Header cover image

U.S. Marine Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies31
  • 7D-1.8%
  • 3M10.0%
  • 1Y20.7%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Marine industry has dropped 1.8%, driven by a pullback from ZIM Integrated Shipping Services of 9.5%. In the past year, the industry has gained 21%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 19% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Marine Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024US$25.3bUS$20.7bUS$304.0m7.6x83.1x1.2x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024US$24.5bUS$22.1bUS$869.1m8x28.2x1.1x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024US$23.3bUS$22.2bUS$1.1b5.1x20.8x1x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024US$23.1bUS$22.3bUS$1.0b5.8x22.3x1x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023US$20.6bUS$22.3bUS$1.0b5.5x19.8x0.9x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023US$18.5bUS$24.0bUS$5.1b3.1x3.6x0.8x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023US$20.0bUS$24.9bUS$5.2b3.2x3.8x0.8x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023US$19.5bUS$25.1bUS$5.4b2.6x3.6x0.8x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023US$20.2bUS$27.9bUS$7.5b2.5x2.7x0.7x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023US$19.6bUS$27.9bUS$7.5b2.7x2.6x0.7x
Sat, 20 May 2023US$19.9bUS$30.2bUS$9.2b2.7x2.2x0.7x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023US$21.1bUS$31.0bUS$10.1b2.6x2.1x0.7x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023US$21.1bUS$31.5bUS$10.2b2.5x2.1x0.7x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023US$22.2bUS$33.5bUS$12.3b2.6x1.8x0.7x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023US$19.6bUS$33.2bUS$12.3b2.2x1.6x0.6x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022US$19.9bUS$33.2bUS$12.3b2.2x1.6x0.6x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022US$20.6bUS$32.2bUS$12.8b2.1x1.6x0.6x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022US$19.1bUS$32.1bUS$12.5b1.9x1.5x0.6x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022US$24.6bUS$32.1bUS$12.5b2.1x2x0.8x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022US$25.7bUS$29.5bUS$11.6b2.7x2.2x0.9x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022US$25.2bUS$29.5bUS$11.6b2.7x2.2x0.9x
Sun, 22 May 2022US$31.5bUS$29.2bUS$11.4b3.5x2.8x1.1x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022US$35.0bUS$27.3bUS$10.1b4.6x3.5x1.3x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022US$39.2bUS$27.4bUS$10.0b4.5x3.9x1.4x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022US$34.5bUS$23.3bUS$6.5b6.5x5.3x1.5x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022US$30.5bUS$23.1bUS$6.3b5.9x4.8x1.3x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021US$29.5bUS$23.1bUS$6.3b5.7x4.7x1.3x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021US$29.5bUS$19.4bUS$3.7b9.5x7.9x1.5x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021US$31.0bUS$19.0bUS$3.8b12.1x8.2x1.6x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021US$30.3bUS$19.4bUS$3.5b11.6x8.8x1.6x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021US$28.0bUS$19.4bUS$3.5b11.3x8.1x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

19.8x


Total Market Cap: US$25.1bTotal Earnings: US$1.3bTotal Revenue: US$16.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Marine Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 8.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Marine industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 83.1x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 8.8x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.0x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Marine industry have declined 38% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 7.9% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Marine compare with similar industries?

US Market-1.73%
Industrials-2.29%
Marine and Shipping-1.77%
Marine-1.77%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SBLK Star Bulk CarriersUS$23.09-3.3%
US$600.7m
4.1%PE15.1x
GOGL Golden Ocean GroupUS$13.010.9%
+US$22.0m
37.4%PE23.2x
SHIP Seanergy Maritime HoldingsUS$8.715.7%
+US$9.6m
78.5%PE80.8x
EGLE Eagle Bulk ShippingUS$62.601.3%
+US$9.2m
40.8%PE30.5x
CACO Caravelle International GroupUS$0.7214.3%
+US$4.8m
-27.6%PE16.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SBLK

US$23.09

Star Bulk Carriers

7D

-3.3%

1Y

4.1%

EGLE

US$62.60

Eagle Bulk Shipping

7D

1.3%

1Y

40.8%

KEX

US$97.91

Kirby

7D

-0.9%

1Y

40.9%

SHIP

US$8.71

Seanergy Maritime Holdings

7D

5.7%

1Y

78.5%

USEA

US$2.52

United Maritime

7D

3.7%

1Y

-7.7%

CMRE

US$11.01

Costamare

7D

-3.6%

1Y

10.1%

CACO

US$0.72

Caravelle International Group

7D

14.3%

1Y

-27.6%

CTRM

US$3.71

Castor Maritime

7D

1.4%

1Y

-55.3%

ESEA

US$35.24

Euroseas

7D

-4.9%

1Y

80.5%

PSHG

US$2.21

Performance Shipping

7D

2.8%

1Y

137.6%