15 Nov 2021UKĀ£89.5bUKĀ£51.4bUKĀ£3.2b25.2x28.3x1.7x
Wed, 13 Oct 2021UKĀ£78.4bUKĀ£50.8bUKĀ£3.1b22.2x25.5x1.5x
Fri, 10 Sep 2021UKĀ£83.4bUKĀ£49.6bUKĀ£2.4b27.2x34.4x1.7x
Sun, 08 Aug 2021UKĀ£79.8bUKĀ£49.3bUKĀ£2.3b25.7x35.4x1.6x
Sat, 01 May 2021UKĀ£71.3bUKĀ£48.5bUKĀ£2.1b21.9x34x1.5x
Tue, 02 Feb 2021UKĀ£61.9bUKĀ£47.7bUKĀ£1.8b19.2x33.6x1.3x
Fri, 06 Nov 2020UKĀ£53.4bUKĀ£46.7bUKĀ£1.9b20x28x1.1x
Mon, 10 Aug 2020UKĀ£47.5bUKĀ£46.2bUKĀ£1.9b19.3x24.5x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

20x


Total Market Cap: UKĀ£45.6bTotal Earnings: UKĀ£2.3bTotal Revenue: UKĀ£47.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Trade Companies and Distributors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 23.9x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Trading Companies and Distributors industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 15.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 23.9x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Trading Companies and Distributors industry have grown 12% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 6.1% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Comparison

How does U.K. Trade Companies and Distributors compare with similar industries?

GB Market-1.84%
Industrials-1.54%
Trade Distributors-1.67%
Trade Companies and Distributors-1.67%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BNZL BunzlUKĀ£31.581.7%
+UKĀ£174.4m
14.1%PE22.3x
DPLM DiplomaUKĀ£30.082.2%
+UKĀ£85.7m
15.7%PE34x
AHT Ashtead GroupUKĀ£49.380.4%
+UKĀ£82.2m
18.9%PE17.1x
RS1 RS GroupUKĀ£8.000.8%
+UKĀ£31.2m
-17.4%PE13.3x
ASY Andrews Sykes GroupUKĀ£5.806.4%
+UKĀ£14.7m
11.0%PE14.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

RS1

UKĀ£8.00

RS Group

7D

0.8%

1Y

-17.4%

LORD

UKĀ£0.68

Lords Group Trading

7D

-1.5%

1Y

-22.9%

ASY

UKĀ£5.80

Andrews Sykes Group

7D

6.4%

1Y

11.0%

DPLM

UKĀ£30.08

Diploma

7D

2.2%

1Y

15.7%

SDY

UKĀ£0.34

Speedy Hire

7D

-1.2%

1Y

-28.5%

VP.

UKĀ£6.30

Vp

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-32.6%

GFTU

UKĀ£8.26

Grafton Group

7D

-3.1%

1Y

-11.9%

SHI

UKĀ£0.41

SIG

7D

-2.0%

1Y

15.4%

LTHM

UKĀ£12.30

James Latham

7D

1.2%

1Y

-11.8%