Header cover image

U.S. Materials Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies468
  • 7D1.6%
  • 3M7.3%
  • 1Y6.5%
  • YTD0.4%

The Materials industry is up 1.6% in the last week, with Linde up 2.1%. Meanwhile, Newmont actually underperformed within the industry, shrinking 9.6% in the last week. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 6.5%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 14% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Materials Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 27 Feb 2024US$1.5tUS$873.7bUS$51.9b18.8x28.6x1.7x
Thu, 25 Jan 2024US$1.5tUS$905.4bUS$62.9b17.8x23.2x1.6x
Sat, 23 Dec 2023US$1.5tUS$906.1bUS$63.0b18.6x23.9x1.7x
Mon, 20 Nov 2023US$1.4tUS$908.1bUS$63.7b15.7x21.7x1.5x
Wed, 18 Oct 2023US$1.3tUS$893.9bUS$63.4b13.4x20.7x1.5x
Fri, 15 Sep 2023US$1.3tUS$889.8bUS$62.9b14.2x21.3x1.5x
Sun, 13 Aug 2023US$1.4tUS$888.1bUS$63.4b14.5x21.6x1.5x
Tue, 11 Jul 2023US$1.4tUS$936.1bUS$76.8b13.1x17.8x1.5x
Thu, 08 Jun 2023US$1.3tUS$937.2bUS$77.2b13.1x17.2x1.4x
Sat, 06 May 2023US$1.3tUS$934.8bUS$78.2b12.6x17.2x1.4x
Mon, 03 Apr 2023US$1.4tUS$952.4bUS$86.6b12.4x15.8x1.4x
Wed, 01 Mar 2023US$1.4tUS$951.0bUS$85.7b12x16.2x1.5x
Fri, 27 Jan 2023US$1.4tUS$963.0bUS$92.6b11.9x15.4x1.5x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022US$1.3tUS$967.3bUS$95.5b11.1x13.8x1.4x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022US$1.3tUS$966.7bUS$95.6b10.4x14x1.4x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022US$1.2tUS$955.7bUS$102.9b10.7x11.6x1.2x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022US$1.2tUS$954.5bUS$102.9b10.8x11.9x1.3x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022US$1.4tUS$951.7bUS$102.8b12.4x13.4x1.4x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022US$1.2tUS$895.4bUS$97.3b12.6x12.5x1.4x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022US$1.4tUS$894.1bUS$97.2b13.8x14.5x1.6x
Sun, 08 May 2022US$1.4tUS$888.4bUS$95.5b14.1x14.8x1.6x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022US$1.5tUS$847.9bUS$84.8b16.9x18.1x1.8x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022US$1.4tUS$846.8bUS$86.2b17.6x16.5x1.7x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022US$1.4tUS$815.2bUS$81.3b17x16.8x1.7x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021US$1.5tUS$800.1bUS$78.9b18.6x18.4x1.8x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021US$1.5tUS$795.7bUS$78.6b18.8x18.7x1.8x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021US$1.4tUS$737.1bUS$60.7b18.1x23.5x1.9x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021US$1.4tUS$725.2bUS$59.7b18.7x22.7x1.9x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021US$1.4tUS$724.0bUS$59.4b18.1x23.7x1.9x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021US$1.5tUS$658.0bUS$37.1b22.3x39.5x2.2x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021US$1.2tUS$626.7bUS$25.2b23x49.2x2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

49.2x


Total Market Cap: US$1.2tTotal Earnings: US$25.2bTotal Revenue: US$626.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Materials Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 22.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Materials industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 28.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 22.9x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.8x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Materials industry have grown 27% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 12% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Materials sector?

US Market1.81%
Materials1.55%
Paper and Forestry Products4.71%
Basic Materials3.37%
Chemicals1.98%
Packaging1.02%
Metals and Mining0.11%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Paper and Forestry Products industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 9.1x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 8.9%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 52.3% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Basic Materials industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 26.4x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Packaging industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 17% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 11% per year.
  • In contrast, the Paper and Forestry Products industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.9% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LIN LindeUS$444.942.1%
+US$4.4b
27.7%PE34.8x
SHW Sherwin-WilliamsUS$322.513.6%
+US$2.8b
45.7%PE34.2x
NUE NucorUS$191.594.1%
+US$1.9b
14.4%PE10.4x
STLD Steel DynamicsUS$131.106.9%
+US$1.4b
4.0%PE8.7x
MLM Martin Marietta MaterialsUS$553.313.8%
+US$1.2b
53.8%PE28.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

NEM

US$30.01

Newmont

7D

-9.6%

1Y

-31.2%

VMC

US$261.08

Vulcan Materials

7D

3.9%

1Y

44.3%

STLD

US$131.10

Steel Dynamics

7D

6.9%

1Y

4.0%

ECL

US$220.28

Ecolab

7D

1.8%

1Y

38.2%

MP

US$14.71

MP Materials

7D

-9.3%

1Y

-58.0%

IFF

US$77.41

International Flavors & Fragrances

7D

-5.6%

1Y

-16.9%

IP

US$33.80

International Paper

7D

-5.4%

1Y

-7.1%

SHW

US$322.51

Sherwin-Williams

7D

3.6%

1Y

45.7%

SCCO

US$79.94

Southern Copper

7D

-2.9%

1Y

8.5%