Header cover image

U.S. Office REITs Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies25
  • 7D-2.7%
  • 3M-9.1%
  • 1Y6.2%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Office REITs industry has dropped 2.7%, driven by Alexandria Real Estate Equities declining 2.9%. In the past year, the industry has gained 6.2%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 19% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Office REITs Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024US$65.3bUS$18.5b-US$1,663,428,000.0049.7x-39.2x3.5x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024US$68.5bUS$18.5b-US$1,697,603,000.0053.2x-40.3x3.7x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024US$68.6bUS$18.2b-US$1,767,682,000.0040.1x-38.8x3.8x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024US$72.2bUS$17.8b-US$1,303,625,000.0041.3x-55.4x4.1x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023US$67.4bUS$17.8b-US$1,303,625,000.0038.6x-51.7x3.8x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023US$57.7bUS$18.0b-US$1,304,561,000.0031.7x-44.2x3.2x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023US$56.7bUS$18.1bUS$40.9m20.4x1387.5x3.1x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023US$68.3bUS$18.1bUS$40.9m28.5x1671.5x3.8x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023US$68.1bUS$18.1bUS$574.7m24.1x118.6x3.8x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023US$61.8bUS$18.0bUS$1.3b19.5x46.6x3.4x
Mon, 29 May 2023US$55.9bUS$18.0bUS$1.3b18.7x42.1x3.1x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023US$58.4bUS$15.5bUS$1.9b18.9x30.9x3.8x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023US$43.4bUS$11.3bUS$1.8b18.8x24.2x3.8x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023US$81.4bUS$18.0bUS$2.0b23.6x39.9x4.5x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023US$80.1bUS$17.8bUS$2.8b35.5x28.3x4.5x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022US$78.8bUS$17.8bUS$2.8b35.2x27.9x4.4x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022US$82.2bUS$17.8bUS$2.8b38x29x4.6x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022US$73.1bUS$17.5bUS$2.8b25.4x25.8x4.2x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022US$85.5bUS$17.5bUS$2.8b30.9x30.2x4.9x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022US$91.3bUS$17.3bUS$2.7b32.1x33.8x5.3x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022US$91.7bUS$17.0bUS$2.7b33.2x33.7x5.4x
Tue, 31 May 2022US$106.9bUS$17.0bUS$2.7b36.7x39.4x6.3x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022US$117.2bUS$16.7bUS$3.0b43.1x38.5x7x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022US$126.2bUS$16.8bUS$3.3b45.5x38.5x7.5x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022US$120.9bUS$16.8bUS$3.0b42.1x40.9x7.2x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022US$127.4bUS$16.5bUS$3.0b40.2x42x7.7x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021US$122.3bUS$16.5bUS$3.0b39.1x40.2x7.4x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021US$124.9bUS$16.5bUS$3.0b34.4x41.3x7.6x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021US$119.6bUS$16.4bUS$2.7b32.3x44.4x7.3x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021US$113.9bUS$16.4bUS$2.7b34.1x42.3x7x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021US$117.0bUS$16.4bUS$2.7b35x43.4x7.2x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021US$111.9bUS$16.1bUS$2.6b35.6x43.1x6.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

43.1x


Total Market Cap: US$111.9bTotal Earnings: US$2.6bTotal Revenue: US$16.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Office REITs Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 137.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Office REITs industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 5.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Office REITs industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 4.7% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does U.S. Office REITs compare with similar industries?

US Market-3.18%
Real Estate-3.31%
REITS0.75%
Office REITs-2.72%
Healthcare REITs0.83%
Diversified REITs0.75%
Retail REITs-0.44%
Specialized REITs-0.50%
Residential REITs-0.70%
Hotel and Resort REITs-5.70%
Industrial REITs-11.21%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BXP Boston PropertiesUS$61.345.8%
+US$527.7m
21.9%PB1.6x
ARE Alexandria Real Estate EquitiesUS$118.571.4%
+US$276.4m
-1.6%PB1.1x
VNO Vornado Realty TrustUS$26.594.8%
+US$230.5m
78.3%PB1.2x
SLG SL Green RealtyUS$50.785.1%
+US$159.8m
119.4%PB0.9x
KRC Kilroy RealtyUS$33.423.2%
+US$120.9m
15.3%PB0.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

HIW

US$24.71

Highwoods Properties

7D

4.3%

1Y

9.8%

SLG

US$50.78

SL Green Realty

7D

5.1%

1Y

119.4%

DEI

US$13.34

Douglas Emmett

7D

4.5%

1Y

8.1%

CMCT

US$3.34

Creative Media & Community Trust

7D

-6.0%

1Y

-27.4%

VNO

US$26.59

Vornado Realty Trust

7D

4.8%

1Y

78.3%

FSP

US$1.87

Franklin Street Properties

7D

-3.1%

1Y

58.5%

KRC

US$33.42

Kilroy Realty

7D

3.2%

1Y

15.3%

BXP

US$61.34

Boston Properties

7D

5.8%

1Y

21.9%

ARE

US$118.57

Alexandria Real Estate Equities

7D

1.4%

1Y

-1.6%

CUZ

US$22.38

Cousins Properties

7D

2.9%

1Y

7.5%