Header cover image

U.S. Construction Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies52
  • 7D4.6%
  • 3M20.4%
  • 1Y49.3%
  • YTD30.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Construction industry has risen 2.8%, driven by gains from Quanta Services of 7.2%. This means that the industry has gained 48% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 30% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Construction Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 25 May 2024US$162.5bUS$141.8bUS$3.4b25.7x47.2x1.1x
Mon, 22 Apr 2024US$144.8bUS$139.2bUS$3.3b23.8x43.9x1x
Wed, 20 Mar 2024US$146.2bUS$136.3bUS$3.5b24.9x42.2x1.1x
Fri, 16 Feb 2024US$130.7bUS$132.9bUS$3.7b26.9x35.5x1x
Sun, 14 Jan 2024US$122.3bUS$135.2bUS$3.6b23.1x34.2x0.9x
Tue, 12 Dec 2023US$120.7bUS$135.2bUS$3.6b22.7x33.9x0.9x
Thu, 09 Nov 2023US$104.7bUS$134.5bUS$3.6b19.3x28.8x0.8x
Sat, 07 Oct 2023US$110.5bUS$130.5bUS$3.4b20.3x33x0.8x
Mon, 04 Sep 2023US$124.3bUS$130.4bUS$3.4b22x37.1x1x
Wed, 02 Aug 2023US$123.8bUS$127.2bUS$3.3b20.2x37.9x1x
Fri, 30 Jun 2023US$118.8bUS$126.6bUS$3.2b19.9x36.8x0.9x
Sun, 28 May 2023US$109.3bUS$126.5bUS$3.2b18.4x33.8x0.9x
Tue, 25 Apr 2023US$106.4bUS$122.8bUS$3.2b22.3x33.1x0.9x
Thu, 23 Mar 2023US$105.1bUS$122.8bUS$3.2b22.3x32.6x0.9x
Sat, 18 Feb 2023US$109.7bUS$116.3bUS$2.8b22.5x38.9x0.9x
Mon, 16 Jan 2023US$106.7bUS$115.1bUS$2.8b25x37.5x0.9x
Wed, 14 Dec 2022US$106.8bUS$115.9bUS$2.9b22.3x36.8x0.9x
Fri, 11 Nov 2022US$106.0bUS$115.6bUS$2.8b27.6x38.3x0.9x
Sun, 09 Oct 2022US$92.1bUS$111.5bUS$2.8b27.3x33.2x0.8x
Tue, 06 Sep 2022US$95.1bUS$111.4bUS$2.8b27.8x34.5x0.9x
Thu, 04 Aug 2022US$95.2bUS$108.8bUS$2.7b25.9x35.7x0.9x
Sat, 02 Jul 2022US$85.4bUS$107.6bUS$2.7b23.4x32x0.8x
Mon, 30 May 2022US$92.6bUS$107.6bUS$2.7b26.8x34.8x0.9x
Wed, 27 Apr 2022US$89.1bUS$106.3bUS$2.6b21.1x34.8x0.8x
Fri, 25 Mar 2022US$99.6bUS$106.1bUS$2.6b21.8x38.7x0.9x
Sun, 20 Feb 2022US$85.0bUS$100.4bUS$2.0b26.4x43.5x0.8x
Tue, 18 Jan 2022US$89.9bUS$100.0bUS$1.9b27.9x46.4x0.9x
Thu, 16 Dec 2021US$91.2bUS$100.0bUS$1.9b28.9x47.3x0.9x
Sat, 13 Nov 2021US$94.9bUS$99.9bUS$1.9b28.7x49.7x0.9x
Mon, 11 Oct 2021US$82.5bUS$97.9bUS$1.7b26.6x47.3x0.8x
Wed, 08 Sep 2021US$83.8bUS$100.1bUS$1.4b21.9x61x0.8x
Fri, 06 Aug 2021US$79.9bUS$98.8bUS$1.7b22.7x45.8x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

56.7x


Total Market Cap: US$83.6bTotal Earnings: US$1.5bTotal Revenue: US$96.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Construction Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 38.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the American Construction industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 47.2x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 38.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 0.89x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Construction industry have grown 33% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 14% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Industrials industry?

US Market-0.27%
Industrials-0.46%
Construction4.56%
Construction and Engineering4.56%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
PWR Quanta ServicesUS$283.437.2%
+US$2.8b
62.9%PE54x
EME EMCOR GroupUS$398.695.4%
+US$955.0m
133.3%PE26.1x
FIX Comfort Systems USAUS$342.328.3%
+US$929.0m
128.2%PE33.6x
DY Dycom IndustriesUS$179.7320.8%
+US$900.4m
72.3%PE22.7x
FLR FluorUS$41.969.4%
+US$618.0m
54.3%PE27.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

PWR

US$283.43

Quanta Services

7D

7.2%

1Y

62.9%

EME

US$398.69

EMCOR Group

7D

5.4%

1Y

133.3%

DY

US$179.73

Dycom Industries

7D

20.8%

1Y

72.3%

CTRI

US$26.40

Centuri Holdings

7D

-1.4%

1Y

n/a

FIX

US$342.32

Comfort Systems USA

7D

8.3%

1Y

128.2%

ORN

US$8.78

Orion Group Holdings

7D

-6.3%

1Y

247.0%

MDU

US$25.22

MDU Resources Group

7D

-1.0%

1Y

-13.9%

FLR

US$41.96

Fluor

7D

9.4%

1Y

54.3%

WSC

US$39.27

WillScot Mobile Mini Holdings

7D

-3.4%

1Y

-12.7%

STRL

US$126.47

Sterling Infrastructure

7D

-1.9%

1Y

168.4%

ACM

US$89.00

AECOM

7D

-0.7%

1Y

15.5%

ROAD

US$61.44

Construction Partners

7D

10.8%

1Y

111.9%

MTZ

US$112.21

MasTec

7D

4.5%

1Y

14.2%