Header cover image

U.S. Utilities Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 25, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies122
  • 7D0.9%
  • 3M-0.4%
  • 1Y-8.2%
  • YTD-4.0%

The Utilities is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Dominion Energy has stood out, gaining 4.4%. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 8.2% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 8.8% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the U.S. Utilities Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 25 Feb 2024US$1.1tUS$534.3bUS$54.4b17.6x19.9x2x
Tue, 23 Jan 2024US$1.1tUS$543.9bUS$53.5b18x20x2x
Thu, 21 Dec 2023US$1.1tUS$543.9bUS$53.5b18.9x21x2.1x
Sat, 18 Nov 2023US$1.1tUS$545.0bUS$53.3b18.8x20.3x2x
Mon, 16 Oct 2023US$1.0tUS$554.7bUS$51.7b19x20.3x1.9x
Wed, 13 Sep 2023US$1.1tUS$549.8bUS$50.8b20.1x21.7x2x
Fri, 11 Aug 2023US$1.1tUS$548.7bUS$49.5b20.9x22.7x2x
Sun, 09 Jul 2023US$1.1tUS$551.7bUS$45.7b20.4x24.9x2.1x
Tue, 06 Jun 2023US$1.1tUS$549.1bUS$46.5b20x24.3x2.1x
Thu, 04 May 2023US$1.2tUS$539.2bUS$48.3b21.3x24.4x2.2x
Sat, 01 Apr 2023US$1.2tUS$532.0bUS$45.1b20.9x26.1x2.2x
Mon, 27 Feb 2023US$1.2tUS$531.2bUS$46.9b20.6x24.6x2.2x
Wed, 25 Jan 2023US$1.2tUS$531.4bUS$50.1b21x24x2.3x
Fri, 23 Dec 2022US$1.2tUS$531.4bUS$50.1b20.9x24.2x2.3x
Sun, 20 Nov 2022US$1.2tUS$530.8bUS$50.4b20.9x23.5x2.2x
Tue, 18 Oct 2022US$1.1tUS$505.2bUS$45.1b19x23.7x2.1x
Thu, 15 Sep 2022US$1.4tUS$505.3bUS$45.1b22.4x30.2x2.7x
Sat, 13 Aug 2022US$1.3tUS$505.2bUS$45.1b23.2x29.3x2.6x
Mon, 11 Jul 2022US$1.2tUS$484.2bUS$43.7b22.4x27.5x2.5x
Wed, 08 Jun 2022US$1.3tUS$484.2bUS$43.7b24.3x29.5x2.7x
Fri, 06 May 2022US$1.2tUS$479.4bUS$38.7b24.1x31.9x2.6x
Sun, 03 Apr 2022US$1.3tUS$472.6bUS$40.6b24.8x31.9x2.7x
Tue, 01 Mar 2022US$1.2tUS$480.2bUS$41.5b22.4x28.5x2.5x
Thu, 27 Jan 2022US$1.2tUS$461.9bUS$39.0b23x29.9x2.5x
Sat, 25 Dec 2021US$1.2tUS$443.4bUS$39.3b22.9x31x2.8x
Mon, 22 Nov 2021US$1.2tUS$443.3bUS$39.3b22.3x30x2.7x
Wed, 20 Oct 2021US$1.1tUS$429.8bUS$42.1b21.4x27.2x2.7x
Fri, 17 Sep 2021US$1.2tUS$429.8bUS$42.1b22x27.4x2.7x
Sun, 15 Aug 2021US$1.2tUS$430.0bUS$42.1b22.1x27.8x2.7x
Thu, 10 Jun 2021US$1.1tUS$418.5bUS$40.8b22.5x27.2x2.7x
Wed, 03 Mar 2021US$999.6bUS$399.9bUS$36.0b20.4x27.8x2.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

27.8x


Total Market Cap: US$999.6bTotal Earnings: US$36.0bTotal Revenue: US$399.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
U.S. Utilities Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 26x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the American Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 19.9x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 26.0x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.4x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Utilities industry have grown 15% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the U.S. Utilities sector?

US Market1.28%
Utilities0.85%
Other Utilities1.43%
Electric Utilities1.18%
Gas Utilities-0.50%
Renewable Energy-1.42%
Water Utilities-3.38%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Renewable Energy industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 410x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 8.0%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 53.6% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Other Utilities industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 25.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Gas Utilities industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 19% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 11% per year.
  • In contrast, the Water Utilities industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 6.7% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
D Dominion EnergyUS$47.864.4%
+US$1.7b
-16.0%PE18.6x
EXC ExelonUS$36.133.5%
+US$1.4b
-12.6%PE15.5x
SO SouthernUS$67.691.8%
+US$1.3b
4.8%PE18.6x
PCG PG&EUS$17.033.7%
+US$1.3b
7.9%PE16.2x
VST VistraUS$48.626.7%
+US$1.1b
117.4%PE13.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

WTRG

US$35.13

Essential Utilities

7D

-2.9%

1Y

-20.9%

AES

US$16.00

AES

7D

-4.6%

1Y

-36.8%

NOVA

US$7.44

Sunnova Energy International

7D

-34.0%

1Y

-55.2%

VST

US$48.62

Vistra

7D

6.7%

1Y

117.4%

PCG

US$17.03

PG&E

7D

3.7%

1Y

7.9%

EXC

US$36.13

Exelon

7D

3.5%

1Y

-12.6%

D

US$47.86

Dominion Energy

7D

4.4%

1Y

-16.0%

CWEN.A

US$20.68

Clearway Energy

7D

-7.4%

1Y

-29.3%

NI

US$26.12

NiSource

7D

0.8%

1Y

-6.1%

SO

US$67.69

Southern

7D

1.8%

1Y

4.8%

ATO

US$112.76

Atmos Energy

7D

-1.0%

1Y

-2.6%

CEG

US$133.99

Constellation Energy

7D

2.2%

1Y

69.0%