Header cover image

U.S. Market Analysis & Valuation

UpdatedMar 03, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7714
  • 7D1.2%
  • 3M12.1%
  • 1Y24.4%
  • YTD7.9%

Over the last 7 days, the market has risen 1.2%, driven by gains of 2.5% in the Information Technology sector. The market is up 24% over the last 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Market Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Market valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 04 Mar 2024US$53.6tUS$21.1tUS$1.8t16.3x29x2.5x
Wed, 31 Jan 2024US$51.6tUS$21.0tUS$1.7t17.1x29.6x2.5x
Fri, 29 Dec 2023US$50.5tUS$21.0tUS$1.8t16.9x28.7x2.4x
Sun, 26 Nov 2023US$47.6tUS$21.1tUS$1.8t16x27.2x2.3x
Tue, 24 Oct 2023US$44.1tUS$21.0tUS$1.7t14.8x25.7x2.1x
Thu, 21 Sep 2023US$46.4tUS$20.9tUS$1.7t15.5x27x2.2x
Sat, 19 Aug 2023US$46.3tUS$20.9tUS$1.7t15.8x27.2x2.2x
Mon, 17 Jul 2023US$47.7tUS$21.0tUS$1.7t15.5x28.6x2.3x
Wed, 14 Jun 2023US$46.3tUS$21.0tUS$1.7t15.3x27.8x2.2x
Fri, 12 May 2023US$43.3tUS$21.0tUS$1.7t14.6x26.1x2.1x
Sun, 09 Apr 2023US$43.3tUS$20.6tUS$1.6t14.9x26.8x2.1x
Tue, 07 Mar 2023US$43.3tUS$20.6tUS$1.6t15.4x26.6x2.1x
Thu, 02 Feb 2023US$44.4tUS$20.5tUS$1.8t15.3x25.3x2.2x
Sat, 31 Dec 2022US$40.9tUS$20.5tUS$1.8t14.3x22.8x2x
Mon, 28 Nov 2022US$42.9tUS$20.4tUS$1.8t14.8x23.8x2.1x
Wed, 26 Oct 2022US$41.3tUS$19.9tUS$1.8t14.5x22.6x2.1x
Fri, 23 Sep 2022US$40.7tUS$19.9tUS$1.8t14.1x22.1x2x
Sun, 21 Aug 2022US$45.7tUS$19.8tUS$1.8t15.7x25x2.3x
Tue, 19 Jul 2022US$40.6tUS$19.4tUS$1.9t14.7x21.3x2.1x
Thu, 16 Jun 2022US$41.9tUS$19.4tUS$1.9t14.7x21.9x2.2x
Sat, 14 May 2022US$43.7tUS$19.4tUS$1.9t15.6x22.8x2.3x
Mon, 11 Apr 2022US$49.7tUS$18.9tUS$1.9t16.7x25.6x2.6x
Wed, 09 Mar 2022US$46.9tUS$18.8tUS$1.9t15.6x24.1x2.5x
Fri, 04 Feb 2022US$50.0tUS$18.6tUS$1.8t16.4x27.1x2.7x
Sun, 02 Jan 2022US$54.1tUS$18.3tUS$1.7t17.2x31.1x3x
Tue, 30 Nov 2021US$53.8tUS$18.2tUS$1.7t17.1x30.8x3x
Thu, 28 Oct 2021US$53.4tUS$17.7tUS$1.7t17.8x31.8x3x
Sat, 25 Sep 2021US$52.2tUS$17.4tUS$1.6t17.9x32.5x3x
Mon, 23 Aug 2021US$51.5tUS$17.4tUS$1.6t17.1x32.2x3x
Sat, 10 Jul 2021US$50.5tUS$17.2tUS$1.6t17.5x32.1x2.9x
Fri, 02 Apr 2021US$46.3tUS$16.2tUS$1.2t18.8x37.9x2.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

37.9x


Total Market Cap: US$46.3tTotal Earnings: US$1.2tTotal Revenue: US$16.2tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Market Price to Earnings3Y Average 27.8x202220232024
Current Market PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the American market at the moment, indicating that they expect earnings will grow in line with historical growth rates.
  • The market is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 27.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for American listed companies have grown 15% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 9.1% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Sector Trends

Which sectors have driven the changes within the U.S. Market?

US Market1.16%
Tech2.52%
Consumer Discretionary2.29%
Real Estate1.74%
Energy1.37%
Industrials1.21%
Materials1.06%
Financials0.41%
Consumer Staples-0.055%
Telecom-0.14%
Healthcare-0.37%
Utilities-0.47%
Sector PE
  • Investors favour the Healthcare sector the most for future growth, which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 50.7x.
    • The market's confidence is likely because analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 18.1%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 3.3% per year.
  • The Energy sector is the least preferred by investors for future growth. Although, investor sentiment seems to have improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 5.0x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Healthcare sector, expecting annual earnings growth of 18% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 3.3% per year.
  • In contrast, the Energy industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuationSector
NVDA NVIDIAUS$822.794.4%
+US$85.2b
244.4%PE68xTech
META Meta PlatformsUS$502.303.8%
+US$46.6b
171.1%PE32.8xTelecom
AMD Advanced Micro DevicesUS$202.6414.8%
+US$42.2b
148.6%PE383.4xTech
AVGO BroadcomUS$1.40k7.9%
+US$41.5b
121.1%PE46xTech
MSFT MicrosoftUS$415.501.3%
+US$38.3b
62.8%PE37.4xTech
See more
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Market Insights

And now the finale you’ve all been waiting for! This week we are wrapping up our series on Generative AI. Previously, we had looked at whether this recent AI rally could be considered a bubble, and dove into the risks and opportunities across the AI value chain...

Latest News

TSLA

US$202.64

Tesla

7D

5.6%

1Y

2.5%

AAPL

US$179.66

Apple

7D

-1.6%

1Y

19.0%

UNH

US$489.53

UnitedHealth Group

7D

-7.2%

1Y

2.3%

DELL

US$124.59

Dell Technologies

7D

37.9%

1Y

213.1%

SNOW

US$186.72

Snowflake

7D

-18.6%

1Y

31.4%

AMD

US$202.64

Advanced Micro Devices

7D

14.8%

1Y

148.6%

PEP

US$164.59

PepsiCo

7D

-3.0%

1Y

-4.9%

NVDA

US$822.79

NVIDIA

7D

4.4%

1Y

244.4%

CVX

US$152.81

Chevron

7D

-1.2%

1Y

-7.4%

KO

US$59.53

Coca-Cola

7D

-2.7%

1Y

0.2%

AVGO

US$1,399.17

Broadcom

7D

7.9%

1Y

121.1%

BRK.A

US$613,965.01

Berkshire Hathaway

7D

-2.4%

1Y

29.7%