Header cover image

U.S. Electronic Equipment and Instruments Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 12, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies106
  • 7D3.4%
  • 3M2.4%
  • 1Y-2.3%
  • YTDn/a

Keysight Technologies is up 3.4%, leading the way for the Electronic Equipment and Instruments industry, which has gained 1.4%. In the past year, the industry is down 4.0%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 22% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Electronic Equipment and Instruments Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 12 Jul 2024US$128.6bUS$37.7bUS$2.2b25.8x57.9x3.4x
Sun, 09 Jun 2024US$125.2bUS$37.7bUS$2.2b27.6x56.1x3.3x
Tue, 07 May 2024US$129.5bUS$37.9bUS$2.2b27.9x57.7x3.4x
Thu, 04 Apr 2024US$130.2bUS$37.7bUS$2.3b28.1x56.8x3.5x
Sat, 02 Mar 2024US$129.2bUS$37.9bUS$2.2b26.2x57.5x3.4x
Mon, 29 Jan 2024US$131.0bUS$41.7bUS$2.4b25.5x53.5x3.1x
Wed, 27 Dec 2023US$134.8bUS$41.6bUS$2.3b28.4x58.1x3.2x
Fri, 24 Nov 2023US$118.5bUS$41.8bUS$2.4b21.7x49.7x2.8x
Sun, 22 Oct 2023US$113.2bUS$42.0bUS$2.4b19.1x47.4x2.7x
Tue, 19 Sep 2023US$125.5bUS$42.0bUS$2.4b20.4x52.7x3x
Thu, 17 Aug 2023US$130.8bUS$41.9bUS$2.4b23.1x54.7x3.1x
Sat, 15 Jul 2023US$136.4bUS$41.4bUS$2.2b25.2x62.4x3.3x
Mon, 12 Jun 2023US$131.0bUS$41.4bUS$2.2b24.6x60.2x3.2x
Wed, 10 May 2023US$122.1bUS$40.4bUS$2.2b24.4x56.3x3x
Fri, 07 Apr 2023US$124.1bUS$40.3bUS$2.5b25.9x49.6x3.1x
Sun, 05 Mar 2023US$129.1bUS$38.9bUS$2.3b29.7x56.2x3.3x
Tue, 31 Jan 2023US$130.9bUS$38.5bUS$2.3b28.7x57.3x3.4x
Thu, 29 Dec 2022US$114.8bUS$38.4bUS$2.2b26x51.4x3x
Sat, 26 Nov 2022US$126.5bUS$38.4bUS$2.2b27.2x56.4x3.3x
Mon, 24 Oct 2022US$123.7bUS$39.6bUS$2.5b24.2x49.3x3.1x
Wed, 21 Sep 2022US$126.9bUS$39.6bUS$2.5b26.1x50.8x3.2x
Fri, 19 Aug 2022US$143.7bUS$39.7bUS$2.5b28.5x57x3.6x
Sun, 17 Jul 2022US$124.4bUS$38.9bUS$2.7b24.3x46.4x3.2x
Tue, 14 Jun 2022US$120.3bUS$39.3bUS$2.5b25.7x47.4x3.1x
Thu, 12 May 2022US$123.8bUS$38.8bUS$2.6b22x48.1x3.2x
Sat, 09 Apr 2022US$151.1bUS$37.8bUS$2.3b25.7x65.1x4x
Mon, 07 Mar 2022US$146.9bUS$37.7bUS$2.4b25x61.7x3.9x
Wed, 02 Feb 2022US$156.3bUS$36.5bUS$2.9b32.2x53.2x4.3x
Fri, 31 Dec 2021US$181.4bUS$35.9bUS$2.9b35.3x63.2x5.1x
Sun, 28 Nov 2021US$176.7bUS$35.8bUS$2.9b31.7x61.3x4.9x
Tue, 26 Oct 2021US$177.7bUS$34.6bUS$2.8b35.8x63.7x5.1x
Thu, 23 Sep 2021US$177.4bUS$34.6bUS$2.8b33.9x63.5x5.1x
Sat, 21 Aug 2021US$173.9bUS$34.6bUS$2.8b34.5x61.6x5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

61.9x


Total Market Cap: US$174.7bTotal Earnings: US$2.8bTotal Revenue: US$34.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Electronic Equipment and Instruments Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 56.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the American Electronic Equipment and Instruments industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 56.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 3.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Electronic Equipment and Instruments industry have declined 7.7% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 2.8% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Electronic Equipment and Instruments compare with similar industries?

US Market1.00%
Tech0.084%
Electronic Equipment and Components4.14%
Electronic Equipment and Instruments3.42%
Electronic Components6.22%
Electronic Manufacturing Services3.36%
Technology Distributors1.86%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
KEYS Keysight TechnologiesUS$139.993.4%
+US$813.4m
-17.2%PE30.1x
ZBRA Zebra TechnologiesUS$328.324.9%
+US$795.5m
3.1%PE64.7x
CGNX CognexUS$50.637.4%
+US$596.2m
-12.1%PE87.3x
TDY Teledyne TechnologiesUS$393.991.7%
+US$318.2m
-5.3%PE21.1x
ARLO Arlo TechnologiesUS$16.6023.0%
+US$302.5m
48.5%PS3.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

INVZ

US$0.89

Innoviz Technologies

7D

-2.3%

1Y

-73.6%

NOVT

US$165.59

Novanta

7D

3.3%

1Y

-8.7%

ARLO

US$16.60

Arlo Technologies

7D

23.0%

1Y

48.5%

LUNA

US$2.93

Luna Innovations

7D

-4.2%

1Y

-67.7%

VNT

US$39.71

Vontier

7D

3.6%

1Y

21.2%

KEYS

US$139.99

Keysight Technologies

7D

3.4%

1Y

-17.2%

CGNX

US$50.63

Cognex

7D

7.4%

1Y

-12.1%

AEIS

US$113.78

Advanced Energy Industries

7D

6.4%

1Y

-3.6%

SMRT

US$2.27

SmartRent

7D

-4.2%

1Y

-42.4%

LPTH

US$1.28

LightPath Technologies

7D

-6.6%

1Y

-33.3%

TROO

US$2.80

TROOPS

7D

-5.1%

1Y

-37.6%