Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Energy Sector Analysis

UpdatedDec 03, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies100
  • 7D-0.6%
  • 3M1.2%
  • 1Y-10.8%
  • YTD-11.5%

In the last week, Energy has been flat. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 11% over the past 12 months. In the next few years, earnings are forecast to decline by 7.6% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Energy Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 03 Dec 2023UKĀ£282.7bUKĀ£620.3bUKĀ£62.4b4.7x4.5x0.5x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023UKĀ£300.8bUKĀ£657.8bUKĀ£58.0b5.3x5.2x0.5x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023UKĀ£302.2bUKĀ£659.6bUKĀ£58.2b4.3x5.2x0.5x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023UKĀ£273.6bUKĀ£641.3bUKĀ£56.6b4.9x4.8x0.4x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023UKĀ£278.3bUKĀ£667.4bUKĀ£74.6b4.2x3.7x0.4x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023UKĀ£268.1bUKĀ£670.5bUKĀ£75.0b4.6x3.6x0.4x
Fri, 19 May 2023UKĀ£281.9bUKĀ£685.0bUKĀ£76.9b4.6x3.7x0.4x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023UKĀ£301.2bUKĀ£677.4bUKĀ£53.7b4.7x5.6x0.4x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023UKĀ£298.8bUKĀ£687.0bUKĀ£55.8b4x5.4x0.4x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023UKĀ£317.8bUKĀ£673.5bUKĀ£49.6b3.7x6.4x0.5x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023UKĀ£306.5bUKĀ£659.9bUKĀ£50.3b4.5x6.1x0.5x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022UKĀ£310.2bUKĀ£654.6bUKĀ£50.7b4.6x6.1x0.5x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022UKĀ£318.9bUKĀ£669.3bUKĀ£51.0b4.4x6.3x0.5x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022UKĀ£295.7bUKĀ£665.7bUKĀ£46.8b4.9x6.3x0.4x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022UKĀ£312.6bUKĀ£625.8bUKĀ£43.6b7.1x7.2x0.5x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022UKĀ£249.8bUKĀ£568.4bUKĀ£26.5b7.5x9.4x0.4x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022UKĀ£249.7bUKĀ£571.0bUKĀ£27.9b9x8.9x0.4x
Sat, 21 May 2022UKĀ£281.1bUKĀ£543.8bUKĀ£24.8b8.7x11.3x0.5x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022UKĀ£269.5bUKĀ£453.3bUKĀ£36.9b11.9x7.3x0.6x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022UKĀ£240.2bUKĀ£427.3bUKĀ£32.9b9.1x7.3x0.6x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022UKĀ£238.1bUKĀ£241.2bUKĀ£22.0b13.6x10.8x1x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022UKĀ£234.0bUKĀ£279.0bUKĀ£21.2b12.5x11x0.8x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021UKĀ£222.8bUKĀ£284.8bUKĀ£21.6b10.4x10.3x0.8x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021UKĀ£237.5bUKĀ£257.4bUKĀ£16.7b12.7x14.2x0.9x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021UKĀ£242.9bUKĀ£260.6bUKĀ£16.6b11.3x14.6x0.9x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021UKĀ£213.4bUKĀ£257.1bUKĀ£15.8b11.4x13.5x0.8x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021UKĀ£217.1bUKĀ£257.1bUKĀ£15.8b11.8x13.7x0.8x
Fri, 09 Apr 2021UKĀ£201.8bUKĀ£223.7b-UKĀ£1,955,237,248.7112.2x-103.2x0.9x
Thu, 31 Dec 2020UKĀ£164.8bUKĀ£222.8b-UKĀ£14,236,581,475.8914x-11.6x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-8.9x


Total Market Cap: UKĀ£161.7bTotal Earnings: -UKĀ£18,186,154,691.63Total Revenue: UKĀ£227.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Energy Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average -1.8x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Energy industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 4.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -1.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.62x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Energy industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 40% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Energy sector?

GB Market0.38%
Energy-0.57%
Oil and Gas-0.56%
Energy Services-2.27%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Oil and Gas industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings decline of 8.2%, which is less than its past year's earnings decline of 13.5%.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Energy Services industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 89% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 51% per year.
  • In contrast, the Oil and Gas industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 8.2% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BP. BPUKĀ£4.780.4%
+UKĀ£216.7m
-0.5%PE4x
ENOG EnergeanUKĀ£10.204.5%
+UKĀ£78.8m
-25.3%PS2.4x
G3E G3 ExplorationUKĀ£0.28n/a
UKĀ£43.9m
n/an/a
SEPL Seplat EnergyUKĀ£1.314.6%
+UKĀ£34.1m
49.7%PE36x
HBR Harbour EnergyUKĀ£2.271.1%
+UKĀ£19.3m
-27.4%PS0.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ENOG

UKĀ£10.20

Energean

7D

4.5%

1Y

-25.3%

ITH

UKĀ£1.50

Ithaca Energy

7D

-5.8%

1Y

-16.0%

DEC

UKĀ£0.65

Diversified Energy

7D

-8.8%

1Y

-47.7%

QED

UKĀ£0.022

Quadrise

7D

62.7%

1Y

12.0%

TLW

UKĀ£0.36

Tullow Oil

7D

-6.4%

1Y

-14.8%

SQZ

UKĀ£2.26

Serica Energy

7D

1.8%

1Y

-28.7%

GENL

UKĀ£0.73

Genel Energy

7D

-8.2%

1Y

-48.4%

PFC

UKĀ£0.17

Petrofac

7D

-50.5%

1Y

-80.6%

WG.

UKĀ£1.42

John Wood Group

7D

-2.1%

1Y

8.0%

GMS

UKĀ£0.14

Gulf Marine Services

7D

12.8%

1Y

144.6%

SEPL

UKĀ£1.31

Seplat Energy

7D

4.6%

1Y

49.7%

BP.

UKĀ£4.78

BP

7D

0.4%

1Y

-0.5%

G3E

UKĀ£0.28

G3 Exploration

7D

n/a

1Y

n/a