Header cover image

U.S. Semiconductors Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies77
  • 7D-2.9%
  • 3M23.0%
  • 1Y111.5%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Semiconductors industry has dropped 2.9%, driven by NVIDIA declining 4.0%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 111%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 25% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Semiconductors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 22 Jun 2024US$5.7tUS$382.1bUS$80.6b30.3x70.8x14.9x
Mon, 20 May 2024US$4.5tUS$362.1bUS$69.6b30.2x64.7x12.4x
Wed, 17 Apr 2024US$4.2tUS$363.0bUS$67.4b24.9x62.7x11.6x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024US$4.4tUS$361.5bUS$64.0b28x68.9x12.2x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024US$3.9tUS$343.7bUS$56.7b28.8x68.4x11.3x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024US$3.1tUS$343.2bUS$53.6b29.6x57.1x8.9x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023US$2.7tUS$342.2bUS$54.5b25.3x50.2x8x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023US$2.6tUS$330.9bUS$47.0b26.3x56.2x8x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023US$2.6tUS$334.3bUS$48.8b25.3x53x7.7x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023US$2.7tUS$333.8bUS$51.5b27.1x52.9x8.2x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023US$2.7tUS$332.7bUS$46.6b23.5x58.2x8.2x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023US$2.5tUS$338.1bUS$51.8b24.3x48.8x7.5x
Tue, 23 May 2023US$2.2tUS$338.6bUS$50.3b23x43x6.4x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023US$2.0tUS$347.7bUS$64.4b21x31.8x5.9x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023US$2.0tUS$351.3bUS$69.0b18.3x28.9x5.7x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023US$1.9tUS$348.6bUS$67.8b20.1x27.4x5.3x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023US$1.6tUS$355.3bUS$75.7b17.6x21.6x4.6x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022US$1.7tUS$357.1bUS$76.9b17.7x21.6x4.6x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022US$1.5tUS$355.6bUS$77.5b17.1x18.9x4.1x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022US$1.4tUS$352.0bUS$82.9b16.8x17.3x4.1x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022US$1.6tUS$353.8bUS$82.8b18.1x19.7x4.6x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022US$1.8tUS$344.5bUS$83.3b28.2x21.8x5.3x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022US$1.7tUS$343.1bUS$85.5b24.7x19.6x4.9x
Wed, 25 May 2022US$1.7tUS$338.1bUS$84.8b26x20.3x5.1x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022US$1.9tUS$327.9bUS$76.2b23.7x25.1x5.8x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022US$2.3tUS$329.0bUS$75.6b32.7x30x6.9x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022US$2.1tUS$322.4bUS$73.3b25.7x28.9x6.6x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022US$2.4tUS$314.4bUS$71.8b36.2x33.7x7.7x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021US$2.5tUS$311.4bUS$69.6b36.6x35.7x8x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021US$2.4tUS$309.2bUS$69.5b37.8x34.7x7.8x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021US$2.0tUS$296.6bUS$65.8b34x29.7x6.6x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021US$2.0tUS$291.8bUS$63.3b32.7x32.3x7x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021US$1.9tUS$288.2bUS$60.4b30.2x31.8x6.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

32.6x


Total Market Cap: US$1.9tTotal Earnings: US$59.0bTotal Revenue: US$285.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Semiconductors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 38.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Semiconductors industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 70.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 38.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 7.2x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 14.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Semiconductors industry have grown 11% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Semiconductors compare with similar industries?

US Market0.51%
Tech-0.62%
Semiconductors-2.69%
Semiconductors-2.91%
Semiconductor Equipment-0.46%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
INTC IntelUS$31.092.1%
+US$2.7b
-5.8%PE32.5x
AMD Advanced Micro DevicesUS$161.231.0%
+US$2.6b
46.6%PE233.5x
ARM Arm HoldingsUS$160.301.5%
+US$2.5b
n/aPE545x
TXN Texas InstrumentsUS$195.530.8%
+US$1.5b
16.6%PE30.3x
MPWR Monolithic Power SystemsUS$826.172.4%
+US$954.0m
63.3%PE98x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MU

US$139.54

Micron Technology

7D

-1.3%

1Y

113.8%

AVGO

US$1,658.63

Broadcom

7D

-4.4%

1Y

101.7%

MPWR

US$826.17

Monolithic Power Systems

7D

2.4%

1Y

63.3%

ARM

US$160.30

Arm Holdings

7D

1.5%

1Y

n/a

NXPI

US$271.03

NXP Semiconductors

7D

0.8%

1Y

43.6%