Header cover image

U.S. Railroads Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies4
  • 7D-3.8%
  • 3M-10.7%
  • 1Y14.6%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Railroads industry has dropped 3.3%, driven by pullbacks from every company within the industry. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 13%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 10% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Railroads Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 24 May 2024US$262.7bUS$51.1bUS$11.2b22.2x23.4x5.1x
Sun, 21 Apr 2024US$263.9bUS$51.2bUS$11.6b22.2x22.7x5.2x
Tue, 19 Mar 2024US$280.6bUS$51.3bUS$11.7b23.4x23.9x5.5x
Thu, 15 Feb 2024US$279.1bUS$51.2bUS$11.7b23.9x23.8x5.4x
Sat, 13 Jan 2024US$266.0bUS$51.5bUS$12.1b22.8x22x5.2x
Mon, 11 Dec 2023US$255.6bUS$51.5bUS$12.1b22x21.1x5x
Wed, 08 Nov 2023US$234.4bUS$51.5bUS$12.1b20.2x19.4x4.6x
Fri, 06 Oct 2023US$226.9bUS$52.8bUS$13.2b16.9x17.2x4.3x
Sun, 03 Sep 2023US$243.4bUS$52.8bUS$13.2b18.2x18.4x4.6x
Tue, 01 Aug 2023US$261.6bUS$52.8bUS$13.2b20.6x19.8x5x
Thu, 29 Jun 2023US$243.4bUS$53.5bUS$14.1b16.8x17.2x4.6x
Sat, 27 May 2023US$228.7bUS$53.5bUS$14.1b15.8x16.2x4.3x
Mon, 24 Apr 2023US$234.4bUS$53.2bUS$14.4b15.1x16.3x4.4x
Wed, 22 Mar 2023US$223.5bUS$52.7bUS$14.3b14.5x15.7x4.2x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023US$239.6bUS$52.7bUS$14.3b16x16.8x4.5x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023US$268.9bUS$51.6bUS$14.3b19.2x18.9x5.2x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022US$269.6bUS$51.6bUS$14.3b19x18.9x5.2x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022US$250.1bUS$51.6bUS$14.3b17.3x17.5x4.8x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022US$230.1bUS$49.4bUS$13.7b16.6x16.8x4.7x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022US$263.2bUS$49.4bUS$13.7b18.5x19.2x5.3x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022US$266.0bUS$49.4bUS$13.7b19.2x19.4x5.4x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022US$251.3bUS$47.2bUS$13.8b17.9x18.2x5.3x
Sun, 29 May 2022US$266.9bUS$47.2bUS$13.8b18.9x19.4x5.7x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022US$285.8bUS$46.9bUS$13.7b20.7x20.8x6.1x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022US$343.0bUS$48.4bUS$13.4b24.1x25.6x7.1x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022US$327.6bUS$48.4bUS$13.4b23.1x24.4x6.8x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022US$336.0bUS$46.9bUS$12.8b24.8x26.2x7.2x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021US$333.8bUS$46.9bUS$12.8b24.5x26.1x7.1x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021US$327.8bUS$46.9bUS$12.8b24x25.6x7x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021US$306.2bUS$45.2bUS$12.1b24x25.3x6.8x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021US$297.3bUS$45.2bUS$12.1b23x24.5x6.6x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021US$302.9bUS$45.2bUS$12.1b23.7x25x6.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

29.8x


Total Market Cap: US$322.5bTotal Earnings: US$10.8bTotal Revenue: US$42.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Railroads Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 21.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Railroads industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 23.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 21.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 5.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Railroads industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 6.5% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Railroads compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.91%
Industrials-1.08%
Transportation-3.93%
Railroads-3.80%
Trucking-3.05%
Cargo Ground Transportation-5.36%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FIP FTAI InfrastructureUS$8.523.4%
+US$28.5m
171.3%PS2.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CSX

US$33.50

CSX

7D

-1.3%

1Y

8.3%

NSC

US$226.30

Norfolk Southern

7D

-2.7%

1Y

7.1%

FIP

US$8.52

FTAI Infrastructure

7D

3.4%

1Y

171.3%