Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Precious Metals and Minerals Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D4.1%
  • 3M-0.2%
  • 1Y-4.7%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, the Precious Metals and Minerals industry is up 4.1%, with Fresnillo up 4.6%. During this same period, the Petra Diamonds underperformed, falling 7.8%. In the past year, the industry is down 4.7%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 30% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Precious Metals and Minerals Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 13 Jul 2024UK£5.2bUK£2.7bUK£135.3m20.4x38.8x2x
Mon, 10 Jun 2024UK£4.9bUK£2.7bUK£138.1m19.8x35.2x1.8x
Wed, 08 May 2024UK£4.9bUK£2.8bUK£140.5m19.7x34.7x1.8x
Fri, 05 Apr 2024UK£4.6bUK£2.7bUK£137.7m17.9x33.4x1.7x
Sun, 03 Mar 2024UK£4.0bUK£2.6bUK£131.8m11.6x30.1x1.5x
Tue, 30 Jan 2024UK£4.7bUK£2.6bUK£140.0m12.7x33.4x1.8x
Thu, 28 Dec 2023UK£5.1bUK£2.6bUK£138.9m14.7x36.7x2x
Sat, 25 Nov 2023UK£4.5bUK£2.6bUK£144.1m10.8x31.4x1.7x
Mon, 23 Oct 2023UK£4.8bUK£2.7bUK£146.0m12.3x32.5x1.7x
Wed, 20 Sep 2023UK£5.1bUK£2.7bUK£144.1m15.1x35.3x1.9x
Fri, 18 Aug 2023UK£4.5bUK£2.8bUK£215.8m13.1x21.1x1.6x
Sun, 16 Jul 2023UK£5.5bUK£2.7bUK£250.3m15.4x21.9x2x
Tue, 13 Jun 2023UK£5.7bUK£2.8bUK£268.9m19.8x21.1x2x
Thu, 11 May 2023UK£6.1bUK£2.8bUK£266.8m20.4x23x2.2x
Sat, 08 Apr 2023UK£6.7bUK£2.8bUK£270.7m20.9x24.9x2.4x
Mon, 06 Mar 2023UK£6.8bUK£3.0bUK£255.8m21.7x26.4x2.3x
Wed, 01 Feb 2023UK£7.2bUK£2.9bUK£297.3m18.9x24.2x2.4x
Fri, 30 Dec 2022UK£7.6bUK£3.0bUK£303.4m15.2x25.1x2.5x
Sun, 27 Nov 2022UK£7.7bUK£3.0bUK£303.0m11.7x25.5x2.6x
Tue, 25 Oct 2022UK£6.4bUK£3.2bUK£329.6m8x19.5x2x
Thu, 22 Sep 2022UK£6.7bUK£3.2bUK£323.4m8.6x20.8x2.1x
Sat, 20 Aug 2022UK£6.6bUK£3.0bUK£472.1m8.6x14x2.2x
Mon, 18 Jul 2022UK£5.9bUK£3.2bUK£626.5m8x9.4x1.9x
Wed, 15 Jun 2022UK£7.2bUK£3.1bUK£626.4m9.1x11.4x2.3x
Fri, 13 May 2022UK£7.1bUK£3.1bUK£611.3m9.6x11.6x2.3x
Sun, 10 Apr 2022UK£7.3bUK£2.9bUK£583.4m15.5x12.5x2.5x
Tue, 08 Mar 2022UK£6.9bUK£3.0bUK£742.2m9.8x9.3x2.3x
Thu, 03 Feb 2022UK£6.4bUK£2.9bUK£738.8m9.6x8.6x2.2x
Sat, 01 Jan 2022UK£8.3bUK£2.9bUK£744.4m10x11.1x2.9x
Mon, 29 Nov 2021UK£15.2bUK£2.9bUK£747.8m14.5x20.3x5.3x
Wed, 27 Oct 2021UK£8.6bUK£2.8bUK£724.9m13.2x11.8x3.1x
Fri, 24 Sep 2021UK£7.5bUK£2.8bUK£733.5m8.8x10.2x2.7x
Sun, 22 Aug 2021UK£7.6bUK£2.7bUK£461.2m10.3x16.4x2.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

16.6x


Total Market Cap: UK£7.7bTotal Earnings: UK£461.2mTotal Revenue: UK£2.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Precious Metals and Minerals Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 23.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the British Precious Metals and Minerals industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 38.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 23.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.4x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Precious Metals and Minerals industry have declined 34% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.K. Precious Metals and Minerals compare with similar industries?

GB Market0.86%
Materials-0.041%
Metals and Mining-0.28%
Precious Metals and Minerals4.12%
Steel5.23%
Copper0.74%
Gold0.32%
Aluminum0%
Silver0%
Diversified Metals and Mining-0.62%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FRES FresnilloUK£6.204.6%
+UK£199.0m
-1.3%PE25.4x
SLP Sylvania PlatinumUK£0.629.7%
+UK£14.4m
-18.2%PE13.3x
TRR Trident RoyaltiesUK£0.480.3%
+UK£439.6k
1.6%PE76x
SRES Sunrise ResourcesUK£0.000615.4%
+UK£352.7k
-29.4%PB1.2x
BOD Botswana DiamondsUK£0.00357.7%
+UK£280.0k
-61.1%PS99.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

GEMD

UK£0.13

Gem Diamonds

7D

-3.7%

1Y

-30.4%

SRES

UK£0.0006

Sunrise Resources

7D

15.4%

1Y

-29.4%

PDL

UK£0.34

Petra Diamonds

7D

-7.8%

1Y

-52.4%

SLP

UK£0.62

Sylvania Platinum

7D

9.7%

1Y

-18.2%

KDR

UK£0.016

Karelian Diamond Resources

7D

-3.0%

1Y

-40.9%

TRR

UK£0.48

Trident Royalties

7D

0.3%

1Y

1.6%

VAST

UK£0.0016

Vast Resources

7D

-15.8%

1Y

-92.7%

BOD

UK£0.0035

Botswana Diamonds

7D

7.7%

1Y

-61.1%