Header cover image

U.S. Life and Health Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 25, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies23
  • 7D-1.9%
  • 3M4.1%
  • 1Y34.6%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Life and Health Insurance industry has dropped 1.8%, driven by a pullback from MetLife of 2.5%. On the other hand Lincoln National is actually up 5.3%. In the past year, the industry has gained 32%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 11% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Life and Health Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 25 May 2024US$213.4bUS$225.4bUS$14.8b10.4x14.4x0.9x
Mon, 22 Apr 2024US$210.3bUS$216.9bUS$10.3b16.2x20.5x1x
Wed, 20 Mar 2024US$219.9bUS$216.9bUS$10.3b15.2x21.4x1x
Fri, 16 Feb 2024US$211.9bUS$209.6bUS$10.3b13.5x20.6x1x
Sun, 14 Jan 2024US$257.8bUS$213.6bUS$2.7b13.3x95.2x1.2x
Tue, 12 Dec 2023US$252.9bUS$216.4bUS$1.6b13.3x155.3x1.2x
Thu, 09 Nov 2023US$238.4bUS$216.4bUS$1.5b12.3x156.2x1.1x
Sat, 07 Oct 2023US$239.7bUS$238.9bUS$1.0b12.7x234.5x1x
Mon, 04 Sep 2023US$244.8bUS$238.9bUS$1.0b13.3x239.4x1x
Wed, 02 Aug 2023US$245.4bUS$236.9bUS$2.8b12.7x87.2x1x
Fri, 30 Jun 2023US$231.8bUS$240.0bUS$5.5b12.7x42.2x1x
Sun, 28 May 2023US$217.0bUS$240.0bUS$5.5b11.9x39.5x0.9x
Tue, 25 Apr 2023US$229.7bUS$236.5bUS$11.3b6.6x20.3x1x
Thu, 23 Mar 2023US$219.2bUS$236.5bUS$11.4b6.5x19.3x0.9x
Sat, 18 Feb 2023US$259.1bUS$238.1bUS$10.7b6.9x24.2x1.1x
Mon, 16 Jan 2023US$258.3bUS$252.2bUS$14.9b6.3x17.3x1x
Wed, 14 Dec 2022US$256.6bUS$252.2bUS$14.9b6x17.2x1x
Fri, 11 Nov 2022US$257.6bUS$248.8bUS$14.2b7.8x18.2x1x
Sun, 09 Oct 2022US$232.9bUS$246.2bUS$19.4b8.4x12x0.9x
Tue, 06 Sep 2022US$235.6bUS$246.2bUS$19.4b8.6x12.1x1x
Thu, 04 Aug 2022US$192.6bUS$246.0bUS$19.3b7.8x10x0.8x
Sat, 02 Jul 2022US$188.3bUS$247.1bUS$21.6b7.6x8.7x0.8x
Mon, 30 May 2022US$248.6bUS$247.1bUS$21.6b8.3x11.5x1x
Wed, 27 Apr 2022US$251.3bUS$249.0bUS$23.3b8.5x10.8x1x
Fri, 25 Mar 2022US$280.6bUS$277.5bUS$27.0b8.6x10.4x1x
Sun, 20 Feb 2022US$278.9bUS$275.0bUS$26.6b8.8x10.5x1x
Tue, 18 Jan 2022US$286.9bUS$275.0bUS$25.1b10.1x11.4x1x
Thu, 16 Dec 2021US$266.7bUS$275.0bUS$25.1b9.1x10.6x1x
Sat, 13 Nov 2021US$275.4bUS$274.2bUS$25.4b10x10.9x1x
Mon, 11 Oct 2021US$251.6bUS$260.0bUS$23.3b8.2x10.8x1x
Wed, 08 Sep 2021US$243.6bUS$260.1bUS$23.3b7.6x10.4x0.9x
Fri, 06 Aug 2021US$244.2bUS$260.0bUS$23.3b8.4x10.5x0.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

21.1x


Total Market Cap: US$251.6bTotal Earnings: US$11.9bTotal Revenue: US$241.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Life and Health Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 43x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Life and Health Insurance industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 14.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 43.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.99x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Life and Health Insurance industry have grown 7.5% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 2.3% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Life and Health Insurance compare with similar industries?

US Market-0.27%
Financials-1.75%
Insurance-1.98%
Life and Health Insurance-1.91%
Reinsurance-0.42%
Insurance Brokers-1.02%
Property and Casualty Insurance-2.39%
General Insurance-3.21%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LNC Lincoln NationalUS$32.667.9%
+US$408.1m
52.8%PE4.4x
AEL American Equity Investment Life HoldingUS$56.470.5%
+US$20.6m
48.8%PE26.9x
CIA CitizensUS$2.831.1%
+US$1.5m
62.6%PE5.8x
VERY VericityUS$11.340.5%
+US$892.5k
64.3%PS0.9x
NWLI National Western Life GroupUS$488.110.02%
+US$363.6k
28.5%PE11.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

LNC

US$32.66

Lincoln National

7D

7.9%

1Y

52.8%

AFL

US$87.69

Aflac

7D

-0.8%

1Y

36.0%

MET

US$72.54

MetLife

7D

-2.3%

1Y

40.0%

PFG

US$82.22

Principal Financial Group

7D

-3.4%

1Y

20.6%

VERY

US$11.34

Vericity

7D

0.5%

1Y

64.3%

FG

US$40.65

F&G Annuities & Life

7D

-4.9%

1Y

103.3%

PRU

US$119.36

Prudential Financial

7D

-1.6%

1Y

48.9%

OSCR

US$20.56

Oscar Health

7D

-8.7%

1Y

198.8%

NWLI

US$488.11

National Western Life Group

7D

0.02%

1Y

28.5%

GL

US$81.74

Globe Life

7D

-5.0%

1Y

-22.3%

AEL

US$56.47

American Equity Investment Life Holding

7D

0.5%

1Y

48.8%

MDWT

US$26.99

Midwest Holding

7D

0.04%

1Y

103.7%