Header cover image

U.S. Home Improvement Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D-5.4%
  • 3M-3.4%
  • 1Y25.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Home Improvement Retail industry has dropped 5.4%, driven by a pullback from Home Depot of 4.6%. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 25%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 18% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Home Improvement Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 24 May 2024US$13.4bUS$6.6bUS$131.7m30.7x101.9x2x
Sun, 21 Apr 2024US$12.7bUS$6.7bUS$167.4m28x75.9x1.9x
Tue, 19 Mar 2024US$13.8bUS$6.7bUS$168.4m29.2x82.2x2.1x
Thu, 15 Feb 2024US$12.3bUS$7.1bUS$75.8m26.1x161.9x1.7x
Sat, 13 Jan 2024US$12.3bUS$7.1bUS$75.9m28.7x162.4x1.7x
Mon, 11 Dec 2023US$11.9bUS$7.1bUS$74.4m27.9x159.4x1.7x
Wed, 08 Nov 2023US$9.3bUS$7.2bUS$107.8m22.4x85.9x1.3x
Fri, 06 Oct 2023US$10.2bUS$7.2bUS$109.9m18.1x92.5x1.4x
Sun, 03 Sep 2023US$11.9bUS$7.2bUS$112.7m21x105.5x1.6x
Tue, 01 Aug 2023US$13.4bUS$7.3bUS$183.2m15.5x73.3x1.8x
Thu, 29 Jun 2023US$12.0bUS$7.3bUS$177.2m14.6x67.9x1.6x
Sat, 27 May 2023US$10.9bUS$7.3bUS$176.0m13.9x61.7x1.5x
Mon, 24 Apr 2023US$11.4bUS$7.2bUS$195.4m11.7x58.6x1.6x
Wed, 22 Mar 2023US$10.9bUS$7.2bUS$194.0m11.5x56.3x1.5x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023US$11.1bUS$6.0bUS$154.7m16.2x71.8x1.9x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023US$9.7bUS$6.0bUS$154.7m13.9x62.6x1.6x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022US$8.8bUS$6.0bUS$154.7m13.4x56.6x1.5x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022US$8.0bUS$6.0bUS$154.7m16.5x52x1.3x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022US$8.1bUS$5.8bUS$175.3m14.1x46.1x1.4x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022US$9.2bUS$5.8bUS$175.3m14x52.4x1.6x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022US$9.3bUS$5.6bUS$327.4m22.2x28.5x1.7x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022US$7.3bUS$5.6bUS$327.4m18.1x22.4x1.3x
Sun, 29 May 2022US$9.2bUS$5.6bUS$327.4m23.7x28x1.6x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022US$9.7bUS$5.4bUS$351.9m26.1x27.7x1.8x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022US$11.3bUS$5.4bUS$351.2m29.4x32.1x2.1x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022US$11.7bUS$5.2bUS$384.4m25.9x30.5x2.3x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022US$12.5bUS$5.2bUS$384.4m27.2x32.6x2.4x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021US$14.6bUS$5.2bUS$384.4m35.2x38.1x2.8x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021US$16.0bUS$5.1bUS$383.7m39.3x41.6x3.1x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021US$14.8bUS$4.9bUS$384.3m36.3x38.5x3x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021US$16.1bUS$4.9bUS$378.9m37.8x42.4x3.2x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021US$16.8bUS$4.9bUS$378.9m37.6x44.4x3.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

45.4x


Total Market Cap: US$14.0bTotal Earnings: US$308.1mTotal Revenue: US$4.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Home Improvement Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 70.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Home Improvement Retail industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 102x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 70.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Home Improvement Retail industry have declined 25% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 15% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Home Improvement Retail compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.91%
Consumer Discretionary-2.55%
Specialty Stores-3.06%
Home Improvement Retail-5.45%
Apparel Retail-0.33%
Specialty Stores-2.22%
Automotive Retail-4.44%
Home Furnishing Retail-8.68%
Computer and Electronics Retail-16.27%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
TTSH Tile Shop HoldingsUS$6.561.2%
+US$3.6m
28.4%PE31.6x
LL LL Flooring HoldingsUS$1.706.9%
+US$3.4m
-61.9%PS0.06x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

LOW

US$215.21

Lowe's Companies

7D

-6.9%

1Y

4.2%

HD

US$325.10

Home Depot

7D

-5.6%

1Y

11.0%

GRWG

US$2.52

GrowGeneration

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-29.2%

BWMX

US$17.13

Betterware de MéxicoP.I. de

7D

-1.0%

1Y

37.0%

TTSH

US$6.56

Tile Shop Holdings

7D

1.2%

1Y

28.4%

LL

US$1.70

LL Flooring Holdings

7D

6.9%

1Y

-61.9%