Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies13
  • 7D-0.4%
  • 3M17.1%
  • 1Y10.9%
  • YTD7.5%

In the last week, the Banks industry is flat overall, with Lloyds Banking Group standing out by going down 3.2%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 11% over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are expected to remain mostly flat in the next few years.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 17 Apr 2024UK£234.8bUK£122.3bUK£36.9b5.4x6.4x1.9x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024UK£218.2bUK£120.5bUK£36.4b6.3x6x1.8x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024UK£185.4bUK£107.1bUK£36.8b5.2x5x1.7x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024UK£199.7bUK£109.0bUK£37.3b5.6x5.4x1.8x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023UK£198.6bUK£109.9bUK£37.6b5.4x5.3x1.8x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023UK£188.7bUK£110.5bUK£37.9b5.1x5x1.7x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023UK£208.2bUK£104.9bUK£34.8b5.4x6x2x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023UK£197.8bUK£102.7bUK£34.0b5.3x5.8x1.9x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023UK£235.5bUK£119.7bUK£37.4b5.3x6.3x2x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023UK£219.3bUK£120.2bUK£37.7b5x5.8x1.8x
Tue, 23 May 2023UK£232.6bUK£124.4bUK£38.1b5.7x6.1x1.9x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023UK£226.2bUK£115.2bUK£30.4b6.4x7.4x2x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023UK£214.5bUK£116.5bUK£30.7b6.1x7x1.8x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023UK£219.4bUK£88.1bUK£21.8b7.2x10.1x2.5x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023UK£200.8bUK£87.8bUK£21.7b7x9.3x2.3x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022UK£182.2bUK£87.7bUK£21.7b6.5x8.4x2.1x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022UK£175.1bUK£92.0bUK£22.5b6x7.8x1.9x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022UK£168.3bUK£93.5bUK£24.2b5.4x7x1.8x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022UK£186.7bUK£91.9bUK£23.8b6x7.8x2x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022UK£208.9bUK£113.1bUK£26.4b5.2x7.9x1.8x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022UK£211.5bUK£112.9bUK£28.3b4.7x7.5x1.9x
Wed, 25 May 2022UK£210.3bUK£112.0bUK£28.2b4.5x7.5x1.9x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022UK£213.9bUK£109.0bUK£28.1b6.1x7.6x2x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022UK£211.6bUK£107.3bUK£27.6b6.2x7.7x2x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022UK£249.8bUK£104.3bUK£25.8b7.1x9.7x2.4x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022UK£244.2bUK£103.8bUK£25.7b6.8x9.5x2.4x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021UK£217.5bUK£105.4bUK£26.0b6.2x8.4x2.1x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021UK£238.1bUK£113.6bUK£28.7b6x8.3x2.1x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021UK£218.9bUK£109.2bUK£23.3b7x9.4x2x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021UK£219.1bUK£108.3bUK£23.0b6.7x9.5x2x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021UK£215.7bUK£108.3bUK£23.0b6.9x9.4x2x
Wed, 05 May 2021UK£223.6bUK£94.5bUK£11.8b14.4x19x2.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19x


Total Market Cap: UK£223.6bTotal Earnings: UK£11.8bTotal Revenue: UK£94.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 8.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Banks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 6.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 8.7x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Banks industry have grown 46% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 9.0% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.K. Financials industry?

GB Market0.35%
Financials-0.36%
Banks-0.38%
Diversified Banks-0.38%
Regional Banks-1.82%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Regional Banks industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 20.9x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 37.4% and investors are willing to pay a premium for that growth.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Diversified Banks industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 8.6x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Regional Banks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 37% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Diversified Banks industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
TCS TCS Group HoldingUS$25.600.4%
+US$19.9m
97.9%PB1.8x
ARBB Arbuthnot Banking GroupUK£11.004.3%
+UK£7.3m
15.2%PB0.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

LLOY

UK£0.50

Lloyds Banking Group

7D

-6.4%

1Y

0.9%

TBCG

UK£29.95

TBC Bank Group

7D

-4.3%

1Y

34.9%

ARBB

UK£11.00

Arbuthnot Banking Group

7D

4.3%

1Y

15.2%

BARC

UK£1.78

Barclays

7D

-5.8%

1Y

14.9%

HSBA

UK£6.32

HSBC Holdings

7D

-4.7%

1Y

10.2%

BGEO

UK£48.50

Bank of Georgia Group

7D

-2.6%

1Y

71.1%

HSBK

US$17.16

Halyk Bank of Kazakhstan

7D

-3.6%

1Y

43.0%

NWG

UK£2.69

NatWest Group

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-1.8%

TCS

US$25.60

TCS Group Holding

7D

0.4%

1Y

97.9%