Header cover image

U.S. Construction and Engineering Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies52
  • 7D-1.5%
  • 3M10.2%
  • 1Y29.4%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Construction and Engineering industry has dropped 1.5%, driven by Quanta Services declining 3.8%. On the other hand WillScot Mobile Mini Holdings is actually up 7.1%. In the past year, the industry has gained 29%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 28% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Construction and Engineering Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024US$161.1bUS$141.8bUS$3.4b26.5x46.8x1.1x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024US$161.1bUS$141.8bUS$3.4b24.8x46.8x1.1x
Thu, 16 May 2024US$159.7bUS$141.8bUS$3.4b25.7x46.3x1.1x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024US$151.0bUS$136.3bUS$3.5b24.5x43.7x1.1x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024US$145.9bUS$136.2bUS$3.5b25.9x42.1x1.1x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024US$125.5bUS$135.6bUS$3.6b24.2x34.5x0.9x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024US$120.6bUS$135.1bUS$3.6b24.4x33.8x0.9x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023US$117.8bUS$135.1bUS$3.5b22.9x33.3x0.9x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023US$103.9bUS$131.2bUS$3.3b20.2x31.1x0.8x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023US$114.7bUS$130.5bUS$3.4b20.6x34.2x0.9x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023US$120.4bUS$130.4bUS$3.4b21.4x35.9x0.9x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023US$121.4bUS$126.6bUS$3.2b21x37.6x1x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023US$114.9bUS$126.6bUS$3.2b19.6x35.6x0.9x
Fri, 19 May 2023US$110.1bUS$126.4bUS$3.2b20.4x34.3x0.9x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023US$105.7bUS$122.7bUS$3.2b21.7x32.7x0.9x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023US$106.2bUS$122.9bUS$3.3b22.8x31.9x0.9x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023US$107.9bUS$115.4bUS$2.8b21.7x38.2x0.9x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023US$101.0bUS$115.1bUS$2.8b23.9x35.5x0.9x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022US$109.1bUS$115.8bUS$2.9b22.3x37.5x0.9x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022US$101.6bUS$112.5bUS$2.9b28.1x35.4x0.9x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022US$89.0bUS$111.4bUS$2.8b25.8x32.3x0.8x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022US$99.3bUS$111.4bUS$2.8b29.1x36x0.9x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022US$89.3bUS$107.8bUS$2.7b22.8x33.2x0.8x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022US$83.0bUS$107.6bUS$2.7b23.6x31x0.8x
Sat, 21 May 2022US$86.5bUS$107.5bUS$2.6b24.8x32.7x0.8x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022US$96.4bUS$106.1bUS$2.6b22.1x37.7x0.9x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022US$90.2bUS$100.3bUS$2.2b25.3x41.1x0.9x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022US$85.0bUS$100.2bUS$2.0b26.6x43.6x0.8x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022US$90.7bUS$100.0bUS$1.9b28.7x47x0.9x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021US$91.6bUS$100.0bUS$1.9b28.9x47.5x0.9x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021US$90.2bUS$98.5bUS$1.9b28.9x47.4x0.9x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021US$83.9bUS$97.9bUS$1.7b26.4x48.1x0.9x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021US$82.9bUS$98.8bUS$1.7b24.8x47.4x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

45.8x


Total Market Cap: US$79.9bTotal Earnings: US$1.7bTotal Revenue: US$98.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Construction and Engineering Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 38.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Construction and Engineering industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 46.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 38.6x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 0.91x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Construction and Engineering industry have grown 25% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 13% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Construction and Engineering compare with similar industries?

US Market-1.85%
Industrials0.59%
Construction-1.45%
Construction and Engineering-1.45%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
WSC WillScot Mobile Mini HoldingsUS$41.017.1%
+US$517.3m
-14.5%PE24.2x
ACM AECOMUS$89.162.3%
+US$272.3m
0.8%PE104.2x
MDU MDU Resources GroupUS$26.163.4%
+US$175.3m
18.7%PE10.7x
ROAD Construction PartnersUS$58.413.4%
+US$101.4m
100.8%PE50.3x
CTRI Centuri HoldingsUS$20.095.0%
+US$84.1m
n/aPS0.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

FIX

US$304.28

Comfort Systems USA

7D

-5.5%

1Y

84.6%

ACA

US$88.43

Arcosa

7D

2.0%

1Y

16.9%

WSC

US$41.01

WillScot Mobile Mini Holdings

7D

7.1%

1Y

-14.5%

PWR

US$258.56

Quanta Services

7D

-3.8%

1Y

28.3%

APG

US$36.72

APi Group

7D

-3.3%

1Y

29.8%

GVA

US$64.55

Granite Construction

7D

2.2%

1Y

51.2%

MDU

US$26.16

MDU Resources Group

7D

3.4%

1Y

18.7%

ACM

US$89.16

AECOM

7D

2.3%

1Y

0.8%

STRL

US$116.02

Sterling Infrastructure

7D

-5.2%

1Y

100.2%

CTRI

US$20.09

Centuri Holdings

7D

5.0%

1Y

n/a

SHIM

US$4.05

Shimmick

7D

123.8%

1Y

n/a