Header cover image

U.K. (FTSE) Diversified Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies11
  • 7D-0.4%
  • 3M6.9%
  • 1Y10.3%
  • YTDn/a

The Diversified Banks is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but NatWest Group has stood out, gaining 3.7%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 10% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to be flat in the coming years.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.K. Diversified Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 20 Jul 2024UK£216.5bUK£95.8bUK£31.2b5.8x7x2.3x
Mon, 17 Jun 2024UK£213.6bUK£96.8bUK£31.5b5.8x6.8x2.2x
Wed, 15 May 2024UK£225.5bUK£97.4bUK£31.5b5.1x7.1x2.3x
Fri, 12 Apr 2024UK£233.7bUK£121.0bUK£36.7b5.3x6.4x1.9x
Sun, 10 Mar 2024UK£217.3bUK£119.5bUK£36.2b6.2x6x1.8x
Tue, 06 Feb 2024UK£188.5bUK£107.0bUK£37.0b4.9x5.1x1.8x
Thu, 04 Jan 2024UK£199.7bUK£109.1bUK£37.5b5x5.3x1.8x
Sat, 02 Dec 2023UK£194.7bUK£108.9bUK£37.5b5.1x5.2x1.8x
Mon, 30 Oct 2023UK£189.3bUK£106.3bUK£35.5b4.6x5.3x1.8x
Wed, 27 Sep 2023UK£207.8bUK£104.5bUK£34.9b5.3x6x2x
Fri, 25 Aug 2023UK£191.8bUK£102.0bUK£33.9b5x5.7x1.9x
Sun, 23 Jul 2023UK£236.2bUK£119.1bUK£37.6b5.3x6.3x2x
Tue, 20 Jun 2023UK£226.0bUK£119.4bUK£37.7b5.5x6x1.9x
Thu, 18 May 2023UK£226.6bUK£123.6bUK£38.0b5.4x6x1.8x
Sat, 15 Apr 2023UK£228.6bUK£114.9bUK£30.5b6.4x7.5x2x
Mon, 13 Mar 2023UK£233.8bUK£117.0bUK£31.6b5x7.4x2x
Wed, 08 Feb 2023UK£215.1bUK£87.9bUK£22.0b7.3x9.8x2.4x
Fri, 06 Jan 2023UK£202.1bUK£88.3bUK£22.1b7x9.2x2.3x
Sun, 04 Dec 2022UK£184.3bUK£87.2bUK£21.8b6.6x8.4x2.1x
Tue, 01 Nov 2022UK£164.4bUK£90.6bUK£22.4b5.6x7.3x1.8x
Thu, 29 Sep 2022UK£172.5bUK£96.0bUK£25.1b5.7x6.9x1.8x
Sat, 27 Aug 2022UK£187.4bUK£90.8bUK£23.8b6.2x7.9x2.1x
Mon, 25 Jul 2022UK£205.5bUK£113.4bUK£28.7b4.7x7.1x1.8x
Wed, 22 Jun 2022UK£212.9bUK£112.6bUK£28.6b5.1x7.4x1.9x
Fri, 20 May 2022UK£201.1bUK£111.3bUK£28.3b4.4x7.1x1.8x
Sun, 17 Apr 2022UK£207.4bUK£108.5bUK£28.3b5.8x7.3x1.9x
Tue, 15 Mar 2022UK£208.2bUK£107.3bUK£27.9b6.3x7.5x1.9x
Thu, 10 Feb 2022UK£257.0bUK£103.9bUK£26.0b7.9x9.9x2.5x
Sat, 08 Jan 2022UK£237.7bUK£103.7bUK£25.9b6.8x9.2x2.3x
Mon, 06 Dec 2021UK£219.3bUK£105.0bUK£26.2b6.3x8.4x2.1x
Wed, 03 Nov 2021UK£242.5bUK£112.3bUK£28.6b6.4x8.5x2.2x
Fri, 01 Oct 2021UK£222.3bUK£109.1bUK£23.5b7x9.4x2x
Sun, 29 Aug 2021UK£220.4bUK£107.9bUK£23.2b6.8x9.5x2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9.7x


Total Market Cap: UK£225.1bTotal Earnings: UK£23.2bTotal Revenue: UK£107.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.K. Diversified Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 7.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the British Diversified Banks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 7.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 7.9x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Diversified Banks industry have grown 10% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 3.9% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Comparison

How does U.K. Diversified Banks compare with similar industries?

GB Market-1.19%
Financials-0.52%
Banks-0.41%
Diversified Banks-0.42%
Regional Banks2.97%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
NWG NatWest GroupUK£3.363.7%
+UK£980.2m
33.5%PB0.7x
BARC BarclaysUK£2.292.8%
+UK£876.5m
40.1%PB0.5x
CBG Close Brothers GroupUK£5.298.7%
+UK£62.7m
-44.1%PB0.4x
TBCG TBC Bank GroupUK£29.901.5%
+UK£49.8m
19.1%PB1.2x
STAN Standard CharteredUK£7.250.2%
+UK£40.3m
0.8%PB0.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

HSBA

UK£6.60

HSBC Holdings

7D

-1.6%

1Y

2.8%

TBCG

UK£29.90

TBC Bank Group

7D

1.5%

1Y

19.1%

BARC

UK£2.29

Barclays

7D

2.8%

1Y

40.1%

CBG

UK£5.29

Close Brothers Group

7D

8.7%

1Y

-44.1%

LLOY

UK£0.59

Lloyds Banking Group

7D

0.07%

1Y

29.0%

VMUK

UK£2.16

Virgin Money UK

7D

0.5%

1Y

23.3%

BGEO

UK£43.90

Bank of Georgia Group

7D

0%

1Y

38.3%

HSBK

US$17.50

Halyk Bank of Kazakhstan

7D

-1.2%

1Y

20.0%

STAN

UK£7.25

Standard Chartered

7D

0.2%

1Y

0.8%

TCS

US$25.60

TCS Group Holding

7D

0.4%

1Y

97.9%