Header cover image

U.S. Food Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies23
  • 7D2.2%
  • 3M2.8%
  • 1Y16.3%
  • YTDn/a

The Food Retail industry is up 2.2% in the last week, with Kroger up 3.8%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 16%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 17% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Food Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024US$92.3bUS$277.9bUS$3.1b19.1x30.1x0.3x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024US$86.8bUS$277.8bUS$3.1b16.9x28.1x0.3x
Thu, 16 May 2024US$87.9bUS$275.0bUS$3.1b18.3x28.4x0.3x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024US$87.6bUS$274.7bUS$2.9b16x30.2x0.3x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024US$86.0bUS$274.7bUS$2.9b17.8x29.2x0.3x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024US$73.5bUS$272.3bUS$2.7b14.3x27.3x0.3x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024US$75.3bUS$272.3bUS$2.4b16.6x31.4x0.3x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023US$74.3bUS$272.2bUS$2.4b16.4x31.4x0.3x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023US$73.9bUS$272.0bUS$3.9b17.4x19x0.3x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023US$74.7bUS$271.5bUS$4.0b15.9x18.7x0.3x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023US$67.1bUS$270.3bUS$4.7b14.8x14.2x0.2x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023US$68.8bUS$269.3bUS$4.8b14.7x14.4x0.3x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023US$64.2bUS$269.3bUS$4.8b13.7x13.4x0.2x
Fri, 19 May 2023US$66.3bUS$265.6bUS$4.5b15x14.6x0.2x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023US$64.5bUS$265.3bUS$4.9b14.8x13.2x0.2x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023US$63.1bUS$264.4bUS$4.6b14.1x13.7x0.2x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023US$62.5bUS$261.9bUS$4.6b13.6x13.4x0.2x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023US$63.2bUS$260.3bUS$4.8b13.3x13.1x0.2x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022US$65.6bUS$259.6bUS$4.8b14.5x13.7x0.3x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022US$65.0bUS$261.2bUS$3.8b12.4x17.1x0.2x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022US$64.3bUS$259.8bUS$3.7b12.1x17.5x0.2x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022US$70.7bUS$255.7bUS$3.3b14.1x21.1x0.3x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022US$67.7bUS$253.0bUS$3.0b14x23x0.3x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022US$68.4bUS$253.1bUS$2.9b13.6x23.2x0.3x
Sat, 21 May 2022US$68.3bUS$247.4bUS$2.3b12.2x30.2x0.3x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022US$79.5bUS$246.8bUS$2.5b16.5x32.1x0.3x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022US$76.7bUS$245.2bUS$1.6b17x47.6x0.3x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022US$66.6bUS$241.9bUS$987.2m15.3x67.4x0.3x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022US$72.2bUS$240.4bUS$729.5m16.4x99x0.3x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021US$72.9bUS$239.2bUS$720.4m16.7x101.2x0.3x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021US$73.1bUS$236.4bUS$1.2b19.5x63.4x0.3x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021US$64.6bUS$235.0bUS$1.3b18.4x51.4x0.3x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021US$70.7bUS$233.9bUS$1.6b19.9x44.1x0.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

40.7x


Total Market Cap: US$65.3bTotal Earnings: US$1.6bTotal Revenue: US$233.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Food Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 31.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the American Food Retail industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 31.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.28x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food Retail industry have grown 24% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 5.9% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Food Retail compare with similar industries?

US Market-1.83%
Consumer Staples0.74%
Food and Staples Retail0.72%
Food Retail2.18%
Food Distributors1.84%
Big Box Super Stores0.57%
Drug Retail-4.26%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
KR KrogerUS$54.513.8%
+US$1.5b
13.6%PE18.4x
ACI Albertsons CompaniesUS$20.002.6%
+US$289.5m
-9.1%PE8.9x
WMK Weis MarketsUS$71.086.2%
+US$110.8m
8.7%PE18.9x
TBBB BBB FoodsUS$26.012.5%
+US$71.8m
n/aPS1.1x
GO Grocery Outlet HoldingUS$21.571.7%
+US$36.9m
-35.3%PE33.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

WMK

US$71.08

Weis Markets

7D

6.2%

1Y

8.7%

CART

US$35.00

Maplebear

7D

0.4%

1Y

n/a

ACI

US$20.00

Albertsons Companies

7D

2.6%

1Y

-9.1%

DDL

US$1.91

Dingdong (Cayman)

7D

-7.3%

1Y

-27.1%

REBN

US$5.68

Reborn Coffee

7D

-5.3%

1Y

-7.9%

WBUY

US$0.16

Webuy Global

7D

-6.7%

1Y

n/a