Header cover image

U.S. Diversified Metals and Mining Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies103
  • 7D-4.4%
  • 3M-3.2%
  • 1Y-34.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Diversified Metals and Mining industry has dropped 4.4%, driven by a pullback from MP Materials of 8.5%. However, the industry is down 34% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 59% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Diversified Metals and Mining Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 20 Jul 2024US$13.5bUS$7.3b-US$1,080,359,474.7835.5x-12.5x1.9x
Mon, 17 Jun 2024US$13.6bUS$7.3b-US$1,075,124,889.2133.4x-12.6x1.9x
Wed, 15 May 2024US$14.6bUS$7.3b-US$1,092,971,861.3032.9x-13.3x2x
Fri, 12 Apr 2024US$15.4bUS$7.5b-US$1,031,383,066.6227.5x-14.9x2.1x
Sun, 10 Mar 2024US$14.2bUS$7.5b-US$1,117,863,913.1328.5x-12.7x1.9x
Tue, 06 Feb 2024US$13.5bUS$7.8b-US$916,468,691.9025x-14.7x1.7x
Thu, 04 Jan 2024US$16.9bUS$7.8b-US$925,353,718.0031x-18.2x2.2x
Sat, 02 Dec 2023US$16.1bUS$8.1b-US$616,233,072.0027.9x-26.2x2x
Mon, 30 Oct 2023US$14.9bUS$8.3b-US$428,670,754.0018.4x-34.8x1.8x
Wed, 27 Sep 2023US$17.4bUS$8.3b-US$427,887,841.0020.8x-40.7x2.1x
Fri, 25 Aug 2023US$17.4bUS$8.3b-US$375,610,759.0022.3x-46.4x2.1x
Sun, 23 Jul 2023US$18.7bUS$9.0b-US$14,602,104.0020.8x-1282.2x2.1x
Tue, 20 Jun 2023US$17.3bUS$9.0bUS$22.2m16.8x779.4x1.9x
Thu, 18 May 2023US$16.9bUS$9.0bUS$57.5m19.2x294.5x1.9x
Sat, 15 Apr 2023US$17.9bUS$9.5bUS$335.6m18.1x53.4x1.9x
Mon, 13 Mar 2023US$19.4bUS$9.5bUS$363.2m18x53.5x2x
Wed, 08 Feb 2023US$19.5bUS$9.5bUS$457.5m21.4x42.6x2.1x
Fri, 06 Jan 2023US$17.2bUS$9.5bUS$425.1m11.1x40.5x1.8x
Sun, 04 Dec 2022US$20.0bUS$9.5bUS$423.3m13.9x47.2x2.1x
Tue, 01 Nov 2022US$19.4bUS$9.2bUS$216.7m13.2x89.5x2.1x
Thu, 29 Sep 2022US$15.6bUS$8.8bUS$320.0m21x48.8x1.8x
Sat, 27 Aug 2022US$17.8bUS$8.8bUS$321.2m25.2x55.4x2x
Mon, 25 Jul 2022US$14.4bUS$8.1bUS$152.3m23.4x94.6x1.8x
Wed, 22 Jun 2022US$14.9bUS$8.1bUS$229.8m29.5x64.7x1.8x
Fri, 20 May 2022US$16.4bUS$8.1bUS$269.5m23.4x60.9x2x
Sun, 17 Apr 2022US$20.9bUS$7.4b-US$55,366,409.0049.6x-377.5x2.8x
Tue, 15 Mar 2022US$18.5bUS$7.4bUS$6.8m53.3x2736.5x2.5x
Thu, 10 Feb 2022US$17.8bUS$7.0b-US$208,118,680.0063.6x-85.4x2.5x
Sat, 08 Jan 2022US$18.2bUS$7.4b-US$163,346,095.0036.6x-111.3x2.5x
Mon, 06 Dec 2021US$17.0bUS$7.4b-US$170,246,604.0034.2x-99.8x2.3x
Wed, 03 Nov 2021US$17.2bUS$7.0b-US$50,321,584.0024.9x-341.9x2.5x
Fri, 01 Oct 2021US$16.9bUS$6.9b-US$61,034,485.0021x-277.4x2.5x
Sun, 29 Aug 2021US$15.4bUS$7.3b-US$234,595,982.7921.7x-65.8x2.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-66.7x


Total Market Cap: US$15.6bTotal Earnings: -US$234,595,982.79Total Revenue: US$7.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Diversified Metals and Mining Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -1051.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Diversified Metals and Mining industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Diversified Metals and Mining industry have deteriorated over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has caused losses to expand.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Diversified Metals and Mining compare with similar industries?

US Market-1.85%
Materials-0.93%
Metals and Mining-4.22%
Diversified Metals and Mining-4.35%
Steel0.19%
Precious Metals and Minerals0.18%
Gold-1.47%
Silver-2.99%
Aluminum-7.30%
Copper-9.95%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
MTRN MaterionUS$115.063.5%
+US$81.5m
0.6%PE28.6x
CMP Compass Minerals InternationalUS$12.319.2%
+US$43.0m
-65.1%PS0.4x
CTGO Contango OreUS$22.804.8%
+US$12.7m
-14.0%PE-2.9x
LITM Snow Lake ResourcesUS$0.737.4%
+US$1.1m
-65.1%PB0.9x
IDR Idaho Strategic ResourcesUS$10.890.3%
+US$382.2k
95.5%PE42.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MP

US$14.29

MP Materials

7D

-8.5%

1Y

-39.7%

SGML

US$12.23

Sigma Lithium

7D

-1.8%

1Y

-66.8%

CTGO

US$22.80

Contango Ore

7D

4.8%

1Y

-14.0%

FEAM

US$0.99

5E Advanced Materials

7D

-8.3%

1Y

-73.6%

IDR

US$10.89

Idaho Strategic Resources

7D

0.3%

1Y

95.5%

IE

US$10.10

Ivanhoe Electric

7D

-13.1%

1Y

-35.2%

LITM

US$0.73

Snow Lake Resources

7D

7.4%

1Y

-65.1%

UAMY

US$0.31

United States Antimony

7D

0.3%

1Y

-24.3%

LZM

US$8.14

Lifezone Metals

7D

-11.6%

1Y

-24.6%

USGO

US$6.12

U.S. GoldMining

7D

0.3%

1Y

-52.8%

CMP

US$12.31

Compass Minerals International

7D

9.2%

1Y

-65.1%

CRML

US$9.98

Critical Metals

7D

-8.4%

1Y

-8.1%

CHNR

US$0.77

China Natural Resources

7D

1.0%

1Y

-60.7%